Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this normal?

• 06-06-2010 2:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭

just noticed the receipt from earlier today, bought a smithwicks shandy, 55% smithwicks, 40% red lemonade, 5% fiz.

the receipt has 1 pint of smithwicks, total 4.50

surely they cant be doin that? theres no government duty on red lemonade as far as I know. the 'Celtic Tiger' is gone yet the bull****t charging seems to have remained

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Yep.Fairly normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They'd still charge you 2 euro for a splash of red lemonade, so the price is probably the same as a full pint of Smithwicks anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Kanye

My guess is that you've never ever in your entire life ever ordered a shandy in the past?

Key info: there is no "shandy" button on the till.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

There is government duty on everything sold in pubs. There should be an extra 50% on shandys though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Kanye wrote: »
    My guess is that you've never ever in your entire life ever ordered a shandy in the past?

true, usually my daddy would get me one. this is the first time I ordered one as a grown man. Just remembered how nice they were, I'll make my own tomorrow!

theres also no 'piss' button on the till but they sell it under the name budweiser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Depends on the bar...

Go into a pub with regulars and a conscience and they probably have a "shandy" button on the till, then there is a sliding scale up the capitalist ladder from charging the cost of a whole pint to eventually, charging for a pint plus a dash...

Barstewards! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Welcome to Ireland op.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Do what I do, put a case of beer in the back of my car and pop out every time u need a bottle. Just make sure u buy the first one in the pub. Fúck the pubs, what a racket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

FearDark wrote: »
    Do what I do, put a case of beer in the back of my car and pop out every time u need a bottle. Just make sure u buy the first one in the pub. Fúck the pubs, what a racket.

Also make sure the pub sells that drink. Got kicked out once cause I took in a bottle they dident sell. Had to stand outside and drink it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Steodonn wrote: »
    Also make sure the pub sells that drink. Got kicked out once cause I took in a bottle they dident sell. Had to stand outside and drink it

Way ahead of ya ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

This is a perfect example of why we should stick to the pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

How do you know it was 40% lemonade?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Splits cost more than beer. Bleedin joke so it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

theres also no 'piss' button on the till but they sell it under the name budweiser
    Why does everbody seem to hate Budweiser??....its delicious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Dean09 wrote: »

Sorry.. it really is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

... You think that's annoying? My dad recently found out he was diabetic... and he would normally everyso often have shandys (if he needed to keep a clearer head, was going to be up driving early the next day... Stuff like that)
    So now he thinks I'll have a shandy made with diet 7up... To keep the sugar down and the diabeties undercontrol...
    Guy at the bar makes this diet shandy and then charges him the price of a full pint and the price of a 7up.

Barman's logic was a shandy costs as much a pint... But is made with lemonaid from a big bottle. The diet 7up is in a little mixer bottle so you've got to buy one of those too. Shandy hold the lemonaid, plus a diet lemonaid, 4.50 + 3.00 = 7.50(ish, stupid dublin prices 3 euro for 200ml of 7up?!?)
    Dad's logic, it's a half pint and a 7up, that still works out more than a normal shandy but is "fair"...
    Barman... There's no button for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

just noticed the receipt from earlier today, bought a smithwicks shandy, 55% smithwicks, 40% red lemonade, 5% fiz.

the receipt has 1 pint of smithwicks, total 4.50

surely they cant be doin that? theres no government duty on red lemonade as far as I know. the 'Celtic Tiger' is gone yet the bull****t charging seems to have remained

Buy a proper pint in the first place and ditch the ninnyish shandies!
    Plenty of time for them when you're in your 80's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

kiffer wrote: »
    ... You think that's annoying? My dad recently found out he was diabetic... and he would normally everyso often have shandys (if he needed to keep a clearer head, was going to be up driving early the next day... Stuff like that)
    So now he thinks I'll have a shandy made with diet 7up... To keep the sugar down and the diabeties undercontrol...
    Guy at the bar makes this diet shandy and then charges him the price of a full pint and the price of a 7up.

Barman's logic was a shandy costs as much a pint... But is made with lemonaid from a big bottle. The diet 7up is in a little mixer bottle so you've got to buy one of those too. Shandy hold the lemonaid, plus a diet lemonaid, 4.50 + 3.00 = 7.50(ish, stupid dublin prices 3 euro for 200ml of 7up?!?)
    Dad's logic, it's a half pint and a 7up, that still works out more than a normal shandy but is "fair"...
    Barman... There's no button for that.
    The barman your dad orderd off is a fcuking idiot. Has absolutely no cop on, lacks intelligence etc etc.

