Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last minute working holiday in Spain!

• 09-06-2010 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

Hey there :)

Me and a friend have randomly come up with the idea to spend our summer on a working holiday in Spain!

Where would you recommend to be the best place to go which also has a good nightlife? All suggestions would be appreciated even in other countries!! We were thinking of going to Tenerife. Anybody got any experiences of there?

We're students so the cheapest possible ways about it is what we are looking for. We were hoping to have a job and accommodation organised before going over and have also seen that a lot of places provide the acc for free... any suggestions as to how to secure a job like this??!!!

Also, any other places apart from the net where we could get info?

Thanks in advance :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭claire2010

hey!!

Myself and two friends are thinking of heading for a few weeks. We just decided today so we havent a clue either. Hoping to work somewhere for a few weeks and have abit of craic. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Handy tip: please get jobs sorted BEFORE you go. I know its the tourist season but unemployment in Spain is through the roof, so many people travel from the interior of the country to the resorts for work.

Last thing you want is to turn up and spend two weeks looking for a job and getting nowhere.

Also, keep a close eye on your belongings and make sure you know where everything is. Pickpockets are rife over there and sometimes even the people in your hostel will take your stuff.

Other than that yous should be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Hey Karen,

I grew up in Spain and my mother just moved back there a few months ago. Work is almost impossible and my friends have been talking about the menos de mil club, basically means the clubs of people who early less than €1000 euros a month. Spain has been in a kind of recession for a few years before the bank crisis hit and now its much much worse. If you can get yourself a job before you get there by all means go, other wise I would not recommend it at all. I love Spain, tbh even though I am Irish through and through I still consider myself part Spanish, and I would move back there in a heart beat if I thought my circumstances would be better there but they would not.

Madrid is a great city and the night life is amazing. You will find all kinds of people there and the Spanish people are some of the nicest and most welcoming people in Europe, especially down the country (much like Ireland really). There are some other places like Barcelona and Sevilla that are also good but it depends on what your looking for as Spain is a hugh country and some places are for one type and some for another type of person.
    However, the heat in the summer is horrific and it becomes a ghost town, literately. The one summer I was there as a kid it hit as much as 45oC in the shade. Any place on the coast would be better in the summer tbh, or higher up in the mountains.

As for where else you can go I dont really know tbh. My advice is look for jobs and then move to where you find one. And look into eastern Europe, its an amazing place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

Bit late now going to Spain looking for jobs to be honest, It was hard enough before the recession finding them. 7 years ago since I worked there and I remember being there at the start of May but there was feck all going-worked my ass off to get one!

It's a case of walking into the same bars every day over and over for sometimes weeks on end till you get lucky....but remember there'll be even more people with the same idea as yourselves this year with Irish unemployment so high.