Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pointers

• 28-05-2010 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

Thinking of getting a pointer. English or German? What you lads think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭boc121

Get a german wirehair, if nothing else you'll spend your time laughing:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

hate those questions. get what you like the look of and hope it's a good one. more important question to ask is it bred to do what i want it to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Irish setter as ever talks sense here.
    I have preference for english cause I like their colours & tempermant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

you like english pointers? id never have guessed, :D

actually quick question, did you find it hard to source your pointer, dont see much of them around or advertised?? and as you stated here before you're the only one working an ep on here?

dicky82 wrote: »
    you like english pointers? id never have guessed, :D

actually quick question, did you find it hard to source your pointer, dont see much of them around or advertised?? and as you stated here before you're the only one working an ep on here?

True:o
    He's sire is knock dante. Dog of year in trialing world a few times so when the litter came up breeding wasn't an issue really.

There's a few on donedeal now, one litter has me tempted for a bitch but not just yet.They're nicely marked & in good shape.
    One of lads here has one now.
    Dunno why more don't. Savage dogs & utter characters ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

He's sire is knock dante. Dog of year in trialing world a few times so when the litter came up breeding wasn't an issue really.

There's a few on donedeal now, one litter has me tempted for a bitch but not just yet.They're nicely marked & in good shape.

always had a soft for english, my vet has a lovely bitch i have seen her working and she is a joy to watch

jap gt wrote: »
    always had a soft for english, my vet has a lovely bitch i have seen her working and she is a joy to watch

She ever thinkin of breeding her bitch?

was asking her one day she bred two litters and got her spayed then as she got a springer dog, i must find out her breeding, if i remember correctly she is field trial champ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DavyDee

Its not so much the breed its what you do with them really! Both cracking dogs when trained properly!

seen knock dante in action a few times fine strong dog. think he won the championship a few years back and got ikc dog of the year. alot of good pups from him around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭vermin hunter

hows oscar getting on wicklow newbie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭wicklow newbie

He is terrified of the gun. He litterally runs back to the van when I fire a shot. Apart from that there is not a bother on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

He is terrified of the gun. He litterally runs back to the van when I fire a shot. Apart from that there is not a bother on him!

Only answer there id keep him on the lead. Once a shot is fired keep contol of him plenty of reasurance and praise. Keep that up and eventually it will come out of him..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jimbrowning

Thinking of getting a pointer. English or German? What you lads think?
    i have a german bitch for past 6 years. gr8 dog. think theyl work just the same as english so its down to colour pref. its all in the training and make sure its from good working stock. good luck

elius wrote: »
    Only answer there id keep him on the lead. Once a shot is fired keep contol of him plenty of reasurance and praise. Keep that up and eventually it will come out of him..

not sure about the praise and reasurance in that case. i would keep him on a lead with you walking him and have a friend fire a gun from a distance. when the gun is fired keep walking at the same pace with no reaction no praise and don't allow him to stop. then gradually decrease the distance when the dog shows no reaction

Will give that a try. To be honest I had given up on him. He is a lovely dog mad to retrieve. He has nearly cleaned up the margins of the lake where i fish dragging all the rubbish out of it! When I got him he had a huge swollen ear. 2 operations later its sorted. Burst blood vessels according to the vet. The lads I got him off said he was working well but he just runs for home every time i fire a shot. Any ideas????

i have a german bitch for past 6 years. gr8 dog. think theyl work just the same as english so its down to colour pref. its all in the training and make sure its from good working stock. good luck
    Germans and English pointers work slightly different from what im told, germans were bred from a number of hounds as well as english and spanish pointers. They actually taste the scent off their jowels as well as their nose, I dont think english pointers have this capability as they have not been bred from hounds. This is why german pointers are used to track blood scents for deer stalking.

as far as i'm aware all dogs have that 6th sense where they can taste scent. thats why you see all pointers and setters hunt with their mouth open and if you watch them on point they often open and close their mouths as if tasting

not sure about the praise and reasurance in that case. i would keep him on a lead with you walking him and have a friend fire a gun from a distance. when the gun is fired keep walking at the same pace with no reaction no praise and don't allow him to stop. then gradually decrease the distance when the dog shows no reaction

Fair enough about the praise. But i would have though you would offer the dog reassurance..

elius wrote: »
    Fair enough about the praise. But i would have though you would offer the dog reassurance..

you do offer reassurance by not reacting. your telling him i'm not worried, no need to panic. if you bend over to him and tell him everything is ok he knows something has happened to cause you to react. if you praise him and tell him what a good boy he is your telling him it's good to be scared. you can praise him though when the shot eventually gets no reaction from him but i wouldn't bother.

A well said lad there's no substitute for knowledge..

seen knock dante in action a few times fine strong dog. think he won the championship a few years back and got ikc dog of the year. alot of good pups from him around

He got Dog of the year 2 years running & from reading the ISD it seems his owner is brining on 1 or 2 pups for the last while so he might be winding him down a bit. Either way he's a fine dog & throwing out good pups. Headstrong little feckers but the potential is there ;)

I was torn between a pup form him or from English Setter "New Edition"
    Mate has a pup from him & he's a v v stylish dog. One of those ones that will really stalks & his belly nearly hits the floor when he winds a bird let alone when he locates it. You'd shoot every pheasant with him.

We work the 2 young dogs together though & they're fast becoming a good team either side of a ditch. :cool:

Ah all this talk, Role on Nov!!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

The English and German pointer are two totally different breeds! The German pointer is known as a H.P.R breed, thats (HUNT. POINT.RETRIEVE)
    In other words, there an all rounder!

