Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midge repellents

• 04-06-2010 8:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

I am currently using Repel 100, nasty stuff containing Deet, but it keeps our little friends away. Two other methods I've not used but have heard of are, Citronella oil, and if you're wearing a hat, dab some Jeyes fluid on the brim. To me they sound like they'd work.

I've used Jungle formula, Avon Skin So Soft dry body oil forest fresh and Autan which all worked - to a degree. I can't say I was completely happy with any of them.

I do own a midge net, that goes over a boonie hat but haven't worked up the nerve to wear the stupid looking thing yet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Repel 100 is the only stuff that works I use it myself ;)

Side effects ................ best not think of that :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

The b*stards ate me on the bog last year. I looked like i had the chicken pox. We had to leave because of it. The fella i was helping was ok but when he seen me he said feck that. I swear, i looked like had a disease. Never suffered as bad. Where can i get Repel 100?? Chemist??

I get it from my local camping & outdoor shop. Friend of mine got it off ebay ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

only one that works been using it for years , will work against hebridean midges and canadian black fly belive me takes a lot to keep those feckers at bay

JUNGLE FORMULA there can be only one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

johngalway wrote: »
    I do own a midge net, that goes over a boonie hat but haven't worked up the nerve to wear the stupid looking thing yet :D

just dont wear it down the local post office;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

dicky82 wrote: »
    just dont wear it down the local post office;)

Give me some flippin credit....

That's what I use the balaclava for!

Side effects, mm yes, well extra limbs and an eye in the back of your head do have their uses.

Got my Repel 100 off fleabay as well.

twaz my money father, i just didnt wana fill out the forms. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Mozzy net, the only repellent, if you are out for long enough in heat the repellent sweats off you.

dicky82 wrote: »
    twaz my money father, i just didnt wana fill out the forms. . .

Was about to post that....IMO one of the best bits in Father Ted. Classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Vitamin B12,
    take it for a fortnight and they won't go near you, then will sence/ smell it off you and avoid you like the plague...... And no, humans can't detect it.
    Get it from any chemist or health food store.

Vitamin B12,
    take it for a fortnight and they won't go near you, then will sence/ smell it off you and avoid you like the plague...... And no, humans can't detect it.

I will try that, Jaysus footin turf will never be the same ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Repel 100 is the only stuff that works I use it myself ;)

Side effects ................ best not think of that :eek:

to late sun shine

jwshooter wrote: »
    to late sun shine

:D Ya your right :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Just follow BelowAverageIQ's good advice re B12. Google - B12 insect repellent .

Eucalyptus Oil.

Don't let the strange looks bother you lads, I once gave the dogs a bath with the Avon stuff, they smelled like French whores for a month.

Anything with copious amounts of 25-30% DEET or some rocket propellent :D DMP (dimethyl phthalate) if you want to contaminate yourself.

Just follow BelowAverageIQ's good advice re B12. Google - B12 insect repellent .

Eucalyptus Oil.

Don't let the strange looks bother you lads, I once gave the dogs a bath with the Avon stuff, they smelled like French whores for a month.

Anything with copious amounts of 25-30% DEET or some rocket propellent :D DMP (dimethyl phthalate) if you want to contaminate yourself.

Burns the eyes out of you if it gets into them though.
    I have used all types haveing slept under the stars almost every summer since 1999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

Vitamin B12,

+1 Handy for those wee f*ckers of mossies on the continent too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

I will try that, Jaysus footin turf will never be the same ;)
    you might not be footing turf for too much longer i gormless has his way:D

That I know, I would not be his biggest fan.
    He has very strange notions on country life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

when the miggies are out is the only time i seriously think of taking up smoking:D
    the higher the deet% the better just dont let it into your eyes........not nice at all:o
    think it was the avon stuff yer on about; some lads in a british army base in scotland use it for the miggies.......would love to know HOW they found out about it but seemengly it works a treat

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Was about to post that....IMO one of the best bits in Father Ted. Classic

completely off topic i know (scold accordingly) but fr. ted has got to be one of, if not the best comedy productions of all time, the faulty towers of our generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

DEET is good, but if you have a proper stock (wood) it will make a nasty job of it - not sure what it would do to some of the synthetic covered stocks......
    Citronella oil is way down the list in effectiveness, but it does smell nice!
    Saw a fella in Kerry at the weekend raking his grass, dressed in a beekeeper's suit with a midgie net on his hat. Seemed the job!
    P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Vitamin B12,

Not B12, but B1. There was a craze for using B1 as a repellant a few years ago, but it's petered out now. Why? Coz it didn't work! The theory was that they didn't like the taste of you if you had plenty of B1 in your system, but it has been fairly comprehensively debunked by now. (I'm a pharmacist, BTW)
    I know some who swear by citronella, but for me personally, DEET's yer only man. Was sitting outside on both Fri and Sat nights, and used a DEET repellant. Reckon I missed my left ear at first on Fri, coz they kept buzzing around the left side of my head, but I rubbed a bit more on and wasn't bothered again.

doyle61 wrote: »
    when the miggies are out is the only time i seriously think of taking up smoking:D
    the higher the deet% the better just dont let it into your eyes........not nice at all:o
    think it was the avon stuff yer on about; some lads in a british army base in scotland use it for the miggies.......would love to know HOW they found out about it but seemengly it works a treat

AFAIK Doyle a lot of Armys use it. The American army use but "Avon Skin So Soft" was a bit of a feminine name so it was changed to ''Avon Triple S''. Just a useless bit of info for ya bud;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

doyle61 wrote: »
    would love to know HOW they found out about it

What happens in the barracks stays in the barracks :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

just dont drop the soap:D