Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Jude Classic Betting

• 09-06-2010 6:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Didn't have time to write an article this week but i'm going to have a small punt to warm up for the US Open.

I'm banking on an outsider doing it this week. I don't fancy any among the favs.

Obviously Toms' record here is unbelievably consistent so i wouldn't put anyone off it. 22/1 is not for me.

This week for me it's:
    Kevin Stadler e/w @ 150/1

best of luck chaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Managed to nab Petrovic at 80's.

Full preview here

Good luck to anyone having a flutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ValueSeeker

Didn't have time to write an article this week but i'm going to have a small punt to warm up for the US Open.

I'm banking on an outsider doing it this week. I don't fancy any among the favs.

Obviously Toms' record here is unbelievably consistent so i wouldn't put anyone off it. 22/1 is not for me.

This week for me it's:
    Kevin Stadler e/w @ 150/1

best of luck chaps.

Agree on Toms. Wouldn't go near a twenty something price in a field of this quality regardless of his record on the course. I read he's also nursing ashoulder injury.

I havn't done a preview this week either but in my Facebook group I mentioned Villegas was a standout for me and got on him at 33's earlier in the week. Allenby is another with great course form and although he missed the cut last week, he hadn't played in a while and I'd expect him to do well this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Did Allenby and Dredge ew this week.

I also agree on Petrovic and Stadler, 2 of the streakiest players on tour.

I backed Petrovic for a top 10 although best I could do was 6/1.

Stadler, I was looking for earlier in the week and didn't see him. Was he an alternate or am I just blind? I'm going to have to see if I can still get some value now.

I've also gone with McIlroy with a view to trading. I fancy him to hit the front or very near it at soem stage this week in the latter rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

lm waiting in anticipation for the bookie basher heavyballs to give his tips :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭deewhy

3 bets for me:

Scwartzel @ 42's
    Imada @ 200's
    McCarron @ 400's

Last two in the hope of opportunity to lay off for a profit early!
    I was going to back Dicky Pride at 1,000 just because of the name!!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Two small e/w bets for me.

Tim Petrovic - 80/1 (BlueSQ)

Camilo Villegas - 28/1 (PaddyPowers)

Just for interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭YohanCabeye7

Jordan Spieth @ 300/1 (Betfair) view to lay.

First round leader: Retief Goosen @ 37/1 (Betfair) (can be had 45/1 w/Skybet)

Only pennies on these. :)

Agree on Toms. Wouldn't go near a twenty something price in a field of this quality regardless of his record on the course. I read he's also nursing ashoulder injury.

I havn't done a preview this week either but in my Facebook group I mentioned Villegas was a standout for me and got on him at 33's earlier in the week. Allenby is another with great course form and although he missed the cut last week, he hadn't played in a while and I'd expect him to do well this week.

Toms is nursing the injury for a few months now. He'd holding out on surgery in a hope that it will improve. Everyone knows about it for a quite a while now. It's no real secret and it hasn't halted his form at all. He is taking medication and getting treatment for it. He had it for the Transitions championships where he shot a 63 on day two which included 15 greens-in-regulation, 25 putts and 8 birdies.

Since then he played the Masters where he tied 14th and a couple of weeks ago, Crowne Plaza Invitational, shot a final round 65 and carded just 110 putts for the tournament. Highly impressive stuff from someone nursing a niggling and painful enough injury.

His record here over the last 8 years is near perfect. Toms has carded two rounds of 63 here, a 64 and several rounds of 65.

Because of all this he is the price he is.

Now Harrington is a iffy price. Only carded 2 rounds under par in his last 3 starts in the US. Coming off the back of surgery and missed the cut twice from three starts here. As low as 16/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

robbie1977 wrote: »

i just backed heath Slocum so far @33/1,might do someone else on Sat.
    In Europe i'm on [EMAIL="Edberg@50/1"]Edberg@50/1[/EMAIL] and Stephen o Hara @100/1 and both for top 10's,i'm not feeling too confident tbh,

oh i forgot backed R.Green @50/1 for no reason other than i thought it was a good price,didn't check current form etc,he can get streaky with the putter which is goin to be a must this week more than most

btw keep an eye on valueseeker's thread on Top 10/20 betting,i posted my fancies on there yesterday i think,has proved profitable for me so far (just about) although i still think there's not much value to be had in these type of markets although valueseeker and in tuition disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Allenby ew
    Brian Gay 30/1

heavyballs wrote: »
    In Europe i'm on Edberg@50/1 and Stephen o Hara @100/1 and both for top 10's,i'm not feeling too confident tbh,

oh i forgot backed R.Green @50/1 for no reason other than i thought it was a good price,didn't check current form etc,he can get streaky with the putter which is goin to be a must this week more than most

