Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chaos on M50 as Horses take to the stage

• 14-06-2010 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭

I was heading home this evening on the M50 when I got caught on the wrong side of the Mad Cow. A truck was parked across the north bound carriageway.
    After a few minutes I decided to don my photojurno hat and grabbed a few shots along the way.

3646ECCE772B436B95F643F537F08E5F-500.jpg

5DDE46AD05D344DD91157BB72EC786D3-500.jpg

This poor horse was in a bad way. Not looked after, thin, filthy and tired
    from running on the M50 for over an hour.
    4A8098631F3A446FB1EE044CED57F615-500.jpg

No body was hurt. Seems the horses were running up and down the M50 for about an hour, crossing in and out of traffic. I'm not sure what happened with the truck, but it would appear like he swerved to avoid one of the animals. It happened at 19.30 and lasted for over an hour.

There's a couple more shots over on my pixie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Where did the horses come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

The girl and lads with the horse, are they the owners??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I was on he m50 earlier and at 7.45 the horse was running south bound ( in the nothbound lane) at the Blanch exit. Poor little yoke ran a long way it would seem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Is that a serious question ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Buzz Lightyear

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Where did the horses come from?
    I've no idea. By the sounds of it they had already done quite some travelling if they were seen down in Blanch.
    No, these are just motorists, with maybe the truck driver amongst them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The guards may have got the truck driver to block the carriageway until they had caught the horses? And these poor animals don't have owners they are bought for as little as ten euro and mistreated until the day they fall dead in a field or break a leg and get left to die in agony!

They should all be rounded up and put down properly, And it should be a requirement to have a licence for a horse and horse sales should be properly regulated with requirement for a vet to sign off on all sales!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

i saw the horses at 6.40 heading northbound just after the n4 junction as i was heading southbound.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Is that a serious question ?

It is actually, it's just the way she was holding the horse and posing for the camera at the same time that made me think. Then again, I'd be of the inclination to think that some "horse owners" (not responsible horse owners) would be happy that they caused this kind of chaos. Especially around the Red Cow area...

OP, thanks for clarifying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

No, I don't think so, she dosn't have big ear rings. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭JayzuzHowiye

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The guards may have got the truck driver to block the carriageway until they had caught the horses?
    more than likely, or else he took it upon himself for the saftey of other road users.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

First Llamas, now Horses, what other manner of beast can be released onto the M50 to create more chaos! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

Stinicker wrote: »
    First Llamas, now Horses, what other manner of beast can be released onto the M50 to create more chaos! :eek:

Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Poor little horse.

Erm, on reading the thread title, I assumed it was a buggy race like I've seen down here on the Limerick ringroad very occasionally. I'm surprised by very little these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

They should all be rounded up and put down properly, And it should be a requirement to have a licence for a horse and horse sales should be properly regulated with requirement for a vet to sign off on all sales!

Thats why the dickheads that trade in these horses and ride them bare back across the wastelands of Finglas/Ballyfermot/Clondalkin etc etc. should be rounded up and put down, instead of becoming urban legends on documentaries made by assholes from the southside.

This country can be truly backward when it wants to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

you do need a license and the council do round them up and impound them regularly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

loyatemu wrote: »
    you do need a license and the council do round them up and impound them regularly
    this only deals with keeping horses within the city but the animals that "own" the horses are untouchable, they just use ignorance and the inability to read and write as an excuse and they will never get locked us anyway because these career criminals rarely do!

Make it illegal to sell a horse without a vets signature and I hefty licence fee being paid in advance and it might stop the urban cowboys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

At least nobody was hurt. On my way home from work on the N4 one day an artic hit three horses and ended up on the central median. Luckily the driver was ok but the horses were in bad shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Wonder if these were the same horses that I met on the back road by Wheatfield prison on Sunday...
    Looked like they had just come from the field there noting the trail of crap behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

That part of the city is "funny" horses. Two incidents that I saw that I would accuse somebody of making up if they told me. 1) Guy walking his horse down the Belgard Road except he was sitting in the back seat of a car with a rope out the window 2) a horse being transported on a the back of a flat bed trailer. Not entirely sure how they managed to get it to stand still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Cattle grids for the M50?