Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a car from the side of the road

• 06-06-2010 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

there are quite a few cars being advertised locally..(parked on a roundabout)... we viewed one today and seller seems genuine enough..just wondering if anyone has any advice other than the obvious (not to hand over any money till fully checked!)

any stories/?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

just wondering if anyone has any advice

Yes. Don't buy a car that's been parked on a roundabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 newdogowner

can u offer some reasons why please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

If the car develops a problem and you feel hard done by, say for example all the wheels fall off a day later or more likely, you realise it has been in a crash and poorly repaired - what are you going to do? Bring it back to the roundabout? Call the gardaí and say, "I bought it off the guy that illegally sells cars on the roundabout"??

All car sales men are 'genuine guys', they wouldnt be in car sales for very long if they couldnt trick people into thinking this. However the real 'genuine guys' run out of a registered business address and generally have forecourts and showrooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭500sel

+ roadside trading is illegal (fact)
    The black economy seems all well and screw the tax man (& and ivor callely)
    But who do you think is going to get this country off its knees only the TAX payer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Here lads
    its the same thing as buying one on donedeal.
    Private Seller
    Private buyer
    There is no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

vectra wrote: »
    Here lads
    Private Seller
    Private buyer
    There is no difference.

Other than BUYER BEWARE. Ensure the paperwork is correct and pay by cashier cheque. Never carry cash.

I sold my car on the side of the road, illegal or not. Screw that, I was sick of paying money to papers, magazines and internet sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

I agree with all the replys op. I purchased a car which i thought was ligit and i broke down 1 week later with a 2k bill to repair. We found out later the car was clocked also but with the thanks of the posters here we got our money back. Lesson learned. Buy a car private if you or your relation/buddy knows the previous owner/history of the car. Buying willy nilly and your asking for trouble;).

Berty wrote: »
    Other than BUYER BEWARE. Ensure the paperwork is correct and pay by cashier cheque. Never carry cash.

I sold my car on the side of the road, illegal or not. Screw that, I was sick of paying money to papers, magazines and internet sites.

Yes but your are one of the genuine people doing this. What about all the con men going around selling duds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

freighter wrote: »
    Yes but your are one of the genuine people doing this. What about all the con men going around selling duds.

Some of them can wear suits and work in low rent dealerships as well with the SIMI flag flying and some of those "garages" do not give warranties either so its up to the buyer to ensure the validity of the product.

Get it checked by somebody qualified. If in doubt, walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

freighter wrote: »
    There are pleanty of con men advertising on carzone with lemon motors!

And about buying privately being dodgy, what a load of crap. I on my fourth car now, My first and second cars I bought from dealers, both had majot problems within the first week, the first car was bought second hand from a main Subaru dealer who stood over it and fixed it, the second wouldnt.

I bought my third and fourth cars privately from people I never met and I havent had any trouble from them! I find it easier to judge a joe soaps honesty than judging a car salesman

Some of them can wear suits and work in low rent dealerships as well with the SIMI flag flying and some of those "garages" do not give warranties either so its up to the buyer to ensure the validity of the product.

+1 Got caught this way so i cant stress the fact of going to a reputable dealer and getting a warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

there must be more than one car of this type for sale in ireland?

if the exact same model in a dealer is a few hundred more it may be worth the risk, but the savings you make could go on repair bills,

i dont think i would trust a dealer who has cars for sale at a roundabout,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

ring the number on the car and enquire about the car the vendor has for sale without being specific if he asks which one you know he is a part time deaer flogging cars privatly with out warranty . all ways get a car checked over by someone competant . even if you have to pay somebody to check it out it could save you from buying a dud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Tails142 wrote: »
    If the car develops a problem and you feel hard done by, say for example all the wheels fall off a day later or more likely, you realise it has been in a crash and poorly repaired - what are you going to do? Bring it back to the roundabout? Call the gardaí and say, "I bought it off the guy that illegally sells cars on the roundabout"??