Green was a standout for me aswell at that price but he pulled out during the tournament last week and I couldn't find out why so I avoided him in case it was an injury. He's started well though.

In_tuition wrote: »
    It's no real secret and it hasn't halted his form at all.

He hasn't had a top 10 this season. He's always a let down whenever I back him.

No better place for him to get his first top 10 than here though but I don't see value in 5/2 on that.

Good luck.

Allenby withdrawn after 9 holes.

Unlucky guys :mad:

In_tuition wrote: »
    Allenby withdrawn after 9 holes.

Unlucky guys :mad:

Hardly money back is it :D

Hatch99 wrote: »

Sadly not.

In Europe i'm on Edberg@50/1 and Stephen o Hara @100/1 and both for top 10's,i'm not feeling too confident tbh,

2 no hopers this week but still have 2 in with a shout,i'd be surprised if Green came back to beat Bjorn who at 1/2 is a better price than i would have gave

in the u.s Slocum has a great chance,be very surprised if Garrigus gets more than a couple of hours kip tonight and be even more surprised if he ends up winning,here's hopein

A few players in the running for places in america for me. Bjorn, who I mentioned in my golf thread and now layed off at 1.6 has made it a great week already in the golf betting. Pity I can't say the same about the football.

jasus westwood is a some choker :mad:

unbelivable seens on the 18th

Jaysus, imagine you were waiting on Garigus for a few bob :eek:

no choke imo,you don't win 30 odd times if you're a choker,

but tbh i hope he does choke because i was goin to lump on him this week but the price put me off,usually i don't let a price put me off a golfer,i do the research,pick them out and back them regardless of price,
    lesson learned

no choke imo,you don't win 30 odd times if you're a choker,

lm gona have to disagree with u heavyballs he birdied 2,3 and 4 then finds himself in the lead then does'nt get another .

2 clear at half way then finds himself 3 down after the 18th.

the 3 of them in the playoff all bottled it.

lm gona have to disagree with u heavyballs he birdied 2,3 and 4 then finds himself in the lead then does'nt get another .

2 clear at half way then finds himself 3 down after the 18th.

the 3 of them in the playoff all bottled it.

not at all,look at the 3 tee shots Westy hit at 18,look at his approach to 18,when did he choke?on the 7 footer down hill on mad grainy greens,me thinks not
    1 question,how does a bottler win 30 odd tourneys?

ln fairness u have a good point there but watching him this year he has been in situation were he should be winning tournaments and has'nt. due to lmo him losing his nerve.
    the masters being a prime example.

l wont back him again in a hurry.

ln fairness u have a good point there but watching him this year he has been in situation were he should be winning tournaments and has'nt. due to lmo him losing his nerve.
    the masters being a prime example.

l wont back him again in a hurry.

how many golfers schit themselves in the masters?fact is it's hard to win no matter who you are,people expect him to win every time he's in contention,they should cut him a bit of slack
    this is a major springboard for Westy,you're not alone in calling him a bottler to be fair
    good luck

Hatch99 wrote: »

PaddyPower refunded bets on him. Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

dinneenp wrote: »
    PaddyPower refunded bets on him. Fair play

All bets :confused: hardly backed by many :rolleyes: another cheap shameless publicity stunt ;)

I wouldn't say it's a shamless publicity stunt, can't imagine this getting a lot of publicity.
    For them to refund when Barcelona got the late, late goal against Chelsea in Champions League (2 seasons ago) you can say that's a publicity stunt. I can imagine 'non betting people' taking the next day and saying 'did you hear- Paddy Power refunded....' but can't imagine the same today re St Judes.

To me it's just a decent act from them, obviously I'm happy.
    My money is going on Holland to win and Denmark not to score (6/4).