Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lesson with Pro ...

• 29-05-2010 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Lads ,

A mate of mine is heading for a lesson with Barry power in Drynam .

Any views if he's good or bad ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Dunno really. Then again what works for some people mightn't work for others, in terms of "connection" with the teacher if you know what I mean. A lot of them say mostly the same stuff but the communication might work for you and not for me. I once went to a highly recommended provincial coach and just couldn't get it - lovely guy but not for me. Not his fault at all, just one of those things.
    I guess I'd make sure any pro I tried out is PGA qualified as a minimum though and see how he goes from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I've heard he is good. Seems a nice fella. Always says hello when you see him on the range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭uptheroyals

i agree with russman, a pga degree should be a minimum,

anyone can pay a grand, spend 5 days training and get the egtf qualification he has:

http://www.egtf.co.uk/EGTF.html

Was hoping that would be picked up on :).........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Ginny007

Was up at Drynam range very good but getting back on topic i had a look at his website.

It says he has been giving lessons for the past 14 years you would have to think he would know his stuff by now ??

Also makes reference to his training.

http://www.bpg.ie/iopen24/about-barry-power-t-14.html

A friend of mine went to him he charges € 45 which i think is a bit exspensive

I had a lesson last week with Karl Herbert and it only cost me € 20 and i got alot from it.

So i could have 2 lesson with Karl and still have money left over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

This argument has been well thrashed, he's a decent guy doing a decent job. Personally he isn't my choice of coach but he's definitely helped others on their game improvement.

Some people expect miracles and are mostly unprepared to put the work in or not made for the game in the first place.

Interesting point f22

I think people are great at talking but are bad at following through on there plans.

Just looked at that website, €300 for a 9 hole playing lesson and €500 for 18 holes........seems a little pricey though, no ?:D

Anyway, I agree with f22, I don't really like the idea of critiquing a guy personally online, its not really fair to him. But, as I said, if it was me, I'd look for the PGA qualification as a starting point.

Try him, if it works, great, if not, move on, no harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Russman wrote: »
    Just looked at that website, €300 for a 9 hole playing lesson and €500 for 18 holes........seems a little pricey though, no ?:D

Anyway, I agree with f22, I don't really like the idea of critiquing a guy personally online, its not really fair to him. But, as I said, if it was me, I'd look for the PGA qualification as a starting point.

No offence Russman, but with a sentence like that, you dont have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭5989

Russman wrote: »

Christ. Wonder how much action that gets?!

Jimdagym wrote: »
    No offence Russman, but with a sentence like that, you dont have to.

I see what you mean, when i read it that way alright. I didn't actually mean it that way at all - I kinda meant to discuss a teacher in general, you know the old saying "doctors differ patients die" - what one guy likes another might not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

If Karl Herbert is only charging €20, I'd go with him. 2 lessons with him is cheaper than one of BP's. If you don't think he's good, you've only lost €20.

Also, f22 does make a good point....no point going for lessons if you don't follow it up with practice. I know from experience!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    If Karl Herbert is only charging €20, I'd go with him. 2 lessons with him is cheaper than one of BP's. If you don't think he's good, you've only lost €20.

Also, f22 does make a good point....no point going for lessons if you don't follow it up with practice. I know from experience!!

Agree with yis on this , I went for a lesson with Krishna Padayachee in the Ward golf centre , He turned my game around completely . The lesson was great but he did go to great lenghts to explain it won't be any good to me if i don't follow it up with practice ..... I practice once / twice a week and it really shows when i'm playing now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

GorHugh wrote: »
    Agree with yis on this , I went for a lesson with Krishna Padayachee in the Ward golf centre , He turned my game around completely . The lesson was great but he did go to great lenghts to explain it won't be any good to me if i don't follow it up with practice ..... I practice once / twice a week and it really shows when i'm playing now

You should send you mate to Krishna so. I'm sure he's probably cheaper than BP.

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    You should send you mate to Krishna so. I'm sure he's probably cheaper than BP.

He won a comp on 98fm and the lesson was part of the prize . He's heard indifferent reviews of BP and was wondering what he was getting into . This thread hasn't inspired him with confidence ..

