Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COPE OCEAN TRIATHLON SALTHILL, GALWAY

• 12-06-2010 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, anybody doing this tomorrow? I did it last year myself and found it very well run. It started out like a really miserable winters morning but as the morning went on the weather got better. Found the swim tough last year, longer than 750m. Run to transition was a long one I felt but transition itself was ideal. I think the tide may be out tomorrow morning so it will be a longish run to T1 I expect. The cycle, an out and back was relatively flat but there can be a strong head wind on the way out with a tail wind on the way back. The run was flat and again can be windy along the sea side of South Park.

It was my second ever triathlon last year and I am looking forward to taking a nice chunk off my time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭acurno

Yea I'm signed up should be fun. 2nd time doing it so it's good to know what to expect. Though it is a pretty flat and easy course. Very enjoyable though and hopefully there'll be the crowds around Salthill with all thats going on in Galway.

Looking forward to it bigtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

Any feedback on this , did it last year and enjoyed but due to the high cost of entering and bout of man flu this weekend decided against it.
    Not sure about Galway but it was rough here this morning.

Twas good, as enjoyable as last year with just as much changeable weather..

Only sore point, and I mean SORE point, was that the swim back to the beach wasn't marked properly and as such, EVERYONE landed on rocks which cut us all to shreds. I don't necessarily blame the organisers, though they could of had a kayak there guiding people towards the beach. It was more herd mentality, everyone followed the leader and made for the shortest journey to the shore rather than looking where they were going.
    Took nearly 2 mins to stumble over the rocks with everyone roaring with pain. Funny enough though as well to be honest.

Other than that, great race, and great support all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭El Director

I have to agree with Acurno above. Very enjoyable, great atmosphere despite the early start and awful weather. Well marshalled, and a big thank you to them for standing in the pouring rain. Lovely run route and the swim was shortened from last year although a few still turned back as it was "swelly" and tough goin in the melee. On the negative side, the rocks, the jagged rocks! Looking at my hands, knee's and feet today you'd swear I was in a fight with a cat with switch blades for nails!! Still enjoyed it a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

Two pieces of good news for this year :

ONE - I will be starting my FREE triathlon training plan in advance of the Cope Galway Triathlon next Monday as I do every year. Places will be limited so we are giving you guys around Galway or not the opportunity to sign up before this is opened up to the general public. If you are interested please pm me to reserve your place. I only intend to work with a reasonable size group to make it fun and interesting :)

The full 5 Week plan is outlined below.

TWO - These is the third Cope Galway Triathlon and I am offering a reduced entry fee €35 + donation. Remember there is no one day licence etc... so maybe the first 10 Boards members ? This offer is available until 20th May and is not advertised on the website so please pm me first. I will do the same if you guys want to do a relay. I just thought it would be nice as a long boards member to give something back :)

Five Week Training Plan

Meeting at 7.30 Salthill Carpark each night.

week 1: 9th May Swim 500m
    Run the 5k course
    Open water swim technique

week 2: 16th May Swim 500m
    10k bike
    Transition training
    Mounting / dismounting bike

week 3: 23rd May: Swim 300m
    20k bike course

week 4: 30th May : Mini tri consisting of: Swim 250m / 10k Bike / 2.5k Run

week 5: 6th June: Swim 750m course
    Run 3k

Any thoughts let me know

Seb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

I thought it was a bit expensive for what you got last year, the goody bag was your swim hat and a generic cancer care west cotton t-shirt that you would never wear again. 70 euros is way too much for a sprint although I acknowledge that 20 goes to Cancer Care West

The offer that Seb has below though is more like it though, I think 35 is a fair price.

