Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attire for McCloskey fight

• 08-06-2010 5:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭

Friday will the first time that I will go up North for a boxing fight. I usually wear either my Limerick GAA jersey or my Republic of Ireland soccer jersey to fights. I know it might sound stupid but is it ok to wear these strips up North:confused: especially as the King's hall has always been neutral ground neither Nationalist or Unionist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Not sure as I haven't been to a fight up North yet(I was planning to go to this if it was on the 4th, but can't go on the 11th), which I shall rectify soon but I reckon you'd be best off leaving the jerseys at home and just going in a shirt or t-shirt.

Even if you wouldn't get any hassle, boxing is a uniting force on this island free from the divisive nature of many sports(which includes soccer and GAA). Out of respect I feel it'd be best to wear something neutral and free of any partionist or nationalist/unionist ties.

A Carl Frampton 'The Jackal' hoody may be just the type of thing to wear and would save you from this problem in the future :p, I'd recommend going to the Carl Frampton thread so you can resolve this issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Spats.

Spats are a must!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Spats.

Spats are a must!
    Don't get you Vintage? Any you talking Sligoese again?

Spats ma boys, spats! I say spats! Ya dig?

Spats.jpg

Spats ma boys, spats! I say spats! Ya dig?

Spats.jpg
    Jaysus I'll defo get the sh**e kicked out of me for wear that:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

My advice is to leave any type of jersey off. There will always be some morons/scumbags out to cause trouble. Jeez, wearing jerseys to work can be dangerous enough, nevermind bloody Belfast surrounded by many drunks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Go naked. That's how all the Nordies do it up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭megadodge

I'd advise against it.

I went to Belfast for the full week of the 2001 World Ams. On the first day (a Sunday) I first went to Tuam to watch Roscommon put on a stunning display to beat Galway in the first round of the Connacht championship. I was wearing my Ros jersey. I went straight to Belfast after.

Having never been in Belfast before I needed directions to the hostel I had booked. On the near deserted streets (after 6 the city centre is empty) I asked three lads who told me where to head. But just before I headed off one of them warned me to get rid of the jersey for safety sake and told me not to wear it again for obvious reasons. So...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

grol
    Friday will the first time that I will go up North for a boxing fight. I usually wear either my Limerick GAA jersey or my Republic of Ireland soccer jersey to fights. I know it might sound stupid but is it ok to wear these strips up North:confused: especially as the King's hall has always been neutral ground neither Nationalist or Unionist.

Belfast is a great city but like most cities has a few morons in it, so leave your Limerick or Ireland tops at home. All it would take is one idiot with a few mates to act all offended and you could end up in a world of trouble.

Better to have a great night than to invite trouble with your tops from some knucklehead. Was working on Queen street for a few months, and soon discovered that being blessed with an accent that is a mix of scouse and Irish was enough to give idiots on both sides an excuse to try and get a rise.

You would have thought that they would have stayed away from a Liverpool/Limerick mongrel like myself :)

2qbvigz.jpg

Went in neutral Black, here's me with my fellow style guru from Limerick Willie "Big Bang" Casey. Willie seems like a sound man. I told him that I hoped to see him headline the O2 some day. Willie replied " Thomond Park lad, thomond park!!!!!"

good to see Willie wore his school uniform! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 T Harps

A sight for sore eyes the pair of ye.....how did yis get on back at the after show party.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pishogue

Only wear a GAA jersey if you know exactly where you are going....why take a chance of provoking someone, would be my take.
    McCloskey is the best Irish boxer I've seen in recent years.....can't figure out why he hasn't mixed it in higher company by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Pishogue wrote: »
    McCloskey is the best Irish boxer I've seen in recent years.....can't figure out why he hasn't mixed it in higher company by now.

Agreed. Would love to see him against Khan. He'd have the beating of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 T Harps

jaysus wille has one of them faces only a fist would love.