Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Retro Sins...

• 16-06-2010 12:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭

What games have you sinfully not played yet, despite calling yourself a retro enthusiast :)

Ill kick off with:

Final Fantasy (none of them)
    Panzer Dragoon Saga
    Shenmue
    Metal Gear Solid (none of them)
    Halo (none of them)
    Portal (not retro, but still a sin by all accounts)

Please somebody else post a few sins - before Im banned from the forum :o

• Registered Users Posts: 34,634 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

EnterNow wrote: »

Panzer Dragoon Saga
    Shenmue
    Halo (none of them)

Of the above list, Metal Gear Solid is pretty suprising. I thought everyone on the planet had played that at some point or another. For shame!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,012 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Deus Ex (started it but got sidetracked)
    Shenmue (despite owning 1 and 2 for the last 3 years)
    Xcom
    Outcast
    Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne
    Secret of Mana (have to beat it)
    STALKER
    Not owning any SNK hardware (some people think this is a prerequisite to being a hardcore gamer!)
    Never played a Virtual Boy

Probably a few more.
    Halo (none of them)

Don't bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Manic Miner. Indeed, I've never even touched a Spectrum.
    Any NES Megaman game. Despite being a huge fan of the SNES ones.
    Knuckles Chaotix. As a huge Sonic fan, this tops my hitlist. It's just hard to find.
    Rainbow Islands
    Dizzy series
    Call of Duty, Medal of Honor, pretty much any modern war shooter
    Rez
    Virtua Fighter
    Any text adventure
    Monkey Island
    Nights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭justbrian

Any dreamcast game not available converted elsewhere. (E.G. x-box live, ps2)
    Never even touched a dreamcast.

Master of the Universe

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Not owning any SNK hardware (some people think this is a prerequisite to being a hardcore gamer!)

Indeed it is. Don't come back until you have an AES :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 15,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I can't think off the top of my head but it's definitely More than several. A lot more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,012 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Knuckles Chaotix. As a huge Sonic fan, this tops my hitlist. It's just hard to find.

It's another one not worth bothering with, it's awful stuff.

Thought of some more.

Any lucas arts adventure game. The only one I have played was Monkey Island 1. Really must get back to them because I own them all except Grim Fandango.

Zelda: Links Awakening

Phantasy Star 4 (heard it's amazing but I want to beat the series in order. Currently halfway through PS2 after getting sidetracked)

Shadowrun (SNES)

Not knowing as much about Gameboy games as I do about every other system. I know I'm missing out on a load of classics.

Cave Story

Space Station Silicon Valley (again I own this)

Tomba! and Tomba! 2

Alundra

Silent Bomber

Lufia 2

And I've been told I should play Night Trap while drunk.

I've a lot of PC gaming catching up to do alright. I did however finish System Shock 2 recently and thought it was one of the best games I ever played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I've a lot of PC gaming catching up to do alright. I did however finish System Shock 2 recently and thought it was one of the best games I ever played.

Thats one Ive been toying with the idea of playing. One of the best games you ever played really??

It's basically Bioshock except far far better. Oh and with really janky graphics!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭Jack burton

None of the Zelda games...like nothing at all

I have to play some pc classics like system shock 2, aswell as get half life 2 and portal

Master of the Universe

None of the Zelda games...like nothing at all

I have to play some pc classics like system shock 2, aswell as get half life 2 and portal

Feck PC games, play Zelda:A Link to the Past, NAO! It's a crime not to have played it at least once.

I know yeah, I never had a NES growing up so...I have one now though, just no cables for it :P

Master of the Universe

I don't think A Link to the Past will fit in your NES cart slot man. Although go ahead, it might produce interesting results :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,182 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

It's basically Bioshock except far far better. Oh and with really janky graphics!
    there was a fan made graphic upgrade pack knocking about that made it look a hell of a lot better.
    its worth getting that and the "no weapons degradation" fix, (its technically a cheat but even the games creators later admitted that your gun gradually starting to jam etc was a bad idea that shouldn't really have made it in game).There's also an "arachnophobia"patch to tone down the swarms of spiders later in the game,now that is a cheat , but some people need it to get through some of the later levels.

