Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insane Driving - Dublin Style..

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Looks like he was fairly horsing it alright, and with the build up of cars stopped at the lights it looked like a big enough blind spot as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

What happened? :confused:

Oh, i see it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

that was so quick i missed it 1st time ,are you sure that wasnt superman
    that was crazy imagine the disater if he hit a car turning :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

had to watch it a couple of times..... jaysus ...he was pushing it alright .... was there any blue lights ? or just an idiot.

if I did that the paint and bits of the car would be falling off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Whoooaaa..!!
    I had to watch that twice..
    That car was shifting there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Helium

Jaysus! that's scary alright, so many what if's.
    Saw something like that few years ago on long mile road at ep mooney junction except was someone on a motorbike, was easily doing over 100mph going through a red light with gardai a distance behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Fúc that could have been very messy.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

podgee wrote: »
    Saw this lunatic yesterday...clearly had a death wish..

Even if that was a Garda it was reckless, what kinda camera is that you have there, thinking of putting something on the dash but would prefer something discreet.
    Actually if I could get a system that I could put in the boot I'd have a number of cameras, 1 fwd, 1 rear and maybe two looking back via the side mirrors, where'd you get yours? is it just a standard camera? how do you get the speed info up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

I thought that you were having a go at the guy in the 5 series that jumped slightly when he saw the green lights!! But on the 4th time watching....HOLY FÚCK!

Gotta be a robbed car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

was anyone else waiting for a car to come down the right turning lane and jump back in the mainline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

was anyone else waiting for a car to come down the right turning lane and jump back in the mainline?
    Yep :)

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

He's not going to last very long driving like that! I just hope he doesn't hurt anyone else. Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭podgee

I couldn't honestly believe it. At a guess he was doing maybe 80mph, maybe less / more - impossible to gauge when you're stopped. I heard him before I saw him and the engine note didn't drop at all - he just had it floored and kept it there.

It happened so fast (I didn't even fully catch the colour) it was hard to see what it was - looked like a dark green/blue tarted up Lancer with a whopping big spoiler (i.e. coffee table) on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Saw this lunatic yesterday...clearly had a death wish..

Whoooo, I didn't even see him the first 2 times. Natural selection will deal with him eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Jesus, that went by so quickly I had to watch the clip three times to spot it....

PS. OP, what did you use to record this clip?? It looks like a pretty cool system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

celticbest wrote: »
    PS. OP, what did you use to record this clip?? It looks like a pretty cool system.

Yes please tell us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Its a pity you don't have CSI Miami/NY etc etc's system of pausing and zooming in and getting a perfect reg number to hand to the guards!

What a tool....even if it was a squad car.

Merch wrote: »
    Even if that was a Garda it was reckless, what kinda camera is that you have there, thinking of putting something on the dash but would prefer something discreet.
    Actually if I could get a system that I could put in the boot I'd have a number of cameras, 1 fwd, 1 rear and maybe two looking back via the side mirrors, where'd you get yours? is it just a standard camera? how do you get the speed info up there?
    celticbest wrote: »

I picked up a couple of cameras a while back in Korea and have been trying them both out since - I was toying with the idea of selling them over here, just haven't gotten around to it. They both record onto SD cards which is good for a few days driving. One of the cameras records sound and the interior of the car - when your man went through the lights yesterday on the interior cam, all you can see is the big thick head on me and commenting "Holy F**k!"

Possibly a stolen car :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

vectra wrote: »
    Possibly Probably a stolen car :(

Not even an under cover Garda would be such a moron*, I'd say very likely stolen. there's no way anyone would drive like that otherwise

*thats not meant to sound disrespectful in any way to the Gardai, they would of course at least slow to guage the situation and allow people time to react and get out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Not even an under cover Garda would be such a moron*, I'd say very likely stolen. there's no way anyone would drive like that otherwise

*thats not meant to sound disrespectful in any way to the Gardai, they would of course at least slow to guage the situation and allow people time to react and get out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Jesus what a moron, zero consideration for other peoples lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

or a Toyota with a jammed accelerator.

