Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eddie Hobbs

• 14-06-2010 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭

Haven't seen this chap around in a while talking about the economy or other money matters, anyone know what rock he is hiding under?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

He's probably hiding from all those eejits investors that bought his property fund :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Spudzzmurphy

Was back in Cork City last week,were he was presented with some memorabilia from his old school.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Media Whore.. Say no more ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

He has given sound advice in his magazine You and your money and also helped wake people up in the boom years re. rip off Ireland.

The blanket criticism is unfair to him. At least he's up off his arse doing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭pocketdooz

pog it wrote: »
    He has given sound advice in his magazine You and your money and also helped wake people up in the boom years re. rip off Ireland.

The blanket criticism is unfair to him. At least he's up off his arse doing something.

I agree 100% here.

The level of financial awareness and financial literacy in this country is beyond shocking. Having lived previously in the U.S., Holland, the UK and Australia I'm in a position to compare us to citizens of other countries and we rank right at the bottom of that group anyway.

Eddie Hobbs does a good job of informing people as to basic financial issues and provides clear advice for people, both on his old TV show, in the papers and in his magazine. If there were more people in this country giving advice maybe people would start to take responsibility for their own finances (pensions/investments/savings/debt etc).

He's obviously a hard worker and has entrepreneurially worked his way up over the years. This nation is a pack of begrudgers - I say fair play to him.

(obviously that property fund was stupid idea).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

HA! You crawl back from under your BP rock to thank Pocketdooz for putting us all down: Smcgie

Crawl back now and stay there until BP bounces. You wee paddy you.

Yes! Pocketdooz... but the only requirment a nation is required to have in my book is a sense of justice and to resolve miscarriages of justice. Any failure in this will force the whole society to crumble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭displaced dub

I work a lot in Amsterdam and i saw Eddie there a couple of weeks ago walking down spuistraat, looked like he was wearing make-up so i reckon he was doing a TV program said hi he said hi and i kept walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭displaced dub

pirelli wrote: »
    HA! You crawl back from under your BP rock to thank Pocketdooz for putting us all down: Smcgie

Crawl back now and stay there until BP bounces. You wee paddy you.

Yes! Pocketdooz... but the only requirment a nation is required to have in my book is a sense of justice and to resolve miscarriages of justice. Any failure in this will force the whole society to crumble.

WTF Pirelli, you seem like an angry man tonight

Not too sure what your point was when you wrote this - I'm not looking to get into a Socrataic discussion on justice and fairness. I'm talking about Eddie Hobbs and why I like him.

My point is that people in this country don't take responsibility for their own finances (when compared to citicens of other countries) and the level of financial literacy could be / should be vastly improved. No rational person could disagree with this.

So I am pissed with him for losing all his money on BP and not listening to me about MOPN.

I'm sure a lot of people on this forum don't listen to you because they can't follow the sheer volume of penny stocks you suggest (me included). I'd imagine it's nothing personal on the part of Scmgie .....

WTF Pirelli, you seem like an angry man tonight

It's Scmgie. a few days ago scmgie tried to say the entire BP disaster was the fault of one worker. That i was trying to blame BP for it and that we should all buy BP shares. Then he boasted how he was 12% up on BP.

So I am pissed with him for losing all his money on BP and not listening to me about MOPN.

pocketdooz wrote: »
    I'm sure a lot of people on this forum don't listen to you because they can't follow the sheer volume of penny stocks you suggest (me included). I'd imagine it's nothing personal on the part of Scmgie .....

Don't speak for other people Pocketdooz, also this is not about People who do and don't trade pennies. As for saying people are not listening, your just be obnoxious.

I post exclusively in one thread and rarely post outside of it. To suggest my views are ignored because I post about pennies on some thread is silly.

I am not Timothey Sykes FFS. Smcgies in his own words scoffed at our and My supposed Moral reasoning and then loses all his money on that rotten BP and then thanks you for critcising the entire irish population for their ingnorance.

Oh! I forgot Pocketdooz you speak on their behalf also... How arrogant is that.

Don't speak for other people Pocketdooz, also this is not about People who do and don't trade pennies. As for saying people are not listening, your just be obnoxious.

I post exclusively in one thread and rarely post outside of it. To suggest my views are ignored because I post about pennies on some thread is silly.

I am not Timothey Sykes FFS. Smcgies in his own words scoffed at our and My supposed Moral reasoning and then loses all his money on that rotten BP and then thanks you for critcising the entire irish population for their ingnorance.

Oh! I forgot Pocketdooz you speak on their behalf also... How arrogant is that.