I've never actually played Shenmue (despite having a dreamcast , being a big sega fan , and actually having a lend of a copy for a few weeks)must see if I can get hold of it again.

Oh and since its mentioned elsewhere.I think Manic Miner and Jet set willy are probably the most over rated games ever.Possibly it's a spectrum thing(I've played it on a 48k a few times recently), and maybe its because I was an Atari/Commodore kid , but there were a shedload of more responsive and better looking platformers out there at the time(Bruce lee,Montezuma's revenge ..hell even Miner 2049er , which was the"inspiration" for MM.All it really had going for it was the quirky screen names.
    I've never understood the reverence they have for it over at retrogamer.net, but each to their own I guess....

there was a fan made graphic upgrade pack knocking about that made it look a hell of a lot better.
    its worth getting that and the "no weapons degradation" fix, (its technically a cheat but even the games creators later admitted that your gun gradually starting to jam etc was a bad idea that shouldn't really have made it in game).There's also an "arachnophobia"patch to tone down the swarms of spiders later in the game,now that is a cheat , but some people need it to get through some of the later levels..

Hmm... I played through the game without any of those and while it was tough the game got easier as you upgraded. You just have to realise that you can only specialise in one tech tree and have another as support. If you upgrade weapon maintenance early then it's no real problem. The graphics patchdoes upgrade some textures and models but it's still not great looking. Anyway the art style is still very good since the ship really does look very lived in a realistic in how it's designed since there's stuff like living quarters, medical bays, entertainment areas (with virtual brothels!) and hydrophonics labs. It's a tough game but it'shardly nearly impossible that some people make it out to be. I specialised in weapons with tech as support,maybe it's tougher for psionics users.

o1s1n wrote: »
    I don't think A Link to the Past will fit in your NES cart slot man. Although go ahead, it might produce interesting results :D

I'm not going to jump into the middle of the series, need to start at the negining and play them in chronological order :P

Master of the Universe

I'm not going to jump into the middle of the series, need to start at the negining and play them in chronological order :P

Lol, you're not getting out of it that easy :P

I have a copy of Zelda for my NES but haven't gotten around to playing it yet. Amazingly enough the battery in the cart doesn't need to be changed after all these years. Will probably change it just to be safe though. Especially after the horror of Super Metroid :(

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    The weapon degradation was a joke at it was slated in pretty much all the reviews. The high res textures pack is well worth installing it does clean things up. I still think the first game is far superior to the 2nd game not that the 2nd game isnt a materpiece.

Well I just never found the weapon degradation too much or problem, although I think I might have had the patch that slows down the weapon degradation to acceptable levels, thinking about it now I'm not sure. I tried to play the first game and couldn't get on with it. The controls are awful for anyone used to wasd since it's actually qwes in that game and the controls are unconfigurable. I've since learned of a patch that allows configurable controls released recently. Might go back and play it with that patch because I did like it other than the weird ass controls.

Zelda is a bit like metroid though, the NES games are really archaic and it only really got good in the SNES installments (although unlike Metroid 2, zeldas gameboy games is amazing). Best to start zelda with link to the past and links awakening because the stories don't follow any chronologic order.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Zelda is a bit like metroid though, the NES games are really archaic and it only really got good in the SNES installments (although unlike Metroid 2, zeldas gameboy games is amazing). Best to start zelda with link to the past and links awakening because the stories don't follow any chronologic order.

The Legend of Zelda for the NES is a great game and should definitely not be skipped. I recently played this through to the end and had a great time.Zelda 2 The Adventure of Link is a bit meh.

I want to pick up A Link to the Past next, seems to go for about €15 on eBay which I find a bit expensive so i am watching a lot of auctions to see if I can pick up a bargain. Annoyingly about two weeks ago I wasn't around the last day of an auction and it finished on €1.20.

Master of the Universe

I tried searching for a complete mint Link to the Past a couple of weeks ago on ebay. It goes for a lot more than I thought it would. Damn Snes cardboard boxes!

Will just have to make do with an unboxed one. :( Speaking of which, I need to replace the battery in that. Gave the one with a new battery to Weeder.

