Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster League next season

• 04-06-2010 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭

Some new additions to the League for next season. New teams in bold.
    DIVISION 1A

Co Carlow, Boyne, Tullamore, Dundalk, Skerries, Coolmine, Cill Dara, Newbridge

DIVISION 1B

Monkstown, Portlaoise, Enniscorthy, New Ross, Tullow, Wicklow, Portarlington, Garda, West Offaly Lions

DIVISION 2

Ashbourne, Kilkenny, Clondalkin, Clane, Longford, Roscrea, Mullingar, Gorey, Edenderry, Wexford Wanderers

DIVISION 3

Athy, North Kildare, Railway Union, Malahide, Rathdrum, Balbriggan, North Meath, Swords, IT Carlow, Arklow, Birr, Guinness, Midland Warriors

I think the team to watch are Guinness. I think their tough physical style is well suited to the Leinster League and they'll thrive in it.

You'd got to wonder though surely Stillorgan J2 warrant a place in this league. Any of the Stillorgan lads like to comment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Some new additions to the League for next season. New teams in bold.

I think the team to watch are Guinness. I think their tough physical style is well suited to the Leinster League and they'll thrive in it.

You'd got to wonder though surely Stillorgan J2 warrant a place in this league. Any of the Stillorgan lads like to comment?

Im far from a j2 player in Stillorgan probably retired to be honest but Stillorgan have got a second promotion in two seasons to the j2 metro league the A section.
    Not sure if some of these games are on sundays Tim ? but know id defo prefer saturday rugby.
    Its great as a club to have 3 teams fielded on one day only last season have we had 3 teams.
    This means every one gets a game if matches were on sat and sunday some players might play two matches and would stop a player getting experience.

Its also good socially having the alcos of three teams on the piss is good craic on a saturday.

The downside is not been able to support another team when your playing and i think new and inexperiecned players could learn lots by watching the j2s play.

Also you say the leinster league is very physical a lot of 10 man rugby im thinking so, not that the j2s could not handle that
    personally i think Stillorgan try to play a fairly expansive game no point having speedy backs if your gonna play a 10 man game.

This is just my personal opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Im far from a j2 player in Stillorgan probably retired to be honest but Stillorgan have got a second promotion in two seasons to the j2 metro league the A section.
    Not sure if some of these games are on sundays Tim ? but know id defo prefer saturday rugby.
    Its great as a club to have 3 teams fielded on one day only last season have we had 3 teams.
    This means every one gets a game if matches were on sat and sunday some players might play two matches and would stop a player getting experience.

Its also good socially having the alcos of three teams on the piss is good craic on a saturday.

The downside is not been able to support another team when your playing and i think new and inexperiecned players could learn lots by watching the j2s play.

Also you say the leinster league is very physical a lot of 10 man rugby im thinking so, not that the j2s could not handle that
    personally i think Stillorgan try to play a fairly expansive game no point having speedy backs if your gonna play a 10 man game.

This is just my personal opinion
    Good point, it's Sunday Rugby for Leinster League and it is in my opinion tougher. Put it this way, check where most red cards come from and it's generally the Leinster League ;)

It's full scrummaging laws - no ending the push at 1.5 metres.

That said teams like North Meath play a good offloading game. In fact, they sprung out of nowhere. They are a new club, did one season of J3 and then into the Leinster League. Fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

There was a lot of discussion last season about going into the Leinster league, but the decision was made by the players and the club. The ambition for the season was to be mid table, so the season was obviously a great success.

Sunday rugby was a major factor alright. And a lot of travel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

'Mon New Ross! xD