Scary vid, OP. Scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

My God. Took 3 times to watch. But that was scary stuff when I actually saw what happened.
    Defo stolen car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭kwinabeeste

doubt it was cops - looks like to be headin along stillorgan dual carraige way into town and not far from fosters avenue where 2 cops were killed bout 8/9 years ago. surely they would not speed round there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Hehe, I thought the arrow was indicating the direction of travel from the right hand side....

That guy will end up in a fatal crash before too long.... dont suppose there is a CCTV covering that junction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭RobertM

What was he thinking ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Stop and think - have a look at this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I only saw it after the fourth time! I though you were talking about the guy who seemed to creep forward in the silver car! Absolutely crazy, had to have been stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭JayMul

Bollox, I was skitching (holding on) on the back of a truck down High street around the four courts when a plain clothes Garda started beeping behind me to dismount and pull over on Inns quay, I weaved through the parked traffic in front of the lights cars and made for the bridge at Chancery place. Mad bastard mounted the pavement on the left outside the four courts at speed & cut across the cars parked at the lights and pulled a handbraker up on to the corner of Chancery bridge blocking my path :eek: Starsky and Hutch would have been proud!

Anyway I dismounted and explained how I thought he was a crazed taxi driver, which was partially true I wasn't really sure and he gave me a verbal warning for holding on to a moving vehicle while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

What about a bus or taxi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Stop and think - have a look at this:

That bus at 0.42 ... some driving!
    still an idiot for not seeing the red light though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    No buses from that right hand side junction and sure they is never a taxi around when you need one :D
    Sorry I thought the 17 or 45 turned there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Lunatic alright, lucky there wasn't a massive accident.

On a side note, why do you drive around recording videos of traffic?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

flanzer wrote: »
    I thought that you were having a go at the guy in the 5 series that jumped slightly when he saw the green lights!! But on the 4th time watching....HOLY FÚCK!

Gotta be a robbed car

Watch it about 6 times to see what happened, ****en hell

On a side note, why do you drive around recording videos of traffic?

Fair question. Its on a constant loop recording just in case I'm in an accident or some such like. Rather than getting into a 'she said/he said' situation with Gardai / Insurance / Third Parties, I have a video record of what exactly happened / when / how etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

I had to watch it twice, I was expecting the BMW to floor it.
    Madness!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Took me the second go to see him. Bloody hell, he was flying :eek:.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    No buses from that right hand side junction and sure they is never a taxi around when you need one :D

Pedestrians maybe?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

took me a good few times to see that!

pure luck! Thought he wount be so lucky next time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

inforfun wrote: »
    That bus at 0.42 ... some driving!
    still an idiot for not seeing the red light though.

lol loved the fella at 2:50! :D

he was like: " damn! meh..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Fair question. Its on a constant loop recording just in case I'm in an accident or some such like. Rather than getting into a 'she said/he said' situation with Gardai / Insurance / Third Parties, I have a video record of what exactly happened / when / how etc..

Thats some video podgee. Its actually compulsory by insurance companies in other countries to have these cameras installed. Hope you start selling them ill take one of ya;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

ssssshhhhhhhhheeeeeeeettttt...some people don't deserve the privilage to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

SARASON wrote: »
    Thats some video podgee. Its actually compulsory by insurance companies in other countries to have these cameras installed. Hope you start selling them ill take one of ya;)

Which countries? out of curiosity. Might make people more aware and conscious of their driving if they are watching themselves!
    Something I'm considering and definitely if I ever move up to something new or newer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Jebus! What a moron.

Camera looks pretty good, great in the case of an accident.
    I picked up a keyfob camera for a tenner on ebay recently, quality is really good but obviously the looped recording dash mount would be much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

Would love to get my hands on a camera like that!!

Merch wrote: »
    Which countries? out of curiosity. Might make people more aware and conscious of their driving if they are watching themselves!
    Something I'm considering and definitely if I ever move up to something new or newer.

AFAIK Cameras (recording interior + voice and exterior) are compulsory in taxis in some states in America as well as some Asian countries - not a bad idea really if it affords protection to the drivers or even the passengers......