Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to bring to the exams?

• 08-06-2010 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

could someone just put together a list of things to bring so i can make sure im not missing anything?:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Pens, lots of them. Make sure they work!
    Pencil & Rubber
    Ruler
    Maths Set
    Calculator
    Bottle of water
    A watch (I recommend anyway)
    Your examination number

and yourself! :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

To add to DKZ list, colouring pencils and tissues!

And tbh bring all these to each exam coz ya never know what you'll need them for!

EDIT: And no harm in bringing a watch either tbh
    And ermm my mam just got me a mini good luck teddy, im contemplating bringing him in..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

deise_girl wrote: »
    To add to DKZ list, colouring pencils and tissues!

And tbh bring all these to each exam coz ya never know what you'll need them for!

Forgot about that! The sound of everyone sniffing during an exam does my head in! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 meagher43

but make sure not to drink to much water that your constantly going to the toliet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

DKZ wrote: »
    Forgot about that! The sound of everyone sniffing during an exam does my head in! :D
    Colds always kick in around exams it's probably something to do with sitting in damp PE halls and what not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

My sister told me that a teacher said to her that we weren't allowed bring in pencil cases and we had to put our stuff in clear plastic pockets.

First I've heard of this; seems a tad unnecessary and I don't remember anyone ever mentioning it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Bring in a highlighter for the key words in questions etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Adzee

M&S* wrote: »
    Colds always kick in around exams it's probably something to do with sitting in damp PE halls and what not!

We are in a room ( each class is ) on our own

Also , we are not allowed bring in our bags or phones :mad: my phone is my watch !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Blue_Seas wrote: »
    My sister told me that a teacher said to her that we weren't allowed bring in pencil cases and we had to put our stuff in clear plastic pockets.

First I've heard of this; seems a tad unnecessary and I don't remember anyone ever mentioning it.

Depends on the superintendent really- I brought my pencil case into the junior cert with no problems and I intend doing the same in the leaving cert tommorow! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

i got a clear pencil case just incase we have a bad superintendent em is it ok i i have a wristband watch on?
    And good luck neon with the LC tommorow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭tiernanmul_gos

a big bag of wine gums would be handy

I iz bringing Brian my good luck bear, if they tell me to put him away, I'll put him away but I think he wants to try be part of it all :)
    2z7o55t.jpg

Do we really need to bring in clear pencil cases? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Depends on the superintendant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

I'm not sure about the plastic wallet, but after my brother's Leaving he has all his colours, maths set and calculator in a wallet. Wondered why, so that might be it but we were never told.
    I mean someone could have stuff wrote on their pencil case in code form :p

I iz bringing Brian my good luck bear, if they tell me to put him away, I'll put him away but I think he wants to try be part of it all :)
    2z7o55t.jpg

aww cute bear in that case im bringing charlie preview_black_and_white_cheeky_dog.jpg
    hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 xCianx

Are you allowed to bring your bag into the exam hall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Kyromancer

xCianx wrote: »
    Are you allowed to bring your bag into the exam hall?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 mag_red286

haha i waz tinkin dat if ya rly needed ta hide notes sum where we were tinkin in ur bra or socks 4 lads nd den ya can go 2 da toilet have a luck at your notes nd den go bac in 2 ur exam but dont fold peices of paper cuz a superintndent or teacher will defo cum 2 da toilet wit ya nd den dey'd hear it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

mag_red286 wrote: »
    haha i waz tinkin dat if ya rly needed ta hide notes sum where we were tinkin in ur bra or socks 4 lads nd den ya can go 2 da toilet have a luck at your notes nd den go bac in 2 ur exam but dont fold peices of paper cuz a superintndent or teacher will defo cum 2 da toilet wit ya nd den dey'd hear it!!!

English please......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I'm not sure about the plastic wallet, but after my brother's Leaving he has all his colours, maths set and calculator in a wallet. Wondered why, so that might be it but we were never told.
    I mean someone could have stuff wrote on their pencil case in code form :p

If you were Arabian or something, it would be a total advantage.
    Write everything in Arabic on your pencil case and pretend its scribbles.

Success! \o/

Oh wait...
    But if ye have any spare time on yer hands, shur give it a try ;)

arabic.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

2z7o55t.jpg

Nice bear :) mine is here http://twitpic.com/1v2leo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

rosary beads!! v. important....

N'awwww yee're bears are really cute! :)
    I've 2 others but theyre too big for the exam :/ Ones Called Colbie Mullane the other has loads of names....

Anyway this is gone really OT :L
    Just bring pencil, rubber, pens tipex, highlighter, ruler, maths set, calculator, colouring pencils, tissues, some water, a watch and a good luck teddy!! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Anyway this is gone really OT :L
    Just bring ... tipex,...

Nay, nay and thrice NAY!!!
    Don't let tippex anywhere near an exam script. If you make a mistake, put a line through it and work on further down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

I will be bringing the following to every exam:

Water
    Lucozade
    Tissues
    Pens
    Pencils
    Pencil sharpener
    Rubber
    Ruler
    Notes for before exams
    Watch

For these subjects I will also bring extra things:

Geography: Calculator 1, Colouring Pencils
    Maths: Compass, Protractor, Calculator 1, Calculator 2, Colouring Pencils (for volume diagrams & theorems)
    CSPE: Colouring Pencils
    Business: Calculator 1, Calculator 2, Colouring Pencils
    Science: Calculator 1, Calculator 2, Colouring Pencils

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Ally7

mag_red286 wrote: »
    Haha, I was thinking that. If you really needed to hide notes somewhere we were thinking in your bra or socks for lads and then you can go to the toilet, have a look at your notes and then go back in to your exam but don't fold pieces of paper because a superintendent or teacher will definitely come to the toilet with you and then they'd hear it!!!

edited, just for the craic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Gentlemanne

whats a parer? And I though it was funny that you have two calculators. It would be really really horrible if you lost a calculator before a JC exam but you seem to be covered haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

whats a parer? And I though it was funny that you have two calculators. It would be really really horrible if you lost a calculator before a JC exam but you seem to be covered haha

Wrong spelling, I think. A pencil sharpener.

Is it true that examiners scrape off the tippex? me and me friend had a huge joke about it in science xD

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Tommyrawr wrote: »
    Is it true that examiners scrape off the tippex? me and me friend had a huge joke about it in science xD

No, it just stops you getting marks for the possibly correct answer you obliterated.

It also sticks pages together and in a good 30% of cases, the candidate forgets to write over it once it has dried.

If you make a mistake, just put a line through it and work on.