All car sales men are 'genuine guys', they wouldnt be in car sales for very long if they couldnt trick people into thinking this. However the real 'genuine guys' run out of a registered business address and generally have forecourts and showrooms.

You could buy a car from a garage with a three or six month warranty and it could break down after the warranty has expired. Or you could save yourself a few grand up front by buying privately and have the extra money available for repairs well beyond any warranty period. If the price is right.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

My advice would be to either buy from a "legitimate" dealer, or buy from a "legitimate" private seller.
    I'd never buy from someone selling multiple cars privately, if they're a professional seller of cars then you have certain rights as a consumer that protect you.

What kind of warranty/back up are you being offered with these cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Just curious here, what exactly is illegal re selling at the side of the road? I've a van for sale and it's not a very popular type so I was thinking of parking it at a side road which is clearly visible at a nearby roundabout with a big FOR SALE sign and my number on it :o I would of course do the deal at my teach if I found a seller, unless they were happy to take it there and then at the side of the road. Is this illegal?

There is the part worth any money..
    I assume anyone would do the same if they were buying S/H from a garage
    only makes sense to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

can u offer some reasons why please?

It could be a ringer.
    It could be two halves of 2 crashed cars welded together.
    It could be clocked.
    It could have any number of mechanical faults.

All of the above 'could' happen at a private dealership or private seller, but when you buy from a guy on a roundabout its not exactly his permanent address of business.

Either a sale happens at the owners house or the office of the dealership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭500sel

cormie wrote: »
    Just curious here, what exactly is illegal re selling at the side of the road? I've a van for sale and it's not a very popular type so I was thinking of parking it at a side road which is clearly visible at a nearby roundabout with a big FOR SALE sign and my number on it :o I would of course do the deal at my teach if I found a seller, unless they were happy to take it there and then at the side of the road. Is this illegal?
    the co.co. may have it towed and impounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I thought they only do that if it's got no reg plates? :)

Sure what's wrong with it just being there on a normal road where anyone can usually park? Is it the For Sale sign that makes it somehow against the law?

It could be a ringer.
    It could be two halves of 2 crashed cars welded together.
    It could be clocked.
    It could have any number of mechanical faults.

All of the above 'could' happen at a private dealership or private seller, but when you buy from a guy on a roundabout its not exactly his permanent address of business.

Either a sale happens at the owners house or the office of the dealership.

You forgot to mention that it "COULD" be perfectly good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

You forgot to mention that it "COULD" be perfectly good
    wondering if anyone has any advice other than the obvious (not to hand over any money till fully checked!)

He asked why not to, not why he should.

Yes,
    And the answer has been pointed out earlier
    "Not to part with money until getting the car checked out" as I would assume the OP would do even if they were to buy from a garage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 newdogowner

its great to generate some debate about this so many thanks for all ur contributions..
    the test drive went well..smooth car...NCT till nov of next year and man can no longer keep guy after losing his job...
    im no sucker so i would never part with cash until i had it checked and for the record, there are cars being parked on the side of the road in our area ALL the time..it appears to be a great way of advertising without having to pay a paper....

hmmmmm:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭WheresMyCamera?

Here lads
    Private Seller
    Private buyer
    There is no difference.

Vectra hit the nail on the head. In most cases in my experience it's simply just a private seller so all the normal buyer beware conditions apply.

My da has bought and sold cars like this for years, rarely having a problem. That's simply done with a bit of common sense. Lke all cars, have it checked over by a professional unless you happen to know enough about that particular car yourself. Well enough to make an informed call on it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

500sel wrote: »
    the co.co. may have it towed and impounded.

Illegal in Cork and Wexford anyway. Seeing them start to creep back in Cork, though. Usual initial rush followed by the predictable apathy......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Here lads
    Private Seller
    Private buyer
    There is no difference.
    There's a world of a difference IMO. When you buy privately you get to meet the car's owner, which can often tell you at least as much as a detailed mechanical inspection.