Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Filmed without consent

• 30-05-2010 11:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

I am sure i was filmed without my consent by a guy i met. When i realised what was happening i got out of there very quicky as i did not feel safe. Yes i know i was stupid getting myself into this situation but right now all i need is some good advise not lecturing. I am not sure what to do report it ? i went to his place of my own consent ... would not like this to happen to another womann

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Oh god that is awful you poor thing.

I think you should go to the guards.

What made you think you were being filmed?

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭mylittlepony

First of all, thank god you are safe.
    You were very brave to get out of there when you felt something was wrong when he could have reacted very badly, fortunaely he didnt.

Report it, you know where he live.
    At least the guards can check his computer for suspicous of making pornagraphic films without women's consent or knowledge of a camera in the room.
    Its a crime, remeber the French M&S model turmoil over her boyfriend's filming underage models and then blackmailing them.
    You dont want that to happen to you.
    Has he a way of contacting you?
    Have he even expalin himself, etc.

Bite back! Report him

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

Before you report him you'd want to have reasonable grounds for suspectiung him as opposed to just doing it on a whim.

WHy do you think you were being filmed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 mollymuffs

i think i was being filmed as i found a portable DVD hidden beside the bed and there was also a funny sound at one stage. When i questioned it he said it was from the bolier. Am at a loss of what to do but do not want this happening to anyone else.

mollymuffs wrote: »
    i think i was being filmed as i found a portable DVD hidden beside the bed and there was also a funny sound at one stage. When i questioned it he said it was from the bolier. Am at a loss of what to do but do not want this happening to anyone else.

A portable DVD? What's that?

Presu,mably you mean you saw a camera yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

All that means is he watched a dvd one night and when it was finished he shoved it under his bed! Portable DVD players don't have cameras or record functions! And what if the noise actually was the boiler??

I think there might be a misunderstanding here and unless you are certain he recorded you, you should not report him to the gardai. I would be absolutely humiliated if someone went around making daft allegations against me! That sort of nonsense can remain on someone's file for years.

I think you need to examine your own behaviour.. firstly, that you went to this guy's home and second that you invent stories which may not be true.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    I think you need to examine your own behaviour.. firstly, that you went to this guy's home and second that you invent stories which may not be true.

tenchi-fan - that is uncalled for.

dudara

dudara wrote: »
    tenchi-fan - that is uncalled for.

dudara

tbh, i think techi-fan has a point.

The Op would want to be very careful about these alleagtions. Unless she has some real reason to belileve it happened then she shoudln'treport it.

OP - can you clarify for once qnd for all what your reasons are?

You say a portabel DVD? I presume you mean a DVD player yes?
    DVD players are not recording cameras. They are an entirely different device.
    So if this is teh basis of your allegatioin then you are wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,524 ✭✭✭✭banie01

zxcvbnm1 wrote: »
    tbh, i think techi-fan has a point.

The Op would want to be very careful about these alleagtions. Unless she has some real reason to belileve it happened then she shoudln'treport it.

OP - can you clarify for once qnd for all what your reasons are?

You say a portabel DVD? I presume you mean a DVD player yes?
    DVD players are not recording cameras. They are an entirely different device.
    So if this is teh basis of your allegatioin then you are wrong.

I agree with Tenchi-fan on this one too...

Apart from her hearing a noise and finding a portable DVD player down the side of some dudes bed, Which strangely enough is where a suprising amount of people actually use Portable DVD players....i.e in bed! For nothing other than watching a movie!!!
    And like Tenci-Fan says, Portable DVD players, dont have the ability to record or capture video!

I'd also like to know what connection owning a portable DVD has with hidden camera's and voyeurism in general?

Apart from the OP's 'feeling' she was being filmed, what actual tangible proof is there?
    A DVD player and a noise a hardly proof!
    While anyone who makes such a recording without consent is commiting a heinous act and deserves sanction, Nothing the OP has outlined suggests any proof other than her 'Feeling'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

I too think techni fan has a point. Maybe this is a man/woman thing, but unless you have some real evidence other than a 'feeling', you CANNOT report this! Do you have any idea how bad it looks for a man to be pulled up for a sexual misdemeanour? You have to be sure before you report this, or at least have a very strong suspicion. Think very carefully before your report anything.

You do not know the complete story and i am not a young naive woman this is a man i have been in contact with for a while and then met up...

Thanks to all for advise i will not be reporting anything nor will i disclose all of the details here..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Go to a doctor, not the guards. Or at least on holiday or something. You sound like you have a tenuous grip on reality.

You do not know the complete story and i am not a young naive woman this is a man i have been in contact with for a while and then met up...

fair enough - but all we can do is advise you on teh facts you present to us.

the facts as you present them are you saw a dvd player beneath his bed and heard a funny noise - and somehow bizzarely came to the conclusion you were being filmed ???

Ifrthat is what happened - and you already said it is - then it's a serious case of adding 2 and 2 and getting 5 !
    You'd want to be very careful jumping to those kinds of conclusions.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

pwd wrote: »
    Go to a doctor, not the guards. Or at least on holiday or something. You sound like you have a tenuous grip on reality.

That is not particularly helpful and unnecessarily aggressive for this forum. Please read the charter.