It was desperate coming out of the water with all the sharp rocks under you. I pointed it out to a kayaker before the start and he said he would push people away from it but I assume that's difficult when everyone is taking the shortest line home. A couple of bouys to branch off this area would be a lifesaver for the feet, hands and wetsuit

The bike was nice and fast if you weren't being held up by cars, tractors etc, its a busy road but I don't have a problem here though as it would be next to impossible to get closed roads in that area

The run is lovely up and down the prom

Thanks for your comments, the price is nothing to do with me but think it was calculated that way :

if you consider an average triathlon is €50 and if you are not a Triathlon Ireland member you have the extra €15 so Total of €65. For the extra €5 I think it's ok, but look guys, send yoru feedback to COPE and they will decide, I am just organizing it for them, and try to advise the best I can. Remember I am the one who ran the cheapest Triathlon series in Ireland at €35, so I know what you are talking about. Pity I can't do it anymore.

I agree with the swim and this year it is different, with no rocks etc.... The problem last year was the tides pushing people to the rocks and it was my mistake. So this year it will be along the promenade a straight line swim (with in and out of course).

The bike course, is a tough one, we are trying to sort this out each year and we are trying to make it better each year, trust me.

Remember it is a fun and charity events at the end of the day, I decided due my health to give Westport Triathlon to Pulse Tri club, Lanesborough to Roscommon swim club, and will not run Portumna this year. So I will only have my Portumna Marathon and ultra and the rest for charity and clubs :)

Anyway, pm me if anybody want the entry. 9 left :P

We had our first training session last night. The Cope Triathlon is coming soon, and there are only few places left for this year Triathlon.

COPE always has been one of my favourite charities. They provides services to those isolated in our community - including sustenance and social supports for older people, a refuge for women and children affected by domestic violence and accommodation for men and women experiencing homelessness.

I was pleased with last night training session. 16 people showed up with 3 coaches.

We swam about 700 to 900m, preceded by a short presentation of swimming techniques in Triathlon :

Technique: head and body position, arms and leg action, breathing, turning around buoys and looking up without breathing.

We then went for a nice and easy 5k run and I was impressed that some who never ran before or very little were able to do it. I suppose group effect does make people achieve and do things we would not do on our own.

I can't wait until next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭topcat77

Hi Locteau

Sounds like a great session, just gutted i only found out about it now! What will i need to bring with me for next weeks session as i'm deffinatly going to turn up for this one!

Thanks in advance!:D

if you look the above schedule just bring the equipment you would bring normaly. Any body welcome anytime.

last Monday I was very lucky again to have three assistant coach with me, Lilly Muldoon & Tony Daly from Predator Triathlon Club and Karl Prendergast from Galway Triathlon Club.

Week 2 session of the 16th May was Transition training with Mounting / dismounting the bike, then 10km bike and Swim 500m.

Hi guys, trying to put the video, but does not work for some reasons : http://youtu.be/1PhaGw78300

Coach Seb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Just put this race into my calender!

Yeah me too I wasnt going to but the reduction for past entrants slowly reeled me in. It will be a good blow out for Kilkee the following weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭hootini

catweazle wrote: »
    Yeah me too I wasnt going to but the reduction for past entrants slowly reeled me in. It will be a good blow out for Kilkee the following weekend

Ditto to both.

Really looking forward to Kilkee this year. COPE should be a good laugh as its practically on my doorstep.

The swim is going to be much better, along the prom, so no rocks this year even if the tide push you away :)

Seb

Last Monday session :

Special offers for boards members are now gone and Cope kindly agreed to give the deal to the ones who entered last year, or already entered.

Let me know if this has been done (Micheál for example)

Sebastien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭topcat77

Finally made my first training session in salthill yesterday! This was my first experience of open water swimming and triathlon type event. Found the whole session as a massive eye opener and I’m so glad i attended. Found the swim hard but I took advice of a fellow participant (If you can swim you can swim in the sea, just don’t panic!!!). The combination of all the disciplines playing with havoc with the different muscles was something I have get used to. I’d like to thank Locteau, all the other coaches, the volunteers and other participants for a friendly, eye opening and enjoyable time.

