Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Domestic Violence, drugs, alcohol and kids

• 08-06-2010 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I havent a clue where to start looking for help:

I know a couple where the husband is violent on a regular basis with his wife, and with items in their house ie windows etc, and he also has a problem with alcohol and smoking pot. There are rows in their house that can be heard by all their neighbours a few nights every week.

Their neighbours are afraid of him because he has such a violent temper and even though it is obvious to all that he is in need of some serious help (either Gardai or Psychiatric help), neither his family or his wife are willing to deal with him, or charge him with assault.

My fear is for their kids, they have young kids and are living in this dangerous environment every day.

If I call social services and inform on them then my name will be given and HE could lose his temper with me or my family. Same with the Gardai, as far as I know they are obliged to let him know who informed on him.

Is there anything I can do before they become another statistic of a man killing his wife and kids and then himself in a violent outburst??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭cutymonalisa

Contact the Duty Social Worker at your local Health Centre. All referrals must be assessed by the HSE, regardless if made in good faith or indeed false. You will be asked to give your name. You can refuse to do so - this does not negate the responsibility on the HSE to follow up with the family. Even if you do give your name, it can be kept confidential (unless the parents decide to get a discovery order via the court - this never happens). There is also the Protection of Persons Reporting Child Abuse Act '98 which protects those reporting concerns regarding a child if made in good faith.

It is such a pity that, as a neighbour, you are in this position. These children undoubtedly have an extended family that are likely to be aware of what is going on, teachers who see them every day, GP, Public Health Nurse etc.... Child Protection is everybody's business. All the best OP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for the reply.

I think some of the family have tried to help the wife, but she denies arguments, the usual 'walked into wall', even though they know for a fact she is lying, and she wont leave him.
    I think they too are 'afraid' of retaliations on the part of the husband if they report him.

I will try what you mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

Child Protection is everybody's business.

This is brilliant and SOOOOO true. I wish more people believed this.

Fair play to you OP,its hard to make a stand against the bullies (and thats all this man is) and to take the kids welfare at heart, it can be very difficult for family members to do this as they know by reporting him they are isolating themselves from the wife. So sometimes its takes the little bit of distance of a neighbour or professional to make the stand.