Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disabled parking bay selfishness.

• 06-06-2010 2:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

Finally a happy ending re selfish cnuts parking in disabled bays.

Location leixlip outside xtravision. Car park has 50 spaces+. All are within 50 foot of the shops.

A Woman parked between two disabled bays in the yellow box blocking both bays. I watched as she parked and went over and informed her that she was blocking both DISABLED bays and should move. She replied I am only goin to be here for a second and disappeared off. I walked into the shop beside her and a Garda serg was walking out.

I informed the Garda and walked him to her car.

2 mins later woman returned. Garda took out his notebook started writing busily, woman had to show documents, the serg told her she was being charged, and gave her a long lecture about her blocking both bays.

I am disabled, Is this what it takes to educate those lazy selfish twats about parking. Please go up to people and inform them what they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

do you reckon the Garda would have done anything about it uless pointed out though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭gigabit

do you reckon the Garda would have done anything about it uless pointed out though?

Of course not.

I was just so happy finally to meet a garda exactly when I needed one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

gigabit wrote: »
    Of course not.

I was just so happy finally to meet a garda exactly when I needed one.

Fair play to ya. I admire someone like that;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

oh gigabit im so proud of you ,well done. but if anyone else did what you did to tell the wan her wrongs she would tell them to F ''off. even if have to walk from one end of a carpark to shop i wouldnt park in a disabled spot,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭gigabit

cats.life wrote: »
    oh gigabit im so proud of you ,well done. but if anyone else did what you did to tell the wan her wrongs she would tell them to F ''off. even if have to walk from one end of a carpark to shop i wouldnt park in a disabled spot,

As I said I am disabled, but I can walk so I do not use disabled bays. I think other disabled people can use them more than I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,802 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

There is a sign up in the tesco near me here when i'm in the Uk, it is about customer complaint type questions....

One was about able bodied people parking in disabled bays, to which the answer was along the lines of it not being against any laws, tesco having no right to fine or clamp vehicles but that they were working on the issue of making people more aware....

now why would you go inform people there is no penalty but a slap on the wrist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

I can guarantee you....whatever about turning a "blind eye" to anything else.....disabled bays are a pet hate of almost all Gardaí i know.

In fact I no longer give tickets.....I just tow the vehicle and proceed by summons. Forget tickets.....some judges in the circuit court are giving month driving bans for this.....only too right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Pin_Cushion

gigabit wrote: »
    As I said I am disabled, but I can walk so I do not use disabled bays. I think other disabled people can use them more than I can.

I'm in the same situation, I have the disc but I don't use it because I am well able to walk and would hate to think someone who actually needs it will come along and not be able to use the space. This makes it ten times worse to see someone fully able-bodied plonking their car in it when they're "just running in" somewhere. They should have their licenses revoked for this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I can guarantee you....whatever about turning a "blind eye" to anything else.....disabled bays are a pet hate of almost all Gardaí i know.

In fact I no longer give tickets.....I just tow the vehicle and proceed by summons. Forget tickets.....some judges in the circuit court are giving month driving bans for this.....only too right.

If only this happened more often, there should be CCTV on disabled spaces and as soon as any car parks there a traffic warden should be dispatched to check if they're entitled to park there.
    If they find it's some fat f*ck who just f*cked off to the shop because he fancied a choc ice it should be towed, driver summonsed to court, points, licence suspended, couple of hundred euro fine and have him run to every authority in the country for months to get his licence back.
    It's sad to say, but I think that is the only way these selfish bastards will ever learn, they're only doing it because they know that people will look, point and tut, but beyond that nothing will happen to them, they can just do whatever the f*ck they want and be on their merry way.
    Similar things should apply to parking in buslanes, taxi ranks (though I'm not mad about taxis), loading bays, yellow boxes, pedestrian crossings, etc...
    If people knew that if they behaved that way they'd be tied up in red tape for months and have to pay hundreds in fines they'd think twice.
    It's selfish, arrogant, f*ck you attitude, i don't care, sure I'll only be a minute, couldn't be arsed, lazy, ignorant and rude. There should be zero tolerance towards this sort of thing (down with it!)
    But it seems that many traffic wardens are actually reluctant to issue tickets in this case because they know that any person so ignorant and arrogant is likely to become abusive and violent when confronted. That's why we need to hire bigger traffic wardens and give them martial arts training, a tazer, teargas and handcuffs.
    Because if some cnut who parks in a disabled spot now becomes violent, he's going to have a few teeth loosened on top of all the other misery.
    Should that ever happen it would make me truly happy, because ignorant and rude parking is an absolute pet hate of mine and there's certainly plenty of it about and sadly it has to be said you wouldn't see it anywhere else in Europe with the exception of Spain and Italy maybe, but nowhere near as bad.
    Only the Irish can say "Fcuk you and the horse you rode in on" simply by parking a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

