Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could somebody recommend a running club

• 03-06-2010 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭

I have been running for about 9 months and I try to go for a jog 3-4 times a week. I have entered some races throughout the year and loved them. While I'm not a serious runner as such in that I'm not competitive, I think I would benefit from joining a club just to keep me motivated and to keep me training.
    I know there are a few running clubs close to where I am in Knocklyon, but I really don't know anything about them, so maybe somebody could steer me in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I know some people in Sportsworld, they train in Bushy Park. It's supposed to be a good club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Clubs near you would be Rathfarnam, Sportsworld or Tallaght. Kinda half way between them Tallaght's track is at Westpark gym in the Village and think Rathfarnam meet somewhere in the village to (not hundred per cent thou). Both would cater for the needs you have a stated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Woddle wrote: »

Didnt realise Bro Pearse had adult members. Think this would be your best bet as it nearest and alot cheaper in terms of membership than other two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

Hi there...thanks for recommending the Knocklyon Runners ( part of Bros Pearse AC ) ...yes we are in Cherryfield every Tues /Thurs at 7pm ...numbers are growing as we develop the adult section of our club . Great sessions and craic is guaranteed and all standards looked after. A lot of our runners are now posting PBs in their BHAA races etc so we must be doing the right thing ...come along, bring a friend , and have some fun keeping fit, improving and grwoing in confidence with your runing ability .Even spread of male/female runners ....see you next Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

PVincent wrote: »
    Hi there...thanks for recommending the Knocklyon Runners ( part of Bros Pearse AC ) ...yes we are in Cherryfield every Tues /Thurs at 7pm ...numbers are growing as we develop the adult section of our club . Great sessions and craic is guaranteed and all standards looked after. A lot of our runners are now posting PBs in their BHAA races etc so we must be doing the right thing ...come along, bring a friend , and have some fun keeping fit, improving and grwoing in confidence with your runing ability .Even spread of male/female runners ....see you next Tuesday

Any chance ye would consider 7,30 start in the evenings with the long nights? Really difficult to get out of work and home for that time.
    Do ye run on the weekend?