Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Living next door to a pub, would you fancy it?

• 03-06-2010 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

A dilemna as one is on the verge of re-opening,long time closed but sold and soon to open. I'm not sure if I'd fancy remaining here. I'm directly across the road. How would others feel? Any potential conditions I could seek to impose?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

i'd love it. It would be great to pop in for a quiet pint in the evening, or for a few drinks at the weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I couldnt do it.. would be too easy to go in for just the one EVERY day of your life.. how much self discipline do you have, do you have an addictive personality ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Yes it's great fun living across the road from a pub when the kegs are being delivered at 6am or all the empty bottles are being thrown into bins at 2am. Then there's the drunken fools that want to sing at the top of their lungs on exiting the venue, and don't get me started on karaoke or DJ nights. I think that's a resounding no!! :D

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm renting next to four pubs and i love it. i came from a country home and moved into an apartment in a small town. i am on top of a pub and surrounded by 3 more pubs. and i love it. im not a drinker either. well a socialable drinker.

everything that dazberry said above is true regarding the noise early in the mornings and late at night and im sure it gets very loud but it doesnt bother me. i sleep like a log. when people ask me how i am getting along on top of a pub they find it gas that i can sleep so well. i find myself going into a pub a lot now for a cold drink like a 7up on ice after work on my own and im a woman.
    it really is great. came from a home with a lot of problems. so noise doesnt bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Exactly! The noise from DJs/musicians and from punters could be a problem. Then you'll have the smokers standing right across from your front door. I know a couple of people who've lived near pubs and they suffered damage to their personal property as a result of drunk people thinking it was hilarious to piss through the letterbox or swing out of their car mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

depends on the pub though! some pubs are quiet, others are noisier than nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭S23

Very much depends on where the pub is and the type of clientel it attracts. I could think of a plenty of pubs I'd have no problem living beside/across from and I can also think of plenty you couldn't pay me to live near.

It comes down to what kind of pub it is. Are you going to have loads of lairy young folk coming out of there off their tits at all hours of the morning screaming their heads off or is it more of your quiet local type of place where everyone knows everyone else and keeps themself in check as a result.

I've moved into a noisy area so got earplugs.. Sleep perfect now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Micahelxcx

Why don't you meet the owner and ask them what their plans are for the pub?
    Express your concerns about noise, louthish behaviour, opening times, delivery times.
    You could object to the renewal of their liquor licence in the local licensing court if it was bothering.
    Personally, I would stay well away from pubs. I lived next door to one up to 13 years old and say every walk of life. Not nice.
    My mother's car was vandalised regularly as it was parked in the driveway of our house next door to the pub which was detached. But drunkards would come into the garden to pee and ****. When my mother would run them out of it, she'd find car windows broken, tyres slashed etc
    Punters used pee in the garden regularly.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Lucy Lu

I am living opposite a sports bar and nightclub, which are in a hotel. It was hell until I found ear-plugs.

The noise of the music is one thing. Them all leaving drunk at 2am is another thing.

As others have said it will depend on the opening hours and the kind of clients it attracts, so you should do some research into this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I lived directly above a pub in college, and I hated it so much. The music, the shouting, the glass being broken, the deliveries... I didn't get to sleep before 3am for most of the year I lived there I'd say.

If it's a quiet, neighbourhood bar it might be okay, but if it's going to be busy or attract students/noisy people, I'd strongly reconsider staying there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I live next door to a pub. It's grand...that could be because said pub does feck all business + the customers that go there are quite respectable.

Thanks all...Do we have the right to enclose the are outside our house to prevent parking or urinating? Mum seems to think councils won't allow it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I live across the road from a 2 pubs and about 50 seconds the down the road from another pub. You would hear the odd shout and argument sometimes.

Also down the road from my place is the garda station and across from me is a Church and graveyard.

Its not too bad living next to a pub just dont go outside if theres trouble look out the window instead lol

Is a pub likely to lower the value of surrounding property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

I used to in my 20ts and boy do i regret it. At the time i started a training program similar to FAS and as soon as i had lunch i would go for a pint or 4 by evening it was a pint or 6 needless to say i made a torrid mess off myself so even though my situ has little to do with the opening OP keep in mind it takes very little to become a full blown alki so do be careful as its no joke when everything goes pair shaped.
    FM