Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird revving issue??

• 31-05-2010 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭

Brother's girlfriend has a 1.3 (not zetec) Ford Ka with a strange little problem.

She told me the engine was revving quite high when she had the clutch in & the car stopped or moving.
    Anyway i took the car for a spin & sure enough when i got to the first stop sign, foot off accelerator pedal, foot down on clutch pedal, foot down on brake pedal, gear into neutral......engine revs increase up & up??? (foot nowhere near accelerator.:confused:)
    Same thing happens when on the move - travelling on level road, foot of accelerator, clutch in.....rrraaaaarrrrrr???

Disengage clutch while stopped - engine idles normally.

Is this normal for a Ford Ka? I have no clue about fords!!

Any advice welcome.:)

Btw; checked clutch/brake fluid resevoir & its fine & all gears work fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I had a 96 Mondeo that did the same thing for a while. Sometimes it would idle around 4,000rpm for no reason.

Stopped doing eventually so I never bothered to get it looked at.

Sorry I can't be of any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Could be...

1. Air intake leak
    2. sticking throttle cable
    3. temp sensor fault
    4. Throttle position sensor.. try disconnectiong wire to test.

It couls also be.. EEC fault.

Disconnect battery for 1 hour than reconnect to see if EES resets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

si_guru wrote: »
    Could be...

1. Air intake leak
    2. sticking throttle cable
    3. temp sensor fault
    4. Throttle position sensor.. try disconnectiong wire to test.

Checked throttle cable; seemed ok but i ain't a mechanic so there could be something wrong & i may not see it.

No.4 - where abouts is the TP sensor wire please??

Cheers S_G

Hope its not the ecu, the cars only worth a grand!!!

This seems to explain it.

http://forums.preloved.co.uk/fuseaction-forums.showdiscussion/thread_id-35014/898138ab.html

..just try dosconnecting battery.. maybe reseting the EEC will help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

Does it hunt up and down?

A split vaccum hose in my Focus caused the same problem, they are behind the intake manifold, ive helped a few people change theirs on the focus' too so it could be the same issue, spray them with a bit of wd40 and see if its spitting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

cronin_j wrote: »
    Does it hunt up and down?

A split vaccum hose in my Focus caused the same problem, they are behind the intake manifold, ive helped a few people change theirs on the focus' too so it could be the same issue, spray them with a bit of wd40 and see if its spitting

Howdy,

No, the engine rpms just go up & up mysteriously.

Jaysus lads it could be 1 of 4/5 different sensors or valves!?

Heres the plan; - disconnect battery/reconnect battery
    - disconnect battery for an hour
    - Unplug idle air control valve/replace
    - clean idle air control valve

By the way im just getting info that the car has also been cutting out going round corners so it does look like its the IAC valve.

Thanks lads.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

By the way im just getting info that the car has also been cutting out going round corners so it does look like its the IAC valve.

I was gonna suggest it might be dirt in the throttle body after reading your OP, but that might point to something else...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

si_guru wrote: »
    It couls also be.. EEC fault.

Ah ya can't blame them for everything. And it's called the EU now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭the merchant

If it's the same engine as the 97 1.3 pushrod fiesta, they're renound for throttle position sensors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Have you tried cleaning the throttle body, it might be sticking?