Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin FB collecting money

• 09-06-2010 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭

I saw Dublin Fire Brigade collecting money on Henry Street in Dublin this afternoon. I didn't manage to see who they were collecting for, but I've seen them a few times on Grafton Street before and I've thought nothing of it.

If they're collecting for DFB, why? It seems a bit ridiculous to me that a state-funded body (an essential one) needs to collect money ...

I'm not bashing DFB or anything - I'll give them a few bob the next time I see them! I'm just curious ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

I doubt very much it was DFB itself they were collecting money for. The DFB lads are highly involved in charity events and fundraising for charities, and I would hazard a guess that this is what they were collecting for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭boomer_ie

I saw Dublin Fire Brigade collecting money on Henry Street in Dublin this afternoon. I didn't manage to see who they were collecting for, but I've seen them a few times on Grafton Street before and I've thought nothing of it.

If they're collecting for DFB, why? It seems a bit ridiculous to me that a state-funded body (an essential one) needs to collect money ...

I'm not bashing DFB or anything - I'll give them a few bob the next time I see them! I'm just curious ...

No they arent collecting for DFB, they are collecting for a charity supported by DFB, what one I dont know but I am sure one of the DFB lads will come on and let us know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

DFB and many other fire services around the country lend their hands to collecting for charity, they don't collect for themselves they're state/local authority funded, they're not an NGO emergency service like search and rescue units around the country.

EDIT: Beaten by boomer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭u2gooner

The current collections going on are for St. Francis' Hospice in Raheny and Barnardo's. DFB volunteers have been collecting spare change on their own time for the past few weeks at locations such as Grafton street, Henry street, Temple Bar, Blanchardstown SC and Croke Park (westlife gig).
    This collection is tying in with the New DFB cycling club who are doing a sponsored 4 provinces cycle challenge in aid of the same charities.

Please give generously if you see the lads and lassies out collecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Thanks for that! :o

I had a second look this afternoon and I still couldn't see who they were collecting for. I'll drop a few bob in next time! Fair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Thankfully despite cutback ES Personnell have not (yet ) had to go out rattling buckets for essential equipment.
    Imagine NGA standing in Grafton Street with a bucket and wearing a T shirt that says '' Support Garda Traffic Corps upgrades from Mondeos to BMW 5 series '' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

delancey42 wrote: »
    Thankfully despite cutback ES Personnell have not (yet ) had to go out rattling buckets for essential equipment.
    Imagine NGA standing in Grafton Street with a bucket and wearing a T shirt that says '' Support Garda Traffic Corps upgrades from Mondeos to BMW 5 series '' :D

Emmmm......its an idea......Deadwood......you need a hi nelly bike for patrol?? We could do a duo collection!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Here there is a very good charity for fallen police officers , its basically a blue ribbon you get/buy them from the cop shops and various other places. I notice most victorian drivers place them on the rear window on the drivers side.

The cynic in me thought that people are under the impression that when the TMU officer walks up the side of the car they may be lenient on seeing it. This was proved later when I saw a vandriver had it on the driver side center column as well (just in case the officer missed the back window one:rolleyes:).

As TMU dont even let other coppers of with speeding I dont see the piont.

However its a good money maker on the idea...