Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a dublinsenator has claimed travel expenses from his cork holiday home, resign Y/N?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I guess I'm outraged or something. He clearly hasn't learned how to scam larger amounts. He will never make it to the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

All Senators should resign. An unelected elite with no point. Wasn't Callely caught on the fiddle before when he was a TD? Something to do with his house, can't remember the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

We should change the key-lock on his house which would lead to a comical situation for Mr. Senator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Who put him into a position to scam the state to such a degree?

That's right Fianna Fail voters. It's you.

orourkeda wrote: »
    That's right Fianna Fail voters.

Not entirely. The public don't get to elect the Seanad. Although I suppose if he was one of FF's appointees you're technically right

Even if he was from Cork how the hell does travelling up to Dublin cost 80 grand?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

A holiday home in Cork? Oh will the lower middle classes ever learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Another scammer who belongs to mé féin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Collie D wrote: »
    Not entirely. The public don't get to elect the Seanad. Although I suppose if he was one of FF's appointees you're technically right

Even if he was from Cork how the hell does travelling up to Dublin cost 80 grand?

Sorry. If the first scam is true then it was the ff voters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

You forgot to mention his yacht!

Last year whilst out boating, as you do, he crashed into two other yachts causing 40,000 euro worth of damage, he dragged out coughing up the money for the damage.

oh, and he never explained why he left the scene of an accident either. The gardai had to track him down.

oh, he is also a very close friend of berties, he lost his seat in 2007 but Bertie sent him packing to the holiday camp that is the seanand.

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/demand-for-callely-to-explain-if-he-left-scene-of-accident-101504.html

orourkeda wrote: »
    Sorry. If the first scam is true then it was the ff voters

Oh, I would never for a second defend an FF voter. I'd be with you on that one. Was just pointing it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The just don't resign in this democracy banana republic .:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

There was also a row over him sticking his mug on posters for some campaign or other, plus his treatment of his staff....nasty, nasty little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Repeated scammer and an annoying lil' midget at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

People, don't you understand that this isn't UK politics?! Scammers don't need to resign positions, they just need a brass neck and to ride out the wave of anger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Same reason might go to explain some of Jackie Healy-Reas expense claims then.
    Last year just over €89,000 on top of his €156,000 wages.

See: xu5c1.jpg

Biggins wrote: »
    Same reason might go to explain some of Jackie Healy-Reas expense claims then.
    Last year just over €89,000 on top of his €156,000 wages.

See: xu5c1.jpg

Did he also claim expenses for a secretary he never had ?

Back on topic, not only should he be sacked, he should also be charged with fraud and embezzlement.

galwayrush wrote: »
    Did he also claim expenses for a secretary he never had ?
    You mean cos' he used Dail secretaries?
    Thats a good question - but FF aren't asking and I wonder why!

Here's a few more expences: 2j61le.jpg

Back on topic, not only should he be sacked, he should also be charged with fraud and embezzlement.

Probably never happen. He can't be sacked anyway as far as I know and fraud/embezzlement charges would be hard to prove because of the brilliant idea of unreceipted expenses

This guy is so blatant, it's almost comical. Almost.

Not sure of the technicalities, so what's the quickest way of throwing him out of office?

This guy is so blatant, it's almost comical. Almost.

Not sure of the technicalities, so what's the quickest way of throwing him out of office?
    By the collar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

We don't need senators

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    We don't need senators
    Wot! :eek:
    Deny them their retirement home?
    Shame on us! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Fuck this gay earth. I think I chose the wrong career path. It's now time to become a senator, scam the country of millions and then when shit starts getting a bit too hot, start trolling the country in to a fit of rage until they start calling for your head and then just simply resign to undo all wrong doings.

Vote for Sheeps.

Sheeps wrote: »
    Vote for Sheeps.
    But Sheeps are voting - thats the problem! ;)

Thats bad grammar.

It's sheepses.

Sheeps wrote: »
    It's sheepses.
    Baaaaa :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The Seanad has outlived its purpose its irrelevant. Its full of (dangerous)Taoiseachs' nominees and windbags who like the sound of their own voices. It needs to be abolished, now there's a cutback I'd support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

"The mileage rates of 59.07 cents per litre" - bloody Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Of course he shouldn't resign, by current standards he's the best politician in the country. He managed to screw us all out of €80 grand, well done sir you'll make a fine Taoiseach/Mafia Don.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Amen.
    Intriguingly, the members' services department of the Oireachtas sent the politician a letter on October 2, asking: "For the avoidance of doubt and absolute certainty for future auditing purposes, I would be grateful if you would certify in writing that this house in Bantry was 'your normal place of residence.'"

Significantly, a first hint of uncertainty emerges in the senator's reply, which confirms that Kilcrohane is his "normal place of residence for the time being" but not normally "one's permanent and principal abode at all times".

What a total scumbag. Zero respect for the Irish taxpayers as per usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Whatever he's driving, get the snots to ban it!