The standard, if you use a mixer for a shandy is to charge for the mixer and a glass of beer, not a fcuking pint.

As for most shandies, they are charged at pint value. Some pubs charge for only a glass and don't charge you for the dash. There's a pub in Tallaght Village that only charges for a glass when you order a pint shandy.

If you don't like the prices, don't go there. I don't go into an expensive resturaunt, buy a meal then complain about the price... Prices are listed on the entrance, and if they are not, they are breaking the law ;)

How do you know it was 40% lemonade?

It was the other way around actually, 40% smithwicks and I know this because I saw him pour it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

grow some balls for fuck sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I wanted a snake bite and red bull but the bar man informed me he could not sell me one, does he take me for some kind of idiot, he wanted to explain but I know where I am not wanted so called him every name under the sun and asked did he want to take it outside, the old doll was right when she said something bout ruining our babys christening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I wont ask what you were doing that you somehow managed to come to the conclusion that Budweiser tastes like piss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Wrong! There is a shandy button on the til if the publican wishes it so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

your in ireland of course its normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Smithwicks is savage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Are we a little s l o w on this thread ?

Surely everybody knows that City publicans have been gouging us blind for the past 10 years or so.

A combination of sky high prices, surly cnunts serving and absolutely no regard for the customer.

Get him in and rip him off...thats the motto in most city pubs.

All the mony John Taxpayer shells out to bring tourists to our shores....for these cnunt to rip them off at every opportunity ??

And now they have their advts begging us to come to the pub !

Have noos for you lads ... youv'e been fcukin rumbled...we have taken enough....now stick your €5.80 pints up your holes (preferably in a broken glass) and don't take us all for idiots.

Sorry for the strong language but i feel so angry about this.....

Are we a little s l o w on this thread ?

Surely everybody knows that City publicans have been gouging us blind for the past 10 years or so.

A combination of sky high prices, surly cnunts serving and absolutely no regard for the customer.

Get him in and rip him off...thats the motto in most city pubs.

All the mony John Taxpayer shells out to bring tourists to our shores....for these cnunt to rip them off at every opportunity ??

And now they have their advts begging us to come to the pub !

Have noos for you lads ... youv'e been fcukin rumbled...we have taken enough....now stick your €5.80 pints up your holes (preferably in a broken glass) and don't take us all for idiots.

Sorry for the strong language but i feel so angry about this.....

R&R to be honest...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Cnunts have bought enough Premier league clubs on the back of the ordinary punter......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Solution:

Stage 1

Good morrow sweet alewife, may I procure from thee one glass of dykewater and one glass of red lemonade.

May I also procure one empty pint glass.

Stage 2

STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

FearDark wrote: »

Do you drive home? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Dean09 wrote: »

Well if they did then why is it served in almost every pub in Ireland? True it's delicious and by far the best tasting beer in the world, and probably the most popular. It's just that theirs loads of beer snobs out their that can't accept the fact that their favourite beer is not as popular as Budweiser

As for the OP, they shouldn't do it but customers don't look at their reciepts that much which makes some pubs think they can do whatever they want

Greyfox wrote: »
    Well if they did then why is it served in almost every pub in Ireland? True it's delicious and by far the best tasting beer in the world, and probably the most popular. It's just that theirs loads of beer snobs out their that can't accept the fact that their favourite beer is not as popular as Budweiser

As for the OP, they shouldn't do it but customers don't look at their reciepts that much which makes some pubs think they can do whatever they want

You obviously haven't tasted many beers. Carbonated piss is not a beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Overpriced crap like that is the reason people dont go out as much anymore!

Which sucks because i love going out :) drinks in the car as suggested or naggin in the bag is the only way forward.

Also budweiser is defo up there with fosters and dutch for the worst beer around! Erdinger all the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

You obviously haven't tasted many beers. Carbonated piss is not a beer.

This is the exact kind of idiotic snobbery I was talking about, I have drank a LOT of beers from all over the world, definitely drank at least 100 different types incluning the brands that are neamt to be of high quality, so all you beer snobs can p*ss off!!