Haha Pirelli - "obnoxius, arrogant and silly"? - wow, your posts from yesterday are a bit out of character aren't they?

Firstly - I was suggesting a reason why people might ignore you're advice on stocks - because you tout about 30 per week and not many people have heard of any of them. That's why I don't listen to you - so it's possibly why others don't either - makes sense right?. So, don't critisise others for their investments - I've seen some of yours go down 50 - 70% so no-ones perfect.

Secondly - I didn't critisise the entire population for their ignorance - if you read my post I said "The level of financial awareness and financial literacy in this country is beyond shocking" - that is a simple fact. That doesn't mean we are ignorant - just that our level of financial literacy is below that of other countries - that's not ignorance and that's not what I am suggesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

I don't think anyone can doubt that we as a nation have a poor grasp of budgeting skills and the concept of credit. The most damning thing you can be called is to be considered "tight". We consider the British to be a nation of misers but it is more that they are prudent with their purchases and try not to live beyond their means as much.

It was clear then and it is clear now that Eddie was pimping the property for his own commercial gain and not as a sound investment but he has been good for two reasons.
    A) He popularized the idea of reviewing finances at home
    B) His pimping of property taught people to not take tips blindly because tips are never for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

For the love of Christ. I'm not even going to get involved in this.

Pirelli I don't know what you personal reasons for this outburst but I never questioned your stock picks. I also didn't boast about BP. I made a recommendation to buy (up to) 3.50.

If the 12% has offended you I apoligise to close this silly argument.

I congratulate you on your stocks. I never questioned MPON so I think your out of order.

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    He's probably hiding from all those eejits investors that bought his property fund :D

What information do you have that suggests that the folk that are invested in this fund are actually doing badly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

What information do you have that suggests that the folk that are invested in this fund are actually doing badly?

I don't but as the fund invested in European property in or around 2007 I can take an educated guess.

Do you know how the fund is doing?

I know that there was very little investment in property in the first year or so and that the funds were held in cash.

Relative to its 'peers' that invested in the same sector I doubt that it is doing as badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Mark27

What about his tip 6 months ago that everyone should now switch from their tracker to a fixed mortgage?

Thank god i didnt listen! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

Mark27 wrote: »
    What about his tip 6 months ago that everyone should now switch from their tracker to a fixed mortgage?

Thank god i didnt listen! :)

Well if you're so smart, let's hope you aren't in negative equity ;)
    Also... he gave a lot of good advice too. I wonder do you know any of that?

Also, I hope for your sake interest rates stay where they are, or you'll be sorry.

And remember............ nobody makes 100% right calls ALLLLLLLLLLLL the time. Just read around and make your own decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Speculator

Eddie Hobb NOB's new book:

ENERGISE

Survive and Prosper in the Coming Age of Scarcity, High Inflation and Peak Oil.

Took a quick glance at this in Hughes and Hughes today, in my humble opinion its not worth the paper its written on.

I respected this guy a good few years ago, but he has now become too commercialised. Eddie is now more of a celebrity Z lister then a financial advisor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Speculator wrote: »

Eddie Hobb NOB's new book:

ENERGISE

Survive and Prosper in the Coming Age of Scarcity, High Inflation and Peak Oil.

Took a quick glance at this in Hughes and Hughes today, in my humble opinion its not worth the paper its written on.

I respected this guy a good few years ago, but he has now become too commercialised. Eddie is now more of a celebrity Z lister then a financial advisor.
    Eddie is now more of a celebrity Z lister then a financial advisor.

what do you expect ? he was a failed financial adviser to start with .!

danbohan wrote: »

No he wasn't :rolleyes: What makes you say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Speculator wrote: »
    No he wasn't :rolleyes: What makes you say that?

he was sacked by eagle star in 1991, he will say he resigned ,

I was under the impression he resigned, it was his decision due to office politics. What makes you think he was sacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Bun Junior

His timing was spot on with Rip off Republic but then got carried away selling everything from property to eggs..

All experts need to stick to their area of speciality. His is managing your personal finances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭UpAgainToday

Yeah plus its a bit of an insult to people in finance to have an ''adviser'' say hey do you know your spending 1k on cups of coffee a year woah you need to stop drinking coffee :P

Like come off it that does not require intelligence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 blahboy

Hi folks,

He was on Newstalk 106 - George Hook this evening so in the words of another famous Irish man - he has not gone away you know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭UpAgainToday

blahboy wrote: »
    Hi folks,

He was on Newstalk 106 - George Hook this evening so in the words of another famous Irish man - he has not gone away you know

If he can explain CDS to a normal Irish person then he may be of use if not who cares? :)