Regards the lad with the welsh swimming hat

locteau wrote: »
    Last Monday session :

Special offers for boards members are now gone and Cope kindly agreed to give the deal to the ones who entered last year, or already entered.

Let me know if this has been done (Micheál for example)

Sebastien

Only saw this post now. I had already entered but I did get refunded the €15 so fair play-go a long way to paying petrol money!

On another note (hope thats ok) I am trying to enter Portumna Tri but when I get directed to runireland.com I cannot find the Portumna Tri link, can you point me in the right direction Seb?

I had to remove Portumna Triathlon for the moment for the following reasons :

- Got very sick as some people already know and been asked to not take on to much
    - I had no reason to fundraise money for my athletes this year (main reason of the 25.5 series)
    - The entries where a bit low so preferred to focus and the marathon and ultra.

Sebastien

Thanks Seb and I hope you are in better health now, see ye next weekend.:)

I think the weather Gods have cursed this event! 3 years in a row and it's been brutal!
    Was still a good race though as was to be expected. The swim course was far better laid out, though it didn't make for easy conditions today. Looked fine from the shore, but that swell was pretty tough. Saw a lot of people struggling. Wind was blowing the opposite way as well just to be ironic. Can't get a break!

Spent ages in first transition, my fingers were so numb I was struggling for ages to get the socks on! Must have been there nearly 5 minutes, something I really need to practice.

Cycle and run were as always good fun and made up plenty of places.

Will be back again next year for sure, fingers crossed for sunshine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Ya bloody freezing again. Good swell out in the sea, reckon I swallowed 3 litres of sea water. Good craic as always, and complements to the chef for the soup at the end. Just what the doctor ordered!

Despite the terrible conditions another very well run event. I agree with above post re the swim, much better course. A taster of what Sept 4th may bring, hard to imagine 1.9k swim in that swell! The lashing rain and the head wind on the way back on the bike was a challenge in itself, I didn't get caught behind any cars but there did seem to be quite a few and in fairness to them (from what I saw) they were very patient.! I like the run course, great relief rounding South Park and getting the wind at your back :)

Fair play to all competitors but the biggest fair play and thanks has to the marshals, kayakers and organisers, standing there in the lashing rain - all clapping and encouraging with a smile on their faces (they're are mad ;)) Well done all.

Well El D are you wearing that medal around your neck :D

Well done, I noticed your bike was out of transition when I came in so I knew you were going well!

I don't know why with that weather but I enjoyed the race - I think the organisation was better this year. The traffic seemed to be well managed and I didn't hit any problems this year.

Tough swim though, turning left after the first buoy I really struggled

catweazle wrote: »
    Well El D are you wearing that medal around your neck :D

Well done, I noticed your bike was out of transition when I came in so I knew you were going well!

I don't know why with that weather but I enjoyed the race - I think the organisation was better this year. The traffic seemed to be well managed and I didn't hit any problems this year.

Tough swim though, turning left after the first buoy I really struggled

Well done yourself man-were you happy with you placing? Thanks for the tri suit man, I'll have to pay more attention o my checklist in the future :rolleyes:

I just added a small piece on runireland.com with results and link to most of the pictures.

Weather wasn't great, and I am amazed you guys did the race in rough conditions.

Weather was so nice yesterday, and as said above, 3 years in a row is unlucky, but I do admit without the COPE volunteers hard work all day, and you guys been patient and just so nice, it just made everybody's day.

http://www.runireland.com/news/cope-triathlon-2011-results-successful-day-galway-today

It does show that pure positivity wins over anything !

See you next year guys.

Seb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Geri 22

Well done Seb and COPE Galway for doing a great job in organising this event. There were SO many marshalls on the route encouraging us in really unpleasant conditions! Fair play to them! Pity about the weather, couldn't hang around afterwards - too cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Seb, that was a rare combination of horrendous and enjoyable :D. Great organisation, the marshalling was fantastic and I can only imagine what that bike route must be like to marshall. Well done on putting together a great day despite the weather.