I hope you haven't deleted my save Weeder!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

These days, I wouldn't start off with the original Zelda, it's fantastic but extremely simple. I'd jump in at Link to the Past, or Ocarina of Time, or even Twilight Princess. It's like Final Fantasy, most of the time the stories have no connection to each other, and Link himself is usually just the reincarnation of the "great hero of legend."

Master of the Universe

Ocarina of Time and Twilight Princess..I must be the only person on earth who just doesn't 'get' these games. Link & serious visuals just doesn't do it for me.

Yep I'm playing the CD version. Managed to find it in a game store for 2 dollars on a trip to New York in 2002. I'll go go back to it with the patch. The annoying thing about it was that a and d were turn and q and e were strafe. It was too hard to get used to but with the patch I'll be able to change a and d to strafe and q and e to lean. The game was well ahead of it's time, can't believe the engine was used in ultima underworld which came out a full year before Doom since it was way more advanced (although I heard it was an absolute hog for anything but the best system and even SS suffered from this).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

As the lads have said, Zelda 1 is worth playing - but bears no connection to its succesors. Zelda 2 is a side scroller, I dont rate it at all. Zelda 3 on the SNES, now that IS special. Its where the series really took off, amazing game. Ocarina on the N64 is pretty good, but the feel of the game is weird, the atmosphere seems empty/hollow its hard to describe. I havnt played Majoras Mask yet (well I did for a few mins but that doesnt count), slightly different premise but seems like its likeable.

After that is Wind Waker (console wise, gameboy variants are recommended too) - more colourful/cartooney (cell shaded graphics no thanks). I played a fair way through the game but lost interest due to its repetetive nature, I despise random battles. Twilight Princess in on my "next to play" list, its a return to Ocarina style visuals thank God, seems good.

I always thought Majoras Mask was the best Zelda games because it's so different from the other games in the series. It takes ages to get into though and understand how good it is. Took me until after the first dungeon (which is a good 4-5 hours in) to get to this point and love it. It's got a very depressing atmosphere and all about time marching on and death. the ending is also quite sombre. It's really an amazing game and it's a pity every zelda game since uses the Ocarina time template except maybe wind waker.

I've another shame that MonkeyFudge won't like:

I never played Pac-Land more than the one time :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,182 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeretic , burn the heretic!!

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭Mcjmetroid

What games have you sinfully not played yet, despite calling yourself a retro enthusiast :)

Ill kick off with:

Panzer Dragoon Saga
    Shenmue
    Halo (none of them)

Please somebody else post a few sins - before Im banned from the forum :o

Yep Shenmue
    Any castlevania game besides gba and ds.
    most megaman games that are not the Nes ones
    Jet force gemini
    blast corps
    Most rpg's from the 16bit era and hell MOST rpg's :D
    I always thought Majoras Mask was the best Zelda games because it's so different from the other games in the series. It takes ages to get into though and understand how good it is. Took me until after the first dungeon (which is a good 4-5 hours in) to get to this point and love it. It's got a very depressing atmosphere and all about time marching on and death. the ending is also quite sombre. It's really an amazing game and it's a pity every zelda game since uses the Ocarina time template except maybe wind waker.

Agreed it's bloody awesome! I just don't think a lot of people got it.

It's unfortunate because with all the non-fans complaining that the zelda series hadn't changed formula since OOT, THIS zelda actually changed just about everything !but fans just wanted more of the same at the time and STILL do ,I don't care what they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Dirty Frank

Bit off topic but read the thread title and my biggest sin came straight to mind, selling the SNES. Bought a MegaDriveII lately though so I'm repenting through Desert Strike.

As for games I've never played, probably the Final Fantasy series, though I watched the whole of VII while my brother played. I just wanted to do that Chocobo place at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 10,986 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Bit off topic but read the thread title and my biggest sin came straight to mind, selling the SNES. Bought a MegaDriveII lately though so I'm repenting through Desert Strike.

I can top that.

I recently threw out a working Mega Drive II and a working SNES, along with a few games including a boxed with manual Street Fighter Alpha 2 (PAL).