Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problems with XDCAM EX to DV Tape

Options
  • 16-06-2010 5:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

Shot a film in XDCAM EX back last August and edited it on my FCP 6 system. Film got into the Galway Fleadh this year, and I need to present it on DV tape for screening.

I've tried outputting it as per normal, but for some reason it says it is dropping frames, and that I should change the compressor/quality/etc.

Now, I don't really have much experience working with HD (this is my first time) and I seem a little bit lost.

My Sequence Settings are:

Compressor. XDCAM HD 1080p25 35 Mb/s VBR
    Frame Size. HD (1440x1080)
    Pixel Aspect Ratio. HD

I changed the compressor to XDCAM EX 1080p25 35Mb/s VBR, but now nothing shows up on my deck (PD170)

Am I just being incredibly thick and not doing something simple? It's driving me nuts, as my machine is getting on in years and the render time is killing me. :(

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

You're trying to output HD (or a compressed version of HD) to an SD format. Can't be done.

What you need to do is consolidate and transcode your cut sequence down to SD and then it should output easily.

Oh - and congrats on getting your film selected.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

You're trying to output HD (or a compressed version of HD) to an SD format. Can't be done.

What you need to do is consolidate and transcode your cut sequence down to SD and then it should output easily.

Oh - and congrats on getting your film selected.

Thanks...