OP, we can only go on what you tell us here. If you do not wish to disclose the details, we cannot advise you. Finding a dvd player and hearing a funny noise would not be sufficient to act on, in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

hey OP
    can you just clarify what you meant by portable DVD? most posters are assuming you mean portable dvd player, but i guess it's also possible you meant a DV camera.
    if it was a portable dvd player, you have nothing to worry about.
    if it was a camera, was it switched on? if it was down the side of the bed, and not up on a dresser or something, facing the bed, i still don't think you have too much to worry about.

maybe contact the guy via email/phone and just ask him straight up about it?
    dont be afraid, if he actually has footage of you he can get in BIG TROUBLE for releasing it, so tell him you know that. but, from the sounds of your post, i think you might not have been filmed at all.

i think commenters are being kind of crap here, she may be mistaken, but she is clearly worried and not "making up stories" for the sake of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP, call the garda confidential line maybe?

hang on - did you not read the thread.

it seems all teh OP is going on is because she saw a dvd player under the bed and heard a funny noise !!

Clearly she wasn't filmed at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

zxcvbnm1 wrote: »
    Clearly she wasn't filmed at all.

How do you know that? You have questioned her for "not being sure", yet, you are not sure, and are now jumping to conclusions in the very same way she was.

OP, from the way I see it, there's not an awful lot you can do without calling the Gardaí, but at the same time, unless you are sure, you shouldn't really call them. You would need more solid evidence than that before you jump into murky waters like that.

Have you any better way of finding out could it have been a camera?

Also, without more details, there's not a lot of advice we can give you. And even with details, there's still only limited assistance we could possibly give you.

P.S. Well done on being brave enough to GTFO...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Also, with all due respect - a boiler and a CCTV system have very distinctive sounds. Surely you could distinguish the difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Why ring the gardai. Since when is it a crime to watch a DVD in bed.?

The amount of grief that is caused when someone is accused of something is immense. A false accusation can sometimes be just as damning as a genuine one. Mud sticks and all that. The OP would seriously want to have some hard evidence or a proper basis for making such an accusation. A portable DVD player and a single strange noise is neither evidence or a good basis for making an accusation.

Based on the info provided it smells of either massive paranoia or guilt (I.e. She felt guilty about going back to a (this) guys house to engage in sexual activity and concocted a batty fantasy to 1. Get out before going too far and 2. To convince herself of the victim syndrome.

Can't imagine what the guy must be thinking following this episode. I wonder what the op will say if/when he calls her.

How do you know that? You have questioned her for "not being sure", yet, you are not sure, and are now jumping to conclusions in the very same way she was.

Well the op did outline why she came to the conclusion she did.

And going on what she outlined, then she had no reason to jump to such a conclusion.

So on that basis it is reasonable to suggest she wasn't filmed.

She is no more likely to have been filmed than any of the other millions of people who go back to someones house after a nite out.

Based on the evidence provided it is reasonable to assume that this night was as "normal" as any other night of going back to someones house for intimacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Went back to this girls house last weekend, there was a laptop on the desk with a <gasp> webcam attached and I heard a funny noise, she said it was the laptop beeping because of a low battery. But after reading this thread, maybe she filmed me :eek:

Also I woke up with a serious bad headache and a sore arse. Maybe they could have been the result of several pints and shots of whiskey coupled with a fiery hot vindaloo but just to be sure do you think I should call the cops ?

A lot of the replies here are laughable. Some girl sees a portable dvd player in some guys bedroom, hears a 'funny noise' and the first thought that pops into her head is "he's trying to film me the dirty bugger!" and half of the replies here are in agreement with her! :confused:

Fair enough maybe she has more evidence/reason to think she was been filmed but how anyone can come to the conclusion that she should call the cops from the information shes given here is nonsensical.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

monosharp wrote: »
    Went back to this girls house last weekend, there was a laptop on the desk with a <gasp> webcam attached and I heard a funny noise, she said it was the laptop beeping because of a low battery. But after reading this thread, maybe she filmed me :eek:

Probably not. Due to the intimacy of sex, and the intense power a man feels during sex, it's less likely that a girl would film a guy in that position. It also explains why most women don't get the same out of one night stands as men do because the emotional connection just isn't there. Sex does not evoke the same feeling in men as it does in women unless they love each other.

More likely that a guy would film a girl.

OP, ring the man you were with and tell him your worries. As someone else said, if he did film you, then he knows that you know. I wouldn't go the gardaí with what you have, you could be getting an innocent man into trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

OP seriously? a "portable dvd" whatever that is was "hidden next to the bed"? if it was hidden or out of the way then its probably just where he kept it, unless it had a rake of wires coming out of it attached to a camera then it wouldnt have been able to record anything, dvd players are for playing not recording. You'd want to really tread carefully and think about what happened before you start making accusations based on your own lack of knowledge about technology and get an innocent person into trouble.

uureggg1 wrote: »
    Probably not. Due to the intimacy of sex, and the intense power a man feels during sex, it's less likely that a girl would film a guy in that position. It also explains why most women don't get the same out of one night stands as men do because the emotional connection just isn't there. Sex does not evoke the same feeling in men as it does in women unless they love each other.

OP, ring the man you were with and tell him your worries. As someone else said, if he did film you, then he knows that you know. I wouldn't go the gardaí with what you have, you could be getting an innocent man into trouble.

uureggg1 wrote: »

I think the post this in response to was being sarcastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Mud sticks OP, if you confide this to your friends with zero backup this guy could have a reputation for life.

If you're gonna call the gardai then do it.
    But realy, read all the other replies you've received

Lots of people have DVD players by their bed.
    Nothing more cosy then curling up in bed and watching a DVD then sitting in a cold living room with the main TV

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Nothing more cosy then curling up in bed and watching a DVD then sitting in a cold living room with the main TV

I don't know why you'd want to sit in a cold sitting room after you've curled up in bed, one or the other surely :confused:

Hi OP
    unless you have a lot more to back this than a dvd player I'm inclined to agree with whomever said you were trying to find an excuse to cover your guilt.