I'd recommend Krishna to anybody looking for a lesson , Great lad to deal with doesn't over complicate things and doesn't need video analysis to improve a persons swing .

He won a comp on 98fm and the lesson was part of the prize . He's heard indifferent reviews of BP and was wondering what he was getting into . This thread hasn't inspired him with confidence ..

I'd recommend Krishna to anybody looking for a lesson , Great lad to deal with doesn't over complicate things and doesn't need video analysis to improve a persons swing .

Let us know how he gets on.

Ginny007 wrote: »
    Let us know how he gets on.

Will do , He's going to it this Sat .. I'll post his opinion/results on it

My mate got a lesson during the week and was placed on camera and he was shocked at how bad his swing was.

Had a look at it with him last night but at least he no knows what he has to do.

Will do , He's going to it this Sat .. I'll post his opinion/results on it

Hey GorHugh how did your mate get on ??

Hey , The mate was very surprised and extremely happy with the lesson , BP had a look at him hit a fewballs and was able to tell him straight away how his game normally plays out , Drives hooking ,Ball pulling left with irons .. His got him to change a few small things and to stand taller over the ball ,
    Bp then videoed his normal swing and then after getting him used to the changes and was happy with him Bp then videoed the new swing ,Bp showed him the 2 videos on a split screen , He was able to see what not to do , Bp gave him a copy of the dvd to refer to if he felt he was going back to his old ways . Bp did stress that practice is very important and there is no point in taking lessons if you don't follow it up with to hard work .

The lad now has an 18 hole practice round with Bp in 2 weeks time in Portmarnock links . ( this was also part of the prize my mate won from 98fm

Hey , The mate was very surprised and extremely happy with the lesson , BP had a look at him hit a fewballs and was able to tell him straight away how his game normally plays out , Drives hooking ,Ball pulling left with irons .. His got him to change a few small things and to stand taller over the ball ,
    Bp then videoed his normal swing and then after getting him used to the changes and was happy with him Bp then videoed the new swing ,Bp showed him the 2 videos on a split screen , He was able to see what not to do , Bp gave him a copy of the dvd to refer to if he felt he was going back to his old ways . Bp did stress that practice is very important and there is no point in taking lessons if you don't follow it up with to hard work .

The lad now has an 18 hole practice round with Bp in 2 weeks time in Portmarnock links . ( this was also part of the prize my mate won from 98fm

Nice prize to win
    Sounds like hes happy, not easy to make changes to the swing.

And he has got a round of golf on the links ( never played it )

Jammy git

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Have been going to BP on and off for a few years now and have to say he seems very good. He keeps it simple and like someone else said he was able to diagnose what was wrong with my swing after seeing me hit 2 balls. Over the course of 3 lessons he completely changed my swing. He puts your swing on camera and can compare it to pros. Seeing your swing in slo-mo really puts a different perpective on it and tells you where you are going wrong. He is on the pricey side though within a month of completing 3 leesons I won an open event shooting 43 points and went from 19 down to 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭monkeyman

I would recommend him.

I got about 10 lessons off various people before and none of them fixed the basic fundamental problems I had. One even said I needed shorter clubs and I ended up with shorted clubs.

It is pricey, but it works for me. I've improved from hitting 30 over par to 20 over par in about 7 months (3 lessons spaced about 2 months apart).

And the DVD system suits me as I tend to forget what was said and it does re-inforce it.

Nice prize to win
    Sounds like hes happy, not easy to make changes to the swing.

And he has got a round of golf on the links ( never played it )

Jammy git

Yeah nice prize alright , 2 nights B & B and Dinner in the Portmarnock links Hotel ,A round of golf on the weekend he stayed , The lesson with BP and now the 18 hole practice Rnd with Bp . all for a 20c text to 98fm !!!

I got to play the links with him last week and it's a cracking course , Well worth a visit ..(even nicer as it was free...lol )

Yeah nice prize alright , 2 nights B & B and Dinner in the Portmarnock links Hotel ,A round of golf on the weekend he stayed , The lesson with BP and now the 18 hole practice Rnd with Bp . all for a 20c text to 98fm !!!

