Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it only the men who enjoy their mothers cooking?..

• 30-05-2010 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭

I always hear guys saying that they can't get better than their mothers cooking. My dad has always said this about his mother (my granny of course) and he says it to me to saying "Your mothers cooking eh?.. ya can't beat it".

I've never heard a girl saying it as much so is it just a guy thing and do you agree with this phrase?

I do, but I don't know why as she's not the greatest cook in the world but its something that she give... is it love?

Does anyone here agree or share some similar stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I cook better then my mother.... So nope my mum doensnty season food roperly over cooks things a bit to much for my tastes.....

/fussy yes..

But me still loves her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i prefer my dads cookin tbh, me ma has gotten lazy over the years..

edit: i am a girl though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Nope not every man loves their mothers cooking.

I remember the first time I ordered steak in a restaurant I left the place thinking "oh THAT's what it's supposed to taste like?!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

My Mammy is the best cook in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Of course I've been to restaurants and had food there and it's usually amazing but there's nothing better coming home to mammy and her having a nice little pie made or some sort of stew or even a few chicken nuggets and chips with a bit of ketchup. It doesn't have to be extravagant as along as she makes it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I love my mom's cooking. Lots of very unique family recipes that I am now in possession of, and quite adept at.

Wouldn't suit everyone though, I don't think.. took me being an adult to appreciate my mom's food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I'm a better cook than my mother, but I'm also sinfully lazy, so I prefer when she cooks and cleans up the dishes and so on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

I dont think theres a man alive that enjoys my mothers cooking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I hate my mothers cooking and I'm a lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The first experience of food we get is usually from our mothers, so its natural to assume that we are predisposed to liking it. You could start a car on me mother's beef stew. Great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Offy wrote: »
    I dont think theres a man alive that enjoys my mothers cooking!

she could go to prison for that you know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

My mother is a great cook but she's getting lazy. Her mash is terrible these days, doesn't half mash it and the spuds aren't even peeled right.
    Then if I point out the flaws in her cooking she gets angry.
    I've even had to make my own dinner a couple of times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

No one can beat my mam's bread and butter pudding,and pancakes too.(not at the same time)

Other than that,i can take it or leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

No, girls should never say they enjoy their mothers cooking, for they must try harder to top it for when their sons come along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

My mother is an awesome cook in fairness.

My mother is a great cook but she's getting lazy. Her mash is terrible these days, doesn't have mash it and the spuds aren't even peeled right.

my ma is EXACTLY the same, what the fcuk like, mash the fcukin spuds will ye? i also have to hover over the pot so they're cooked for long enough. i've gotten.... hard lumps :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

my ma is EXACTLY the same, what the fcuk like, mash the fcukin spuds will ye? i also have to hover over the pot so they're cooked for long enough. i've gotten.... hard lumps :eek:

It's rotten, makes me wretch :mad:

it actually makes me angry.. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

well no offence if i had been boiling potatos for the past 30 years once a week id be getting a bit board with cooking the same food...

In the 20 minites it takes to cook the spuds my food is served, and eatin.. :D...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fart wrote: »
    Is it only the men who enjoy their mothers cooking?

Nope, I enjoy the wife's too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's best to frequently allude to the excellence of your mother's cooking to your partner and vice-versa in order to initiate a territorial cook-off with you as beneficiary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

That's not on. Tell her to get back in the kitchen when wimmin belong. That said, my mum can cook... sort of. At least we're not eating leathery grey pork chops any more.

Shameful when women can't cook*

*I'm biased, my girlfriend is a chef, so I have to criticize the food I cook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Nope, can't beat her cooking. The kitchen is her domain, and nobody is allowed to be a better cook than her. She point blank refuses to eat anything anyone else makes.
    alwaysadub wrote: »
    No one can beat my mam's bread and butter pudding,and pancakes too.(not at the same time)

Other than that,i can take it or leave it.

I make a legendary bread and butter pudding, it would make you cream yourself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

You could use my mother's bread pudding to grout the bathroom, but you can't beat her skirt and kidney stew :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

my mother burns water ffs, cooks about once a week usually on sunday. i haven't eaten anything she cooked since about 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

rossie1977 wrote: »
    my mother burns water ffs, cooks about once a week usually on sunday. i haven't eaten anything she cooked since about 12

Every family's got a skeleton in the cupboard.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

When I was a kid I adored my mothers cooking but then as I got older and learned how to cook for myself I realised that she was/is actually a pretty crap cook. So yes, it is mostly those lads who cant cook that love their ma's cooking. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

My Mother cooks quite well but of course she does. Im always going to say that.

My MIL cannot cook for sh*t. I asked her one day why she only used one tablet from the marrowfat peas box and she said "Sure when Im cooking them tomorrow I will use the other tablet when cooking". I tried to tell her what was wrong with this but it went in one ear and out the other so I try not to eat in her house.

She once tried to make me pork chops and had never in her 65 years cooked a white meat and cooked it and cooked it until it went brown. :rolleyes:

My OH only cooks two things. Lasagne and Roast Potatos. :rolleyes: I have to cook everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

eh ha. Um no, it's not only the men who do. Some women probably have a harder time admitting that they enjoy their mother's cooking, or think they could do better themselves. Possibly due to an innate homemaker competitive/inferiority thingy in some cases.

In any case, my mother's cooking is fairly hit n miss, so I don't really conform to the original statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

My mom is a good cook and her mother was phenomenal! I like to think I am a pretty good cook myself - my husband seems to think so at any rate :)

I make roast chicken and potatoes, stir fry, chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce, cakes and candies. I like cooking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I like my moms cooking , but my wife's is way better. ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No, I'ma better cook than mine or any of your respective mothers. Still, one favours their mothers cuisine due to nostalgia and her cooking things you like from you growing you, creatures of habit, eat something a good few times and that's the way you want it exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

My Dad is a savage cook. When i go home for dinner on sundays we get the full monty (ok not my da strippin) :D

Last week it was prawn cocktail, steak and onions and angel delight (80s fav in our gaff)..oh oh..tea and bickies afterwards....4 course wooo! My Dads cookin rules :p

Had nada today cos had a fight with my sister and left before i got any of it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

My mother was a fantasic cook , she made the best home made brown bread , apples pie ,Lemon meringue pie and the smell of home cooking was always waffing though our house . Good memories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

My mother is a great cook but she's getting lazy. Her mash is terrible these days, doesn't half mash it and the spuds aren't even peeled right.

I dont know why this got so many thanks? Is EVERYONE eating at Slashers house these days???

My mam is a good cook. The bolognese is the best but theres a few dishes she 's exceptional at cooking. Thing is, she cooks to please - so its always what I want. How could I complain?