Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arch Trailer

• 17-06-2010 5:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Hi, I'm looking to get a new/2nd hand ram for my arch trailer, its a 6x11 ft trailer.Basically where the hydraulic pipe connects to the ram has burst and the connection itself is all rusted, so by taking the pipe off would ring the connection.Not sure if there's anything i can do to be honest.?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Heating it should do the job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

should be easily repaired by any good engineering firm
    , there was a fellow around athenry in galway years ago, cant think of his name off hand,

google found this company

http://www.irishtrucker.com/articles/2007/october/athy.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

any decent mechanic should be able to braze on a new fitting and shouldnt cost much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Hi, I'm looking to get a new/2nd hand ram for my arch trailer, its a 6x11 ft trailer.Basically where the hydraulic pipe connects to the ram has burst and the connection itself is all rusted, so by taking the pipe off would ring the connection.Not sure if there's anything i can do to be honest.?

they were great trailers..do they still make them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭MfMan

they were great trailers..do they still make them

Don't think so; they were made by MJ Quinn in Athenry (hence Arch name). Think he's concentrating more on lorry bodies and things like that now. I doubt a silage field or single chop harverster in Connacht didn't see an Arch trailer at one time or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

snowman707 wrote: »
    should be easily repaired by any good engineering firm
    , there was a fellow around athenry in galway years ago, cant think of his name off hand,

google found this company

http://www.irishtrucker.com/articles/2007/october/athy.asp

i wouldnt reccomend the man in athenry to do a job based on work he done for me a few years ago .
    try soaking the connection in a drum of diesel to see if it will loosen . if that dosnt work you will have to bring it to an engineering place to get it cut off and a new one welded on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hope you got sorted with ram problem?

I'm putting a new floor in our ARCH trailer at the moment, she's a 12'X7' on 20" twins.

Great trailers alright;) We bought her new in '83 and never had to do a think with it until now. Stil on original tyres. Goin to give her a full respray now while I'm at it

Muckit wrote: »
    Hope you got sorted with ram problem?

I'm putting a new floor in our ARCH trailer at the moment, she's a 12'X7' on 20" twins.

Great trailers alright;) We bought her new in '83 and never had to do a think with it until now. Stil on original tyres. Goin to give her a full respray now while I'm at it

was that one of the red ones that had a cattle door as well or were they a bit newer, there was a nice one on dondeal there recently

They were basically made to order so no two were EXACTLY the same.

Yes ours is maroony red (older ones were grey)

We ordered ours with cattle ramp alright, as well as silage door and hood and you could break down part of side and front if using a side mounted harvester. To be honest we never used ours for silage.

They were really the first 'factory built' multi purpose tractor trailer in the west. The quality of the welds, finish and over-all build quality is second to done. We used to be amused by all the trailers around us that had 'LH' or 'RH' marked on creels or box sides.... you never seen them wrote on a Quinn trailer... you could fit sections on either side:rolleyes:

We brought in the world of small square baled hay with it during the 1990's before we changed to wraps (we'd get around 120-130 on her with just flat body). Today she still brings pallets of bag manure, loads of turf and of course cattle (the 7' in width makes it ideal, in that big cattle will fit across it) You'I still see a few of them at ballinasloe and roscommon mart:rolleyes:

Is this the trailer your on about?

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/1370122

I see he's repainted the box sections and the chassis at some stage, they would have been the same colour as the top sections.

Not a bad trailer, seems to be on same axle as ours, a few little differences with creels though. I see he got her with ramp aswell ;)

ya thats the one, biggish kinda money for it i would have thought

like anything, you gotta pay for quality;)

If she was in good nick, I'd say wouldn't be overly priced at all. Lads paying alot more than it for second hand ivor williams and all you can do is bring cattle/sheep in them. Depends what your after and how much/what your goin use it for I guess:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

like anything, you gotta pay for quality;)

If she was in good nick, I'd say wouldn't be overly priced at all. Lads paying alot more than it for second hand ivor williams and all you can do is bring cattle/sheep in them. Depends what your after and how much/what your goin use it for I guess:rolleyes:

We had one when we used to cut silage with the harvester. Had the cattle ramp and an extra crate to put onto the front and sides for carrying cattle. Great trailer but as awkward as hell. It took an age as well as 2 or 3 men to take off the silage door and even more people to lift up the cattle ramp to get it into place so that you could hook the pins and get the springs hooked up. We ended up getting a second hand (€1500) ifor Williams for moving cattle and sheep which could be pulled behind the tractor or jeep. It was a lot easier and less time consuming than getting a load of people to help to set up the trailer for a couple of hours every time that we wanted to bring a few cattle somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

Hi lads,

Sorry for pulling up an old thread but we've one of these arch trailers at home. Its one of the older grey painted ones 10 x 6.

It originally came with ramps and sides for hauling cattle & silage although that was before my time. Great little trailer and very handy to have around the place. I'm in the process of doing up our one. Any one know where i could get tyres for one of these or is it possible to fit different hubs to the trailer as I'm finding it difficult to get the correct size twin tyres for it and the ones (original) which it came on are shagged.

The brother in law has a 12 x 7 and he failed to source tyres for it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

We have one aswell. I put a new, well second hand tyre on it about 2 yrs ago. I had to take the wheel off at the hub. I just opened the bearing. No way I was going to open the studs. Seized solid, they were.
    Brought it in to a local tyre place and they got the tyre for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

Cheers will try that.

I had intended opening at the hub bearing as well. I don't think the wheel nuts would shift if I was at them till Christmas. Can you remenber were you able to get the same size tyres or was it a different tyre size that would go on the hub because when I was ringing around with the actual tyre size the answer was they are no longer make that size.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

http://www.agrigear.net/

try these in baliboro in cavan, website is down but the phone number is still on the page.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Is she on 20's? probably smaller

Our 30 year old 12'X7' ARCH trailer. As original as the day it came out of MJ Quinn's workshop (aside from that one gammy tyre the oul lad got put on when old one perished and one lath on the ramp gates:rolleyes:)

p6180310.jpg

Our 30 year old 12'X7' ARCH trailer. As original as the day it came out of MJ Quinn's workshop (aside from that one gammy tyre the oul lad got put on when old one perished:rolleyes:)

p6180310.jpg

lovely one, ye kept it in fair order fair play..i can remember a neighbour getting the identical trailer when i was young and the aulds lads were saying they were way too big :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭MfMan

No self-respecting silage field in the west would be seen without an Arch trailer once, usually pulled behind a side-mounted Taarup single chop and a 165. Does MJ Quinn still make them at all now, or is it all truck bodies?

MfMan wrote: »
    Does MJ Quinn still make them at all now, or is it all truck bodies?

Got out of making them years ago.

It's mainly all refrigerated truck bodies now :(
    quinn-rv-logo.gif

Stripped down to the box(ers) :p

p6200325.jpg

nice looking one, there is one like yours up on donedeal forever, im sure you have seen it, it just doesnt look right though, seller rebuild it i guess but only used 2 boards on cart as opposed to 3 as in yours, somehow the 2 boards looks wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Stripped down to the box(ers) :p

p6200325.jpg[/QUOT
    Fine trailer Muckit it was obviously well minded.
    Is that this years turf?

O.A.P wrote: »
    Is that this years turf?

Yes. It wasn't quite ready for bringing, but brought home 3 loads as security. Hard to know what way the rest of the year will go. Better half a loaf than no bread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I refooted mine on Tuesday its not to bad but the bog itself is very wet. Ill need a hovercraft to take it home if the weather dont improve soon.