Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Resisting Arrest Question

• 16-06-2010 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

In the Officer Haymaker thread in AH theres a lot of people arguing that no cop would ever have a problem overpowering a (mere) Woman during an arrest. As I understand from all the time I've wasted on the internet, this is simply not true. Whether they are kicking and screaming, attacking officers in the genitals, spitting on their faces, biting, etc. its not always that easy to just do the Vulcan-Pinch and subdue them.

But I figure I would ask here, regular ES users, some of whom are Gardai etc. what in your experience is the case during arrests? How much of it is down to self restraint, and how much of it to these suspects being absolutely bat**** crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Not a Garda but perhaps you should clarify if you are looking to know how other Garda feel about actually using physical force on a woman because she is a woman?

Or do you mean a male Garda having no physical inability in subduing a female nutter because she is only a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Bit of both actually.

Personally in my own opinion, a suspect is a suspect and they should be treated with proportional force where its needed. But the other half of it is would a cop normally find himself or herself in a position where a femal suspect was so difficult to restrain as to require backup or exceptional arresting force/strength. My understanding is its not unheard of to require 2 or more officers to restrain a suspect, woman or otherwise.

Would that be because a man knows a Garda will have no issue using force but some women believe they are immune to being hit by a man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I can only guess thats the case. Again I would refer to the woman who stripped naked in front of her children because she thought it would prevent the police from arresting her for stealing beef jerky from a convenience store in wisconsin.

http://www.dumbassdaily.com/2009/10/mother-of-year-drunk-woman-strips-naked.html

Similarly in the Haymaker case the other woman just started wailing on the cop trying to stop him from arresting her friend. She would have had to have thought along those lines, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It doesn't matter if its a man or woman once they become violent they are both just as dangerous. A woman might be easier to overpower but they are more likely to bite. Fortunately the pepper spray can help in these situations now.

If a woman (or man for that matter) is becoming violent, is a garda allowed to actually hit them or is it restraint only?

I suppose I am asking if you are allowed to slap a crazy woman with some sense. A single slap (not hard) might wake them up to the reality of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I'm amazedat the amount of women arrested who suddenly find themselves pregnant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

The German equivalent of the ERU, the GSG9, have standing orders to shoot women terrorists first in the event of a hostage situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

deadwood wrote: »
    I'm amazedat the amount of women arrested who suddenly find themselves pregnant!

There have to be some perks to the job!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

It may seem excessive on tv etc... but multiple officers/gardai on one person resisting arrest is a heck of a lot safer for everyone than one on one, theres a lot more risk of injury.

Sometimes, if i know a female is gonna kick off i'll definitely call for assistance and get a few females with, to help out. Its a lot wiser.

I've seen a good few mental health cases with females lashing out and kicking off like possessed. At the end of the day there you have to justify the force you use i.e. that its proportionate, necessary and legit. If she picks up a knife/bottle etc... i have no problem upping the level of force i will use male or female - you have to.

On drunken saturday nights some lassies think they are invincible from guards arresting them only to find out they'll get lifted just as quick if they start dishing out abuse.
    Still not really sure of the OP question though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Saruman wrote: »
    If a woman (or man for that matter) is becoming violent, is a garda allowed to actually hit them or is it restraint only?

I suppose I am asking if you are allowed to slap a crazy woman with some sense. A single slap (not hard) might wake them up to the reality of the situation.

I would say no in all cases you really should imagine yourself in a courtroom afterwards. She is in the Dock, the picture of her broken ass jaw up on the projecter and you in the witness stand.

lawyer: Can you explain why you felt the need to strike my client in the face.

You: She would not see sense.

Judge : Audible "GASP"

In all case's (I'm not a garda)you can only use as much force as is required to apprend the person. The level of force is decided by them and the scenario.

As long as the level of force used can be deemed appropriate to the situation then all is well.

In the case of women its no different the rule still applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I'd be worried about being falsely accused of indecent assault , e.g. '' He handcuffed my hands behing my back and then put his hands up my top / skirt '' :eek:
    Hard for her to prove but equally hard to prove a negative (i.e. that you didn't grope her )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

delancey42 wrote: »
    I'd be worried about being falsely accused of indecent assault , e.g. '' He handcuffed my hands behing my back and then put his hands up my top / skirt '' :eek:
    Hard for her to prove but equally hard to prove a negative (i.e. that you didn't grope her )

You dont have to prove a negative. She would have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you did it. At the end of the day, all force used should be proportionate, necessary and legal. That goes from merely putting cuffs on someone to shooting them. As long as those boxes are ticked, happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Overheal wrote: »
    But I figure I would ask here, regular ES users, some of whom are Gardai etc. what in your experience is the case during arrests? How much of it is down to self restraint, and how much of it to these suspects being absolutely bat**** crazy.

Pepper spray

pepper spray

Pepper spray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭petergfiffin

My god...how are you subdueing them!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Deadwood doesn't subdue women - he seduces them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Pepper spray

pepper spray

Pepper spray

Haw he haw he haw. Ze pepper spray iss ze noo way to saydeuce ze laydees, non? Ces't iincroyablle. One leetle squirt, ees all eet takes, non?
    My god...how are you subdueing them!! :D

I act on Impulse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

I act on Impulse!

As a substitute for pepper spray?
    final-hi-res-impulse-true-l.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Locust wrote: »
    It may seem excessive on tv etc... but multiple officers/gardai on one person resisting arrest is a heck of a lot safer for everyone than one on one, theres a lot more risk of injury.

I saw three Gardai on the boardwalk in Dublin arresting a (presumably) drunk/intoxicated man. Two men and one woman were attending to him. One of the women was putting her kosh away while the man was essentially holding the perp up while he was in handcuffs. The other just appeared to be observing. I didn't witness the actual arrest when he was put in handcuffs but this guy could barely stand so I really doubt he put up much of a fight.
    Three more Gardai then arrived to assist.

Bit overkill imo.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I didn't witness the actual arrest
    Three more Gardai then arrived to assist

Bit overkill imo.

What can I say lads?

Thread closed.