I got to play the links with him last week and it's a cracking course , Well worth a visit ..(even nicer as it was free...lol )

Are there many bunkers on the course ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 GarvyB

Couldn't agree more - I went to Krishna for 4 or 5 lessons at monthly intervals and completely changed my game - came down from 18 handicap to 13 in the space of 6 months. It's a pity there are limited short game facilities in the Ward - I would really like to get putting / chipping lessons from him.

Are there many bunkers on the course ??

85+ bunkers , But not to in your face and it's not like the Monty course in carton where you get punished for good drives ... Well worth a visit .

GarvyB wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more - I went to Krishna for 4 or 5 lessons at monthly intervals and completely changed my game - came down from 18 handicap to 13 in the space of 6 months. It's a pity there are limited short game facilities in the Ward - I would really like to get putting / chipping lessons from him.

It's a shame theres no real short game practice area , I reckon he wud clean up with a short game area ,i wud love to have a putting area to use while up there , He's a Top lad to deal with ,

I'm off 20.9 but have shot a 90 and 85 in my last couple of rounds ,I Wudn't have broke 95 this year if i hadn't have gone to krishna .I Need to play a few singles comps to get the H/c down . My society h/c has dropped to 18 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gawoo1012

85+ bunkers , But not to in your face and it's not like the Monty course in carton where you get punished for good drives ... Well worth a visit .

It's a shame theres no real short game practice area , I reckon he wud clean up with a short game area ,i wud love to have a putting area to use while up there , He's a Top lad to deal with ,

I'm off 20.9 but have shot a 90 and 85 in my last couple of rounds ,I Wudn't have broke 95 this year if i hadn't have gone to krishna .I Need to play a few singles comps to get the H/c down . My society h/c has dropped to 18 .

Attended an all day Golf Clinic with Krishna at the GUI Academy in Carton House today. Have to say, I found him to be excellent. He explains things in a simple and concise fashion, leaves you with a better understanding of your faults and how to correct them and suggested some excellent drills and tips. Highly recommended.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Where is The Ward? Again, can't find a website, seems to be a recurring theme.

And how much are lessons with Krishna Padayachee?

danthefan wrote: »

Sorry for asking again but can anyone answer? I'm really eager to get some a lesson this week.

The Ward in on the old Ashbourne Rd , the range is about 3 mins off the M50 . Where are you driving from ?

He charges 30 per half hour or 50 for the full hr ..

The Ward in on the old Ashbourne Rd , the range is about 3 mins off the M50 . Where are you driving from ?

He charges 30 per half hour or 50 for the full hr ..

Thanks. Coming from Malahide. Guess I'll ring tomorrow to find out what the story is, €30 isn't bad.

N32 onto m50 southbound , take the finglas exit to ashbourne , wen on this rd after about 500yrds you come off at 1st exit ( marked coldwinters ) . take a right at the end of the exit , ur now on the old Ashbourne Rd , Drive for 3 mins go straight through the roundabout and its on your left , you can't miss it

Found it on google maps there, thanks a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Hi just wondering if you get lessons and how they went.

I've heard nothing but good reviews of Krishna and he's close enough to me.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

From the Hollywood Lakes website:

Hollywood Lakes Golf Club is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Krishna Padayachee to the position of Golf Professional at the Club. Krishna is joining Hollywood Lakes having been the Manager of the Ward Golf Centre, Ashbourne as well as a senior Coach with the GUI Academy in Carton House. He will be taking up his appointment immediately.

From the feedback on this thread alone, it looks like we've made a great decision. Looking forward to a lesson or 2 from him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Great news for your club. Does that mean a Pro shop too???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Well, we have had a pro shop for last 2 years, run by Brian, the outgoing pro. It's completely empty now but I guess Krishna will be restocking it soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭GinjaNinja

i disliked BP alot. He did the same routine as of other people on this thread/forum. tried to change swing straight away after 2 balls hit. Weight on back foot for more distance. I wanted consistancy.
    Anywho I ask him to put my swing against furyk or buba an not his famous wood video.. he said theirs were too unique ;). that god that lesson was a gift. but each to their own i suppose

So i went to Joe O'keefe Lusk most of last year, Good old school teacher. He got me on a consistant swing and i've a lovely new set of foregolf irons on the way so thing looking up for 2011.

i'm up in hollywood so might give Krishna a go later next month.