If only this happened more often, there should be CCTV on disabled spaces and as soon as any car parks there a traffic warden should be dispatched to check if they're entitled to park there.

don't need all that. Just CCTV that covers the windscreen and reg. No blue disabled badge visible, fine automatically issued.
    the camera would probably pay for them selves on the first day in most places :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

fair play to you gigabit. its a serious pet hate of mine. sometimes i want to just park my car in front of them and block them in but i dont in case the person just forgot the disc and is actually disabled and also i dont want to block them so they cant get out which means the spot is taken for longer which aint good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Excellent thats good to hear.

And jsut to add to that....its one of the few things I will go out of my way to intervene in when off duty.....many a driver I waited for to come back.....much to their annoyance!!!

I dont think anyone here will disagree with you O/P.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Fair play gigabit! Have often seen wimmin in their SUV's park there (and also on the yellow box next to the shop).

I wonder what would happen if the disabled person with a disabled sticker blocked the SoB into the parking space, and then went into the hairdressers for two hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

And jsut to add to that....its one of the few things I will go out of my way to intervene in when off duty.....may a driver I waited for to come back.....much to their annoyance!!!

bet you dont get told to F''' off, thats why i dont go up to them when im out and about at dunns in galway briarhill,its unreal how many does it ..my hubbie said to a guy who was parked at one to move his car ,''do you see the wheelchair sign ' the bloke said feck of and hubbie tok his fone out to take foto, bloke said what are you doing, hubbie said im sending it to my brother who is on duty , the bloke got worried and went away. sweet. hubbie was delivering for supervalu at the time at 7am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Since moving over to Ireland, I've seen this kind of ignorance tooooo many times to mention.

In London, if you're caught parking in the disabled spaces without a blue badge, then you get a ticket. Pure and simple.

Tickets are often issued at supermarket car parks - AND the fine tends to be bigger than the normal TW tickets too!! You can also be ticketed for parking across bays or parking in parent & child spaces.

I don't know why the same thing cannot be done here. It would soon concentrate people's minds if they had to part with shekels every time they parked illegally/lazily...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Great post from the OP. Annoys me to see fcukers take up a space and then run into a shop.

What's the story about the quantity of disabled spaces outside shops? Is it based on number of shop units or footfall?

I think those new Tesco superstores seem to have about 15 :confused:

Confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,401 ✭✭✭✭unkel

its one of the few things I will go out of my way to intervene in when off duty.....many a driver I waited for to come back.....much to their annoyance!!!

Fair play to ya :)

Dunno. There seem to be many lazy and poorly brought up people about in this forum who don't seem to care about anyone else but themselves

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Usually they have 5 or so, and 10 or so "mother and child" spaces. Or course, most of these women often get the "mother and child" spaces mixed up with the "disabled" spaces... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

This is my number one pet hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Great post from the OP. Annoys me to see fcukers take up a space and then run into a shop.

What's the story about the quantity of disabled spaces outside shops? Is it based on number of shop units or footfall?

Confused.

I'd imagine it's a percentage of the total spaces.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Sorry for bring up this old thread but this guy got me today out side B&Q Airside in his 05 D porsche with no badge in the window he jumps out and heads off to do his shopping I waited 20 min's from him to come and had a go at him for parking there but his disability must have been deafness as he blanked me and quickly got into his car and drove off. I don't begrudge people having nice cars I love nice cars but when people think that they have superpowers to go with their super cars that's gets my goat.:mad:

2012-05-06122720.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The Mill centre in Clondalkin seems to have a disproportionately large amount of disabled customers, many of whom, from about 20 feet away, dont seem to have disabled badges. Many of them also drive vans.

I'd be over there 4 or 5 times a week and the spaces are usually all either full or moslty full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

fergal.b wrote: »
    Sorry for bring up this old thread but this guy got me today out side B&Q Airside in his 05 D porsche with no badge in the window he jumps out and heads off to do his shopping I waited 20 min's from him to come and had a go at him for parking there but his disability must have been deafness as he blanked me and quickly got into his car and drove off. I don't begrudge people having nice cars I love nice cars but when people think that they have superpowers to go with their super cars that's gets my goat.:mad:

2012-05-06122720.jpg

Ah don't be so hard On the poor fellow, he's clearly on a transplant list awaiting a compassion donor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Reminds me of the obnoxious parking thread. :( EPM took it away from us forever! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

MugMugs wrote: »
    Reminds me of the obnoxious parking thread. :( EPM took it away from us forever! :(

Me too