Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Armagh city nightlife

• 16-06-2010 7:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

hi folks, my gaa club are travelling to armagh city for a weekend over the summer. we are playing a local team and intend socialising in the city on the saturday night.what areas/bars/clubs should we check out? we are mostly in our mid twenties and are looking for a bit of craic, we're all from the south. any tips? i know its not Beirut, but is there any chance will get grief cos of the accents? don't want to sound prejudiced but none of us are familiar with the northern scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭mackthefinger

hurler100 wrote: »
    hi folks, my gaa club are travelling to armagh city for a weekend over the summer. we are playing a local team and intend socialising in the city on the saturday night.what areas/bars/clubs should we check out? we are mostly in our mid twenties and are looking for a bit of craic, we're all from the south. any tips? i know its not Beirut, but is there any chance will get grief cos of the accents? don't want to sound prejudiced but none of us are familiar with the northern scene.

Hey hurler, you shouldn't have any problems in Armagh. I'd say you'll probably be out with the lads from the local team, who'll keep you right. A lot of the pubs in the town are in the 'shambles' end of the town, such as McKennas and the Northern. At the other end you have a few place such as Red Neds and Damper Murphys. All decent pubs. You're fairly limited
    in terms of clubs - If theres a bunch of ye, I'd say the bunker at Armagh City hotel will be your spot. Be sensible when you come out of here late at night, as its the summer and the flags will tell you the part of town you are in. Other than that, the stage bar in the Centre of town gets a good crowd. Armagh is a small place, won't take you long to get your bearings.
    Hope this helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭weemcd

^what he said, id recommend hitting mckennas during the day, just as long as your not too rowdy, they have a chart on the wall that says no parties, stags, large groups etc. I'm not sure how well they stick to that sign though. pretty much a forgone conclusion you will end up going to the bunker niteclub in the hotel. Other than that, the gas lamp/lawlers as its known isn't bad and stones throw from the hotel, stage bar under the theatre is also quite decent if you fancy something a bit more up-market. Few pubs in the town probably wouldn't be too hot on the gaa, but they would be in the very small minority ie. 3 in what must be 20-30 pubs in the town, stick to shambles and any bar with a remotely irish sounding name, when ye leave the hotel after stick left for getting chippers/taxi's, but i would not see ye getting any bother.

what team are ye playin and when btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭TITAN #1

I would highly recommend Newry, it is a little out of the way but worth the trip.