Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opinions on 17 hmr choice

• 11-06-2010 1:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

Hi Lads, im goin to get 17 hmr and have it narrowed to few choices, id appreciate yer opinions on them. No. 1 Anschutz 1517db thumbhole, No. 2 Sako quad varmint and No. 3 Savage 93r17 btvss. I had a cz american in this caliber before and found it very accurate, would these choices be any more accurate? thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 blaserlrs2

Cant see you going wrong with either the anschutz or sako , But the savage rimfires i have heard some mixed reviews on them, In my opinion the anschutz and sako should be more accurate than the cz ,(not downing the cz great rifle)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

personally i wouldn't get a thumbhole stock, i find them a bit heavy and the follow up shot is a bit slower because it takes a fraction of a second longer to get your thumb in the hole compared to a sporter type stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Hi Lads, im goin to get 17 hmr and have it narrowed to few choices, id appreciate yer opinions on them. No. 1 Anschutz 1517db thumbhole, No. 2 Sako quad varmint and No. 3 Savage 93r17 btvss. I had a cz american in this caliber before and found it very accurate, would these choices be any more accurate? thanks in advance

The Anschutz will cost you close on a thousand euro but they have a great rep. Im currently waiting on a sako myself, dealer is getting one down from the north word from him is Ardee have none in stock and are not getting in many sakos this year.He is also getting an Anschutz in as well.I was in the same boat as you about a month or so back but went for the sako in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 6.5x55

Sorry Custom Rifle I might be a bit off thread but I have a 452 Varmint and find it to be extremly accurate is it worth changing the rifle for the amount of accuracy your going gain ? .Would you not try to tweak your current rifle to gain that extra 5% ???.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭cbrjohnthou

Anyone ever tried the Wiehrauch .17, I had a CZ.17 and it was a cracker for rabbits and foxes. Reasonable gun for a reasonable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Thanks for your replies lads. I had a 17 rimfire couple years back but changed it for a 223. This new rifle will be for the fiancee she likes to go shooting with me on occasion and shes fairly f#*kin good at it too,with 22 rifle and pistol in particular, but with heavier recoiling rifle i usually hear "is this goin to hurt me now":rolleyes: hence the little .17 hmr. Ill prob end up goin for sako or anschutz, but ill get joint licence so i can play with it too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Personally I'd get the Anschutz, but in a sporter, money no object. I'd love one of the Savages as a less all-round gun, for prone bunny and corvid busting. Shot one before and absolutely loved it. Snobbery has me on the Anschutz for fit and finish though. Tough call really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Anschutz are top quality,if you can afford it get it.

I do like the look of the savage and its gotten some great reviews. I not concidering the really expensive anschutz, its the 1517 model i was on about they re running around £600 in the uk but seem to be as accurate as the high end ones, I might be able get it for good price here. Herself wants to put money towards it anyway so wont work out too expensive hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

If you want more bang for ya buck...the cz is a grand choice....
    But ya cant beat an annie in quality...but theres the price to pay...

The money you`ll save getting a cz compared to an annie would be a nice weekend away in the Aren islands....

W end away on aran islands OR a barrel for 7mm im havin built:D Like your thinkin man;) Couldnt fault the cz s, ive had a few she loved shooting the little 452 varmint i had in 22, was good with it too. Ill keep a look out might come across nice s/h one yet

Do the aran islands and give her the cz when ya get back...you know yourself your gettn the 7mm barrel no matter what;)

What you building wit the 7mm?

Have a remington cdl in 30-06 but just goin using the reciever. Goin to get pacific tool and gauge replacement bolt with cone face, mcmillian f class stock and more than likely a trueflite barrel or if i can get one a krieger, have one on my 6mm and its savage:D but the trueflites are getting serious name. it ll be chambered in 7mm/270.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

dwighet wrote: »
    If you want more bang for ya buck...the cz is a grand choice....
    But ya cant beat an annie in quality...but theres the price to pay...

The money you`ll save getting a cz compared to an annie would be a nice weekend away in the Aren islands....

The weekend will be long forgotten when the money is spent, but you will still have the Anschutz.

Have a remington cdl in 30-06 but just goin using the reciever. Goin to get pacific tool and gauge replacement bolt with cone face, mcmillian f class stock and more than likely a trueflite barrel or if i can get one a krieger, have one on my 6mm and its savage:D but the trueflites are getting serious name. it ll be chambered in 7mm/270.
    I know of a lad up north with a 7mm/270...
    Many 1000 yd comps he`s won with it.
    Im going to have to google the pacific bolt...im not familiar with that...

Sounds nice mate...good luck with it

Thanks man, am gettin it built over next few months so lookin forward to it. Hear the 7mm/270 is way to go for 1000yard alright, have a 6xc havent ran it at the 1000 yet, it serious at 5 and 600 and have 30" tube on it so should be more than up to job, just need to try find some trigger time:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Thanks man, am gettin it built over next few months so lookin forward to it. Hear the 7mm/270 is way to go for 1000yard alright, have a 6xc havent ran it at the 1000 yet, it serious at 5 and 600 and have 30" tube on it so should be more than up to job, just need to try find some trigger time:(

i know how you feel. I was out today briefly and the sky opened.
    Who's doing the build?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I do like the look of the savage and its gotten some great reviews.

Here's my tuppence worth.
    I have a thumbhole savage, albeit in .22 & I luv the look of the laminate stock. I know its not to everyones taste. Have to say its slightly on the heavy side but perfect for shooting off the bipod. Find it spot on for taking bunnies out to 100yds. Plus you get the Accutrigger.

Regards your follow up shot being slower its possible to cycle the bolt wit your free hand from below. You need never move your firing hand or take your eye from the scope.

On another note I think the Savage 93R TR looks fabulous. That target style stock does special things to me:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Does anyone know any dealers that stock Anschuetz, I really like the look of this.
    I shot a .17 for the first time a few nights ago and I have to say I'm hooked ..... Need to get one ha ha

http://jga.anschuetz-sport.com/index.php5?produktID=305&menu=109&sprache=1&produktShow=detail