On the other hand, the English pointer is bred to hunt and point only!

Now there are lots of exceptions to this rule, and i know there's lads on here with English pointers that will retrieve as good as any dog, and probably some with Germans that don't retrieve at all, but as standard goes, the Germans tend to be more natural retrievers, tend to like the water more so, than the English pointers!

The English pointers greatest asset is his nose, which is far superior to the Germans! They hunt in a totally different way and tend to hold their heads high catching any sent on the wind sometimes from a long distance!
    The German pointer usually keeps his head lower to the ground working closer to the guns!

Its said that the H.P.R breeds are a( jack of all trades and master of none,) but i disagree with that and think both breeds are excelent hunting dogs and a joy to work with!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

I work with 2 English pointers myself. Great dogs, unfortunately because I was away from home for a long-time they are now better pets than they are hunters! One is now showing her age a bit and I dont like to push her too hard as she gets a wee bit stiff...
    I would def get an english pointer again, I often thought that a pointer would work well beside a cocker on the type of ground I hunt.

well wicklow sorry to hear that about oscar the poor divil thats only a new thing with him because plenty of birds were shot over him and he retrevied them aswell. did the vet say what was the cause of the bursted blood vesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

DavyDee wrote: »
    Germans and English pointers work slightly different from what im told, germans were bred from a number of hounds as well as english and spanish pointers. They actually taste the scent off their jowels as well as their nose, I dont think english pointers have this capability as they have not been bred from hounds. This is why german pointers are used to track blood scents for deer stalking.

english pointers are bread from bloodhounds, greyhounds, bull terriers and something else i cant recall. Look them up on the net. There is four breeds in them. Edit: fourth breed is foxhound

Howya VH. Vet thought it might have been from shaking his head if he had mites. Still mad to retrieve. Shame I cant get him over the noise.

my fella went like that. I put a thread up here i think. Could have been another site though. Got plenty of tips. He's grand now. He was grand at first then became shy. Now he gives a little 'jump' when i fire the first shot but thats all it is. He stil goes and retrieves and settles down after that. Il try find the link and post it for ya

That would be great. Cheers.

as far as i'm aware all dogs have that 6th sense where they can taste scent. thats why you see all pointers and setters hunt with their mouth open and if you watch them on point they often open and close their mouths as if tasting

Not in the same manner as GSP's as well ask working like setters and EP's they can also hunt completely different once fully matured and hunting properly. German pointers taste the scent from the front of the mouth also but mainly from the bottom of the mouth or cheek flews as a blood hound does where as setters and EP's taste it from the front of the mouth only, which in theory should make the german pointer better at working ground scents! They are the only pointing dog which can follow a blood scent!

Dusty87 wrote: »
    english pointers are bread from bloodhounds, greyhounds, bull terriers and something else i cant recall. Look them up on the net. There is four breeds in them. Edit: fourth breed is foxhound

and alot more besides

Went with the english pointer lads. 16 months old. Very keen to hunt and not gun shy. Did not get to see her point but the lad I got her off said she is pointing so hoping for the best. Any advise on dos and donts? Going to get her walking with me on the lead first to get to know one another. Would like to get her coming back to the whistle and dropping to it. Where do I go from there? First pointer so dont want to make any mistakes.

best of luck with the new dog, cant offer much in the way of pointers but hope she works out, throw up a pic if you can

Welcome the dark side! If she's any good we might talk about pups in a few years! :D

As regards training - there are heaps of threads on here with advice on setters/pointers.

She's not quiet a pup anymore so I'd be looking at serious training now.
    Give her a week or 2 though of knowing you before venturing into the field. If you do keep her on a long lead & introduce the whistle ASAP.

Pics indeed??

Best of luck :cool:

best of luck wn hope you have better luck with this dog

Thanks lads. Will get some pics up in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

ive said it before il say it again. . . .

would the wise old folks that know best not considder an auld STICKY for the dos the donts the musts the must nots, for all those handy little tips that only someone has who walked the line before you can give in the joyus mayhem that is training a gun dog. . .

join me lads if you will in a here here for said suggestion. . . :D:D

dicky82 wrote: »
    ive said it before il say it again. . . .

would the wise old folks that know best not considder an auld STICKY for the dos the donts the musts the must nots, for all those handy little tips that only someone has who walked the line before you can give in the joyus mayhem that is training a gun dog. . .

join me lads if you will in a here here for said suggestion. . . :D:D

Oh dicky your walkin a fine line there! There was blood & tears last time this was argued! :D
    No brainer for dog training thread. Most other forums have it which possibly draws folks away from boards..:rolleyes:

Oh dicky your walkin a fine line there! There was blood & tears last time this was argued! :D
    No brainer for dog training thread. Most other forums have it which possibly draws folks away from boards..:rolleyes:

But if we have a sticky on dogs, we'll have to have one on ferrets...........:rolleyes: :D:D
    I agree dicky, its a no brainer

Can we have one? can we?? can we???:)

my advice is to think very carefully. she is 16 months now so my guess is you would like to hunt her the coming season. my guess also is she has little or no training done. if that's the case you have a choice. work really hard on the recall and get that set in the best you can till the season comes along or if you want her trained to a higher standard forget hunting her this season and train her properly. in my opinion you won't do both properly and end up with not much of either if you try

Thinking I would love to get her properly trained. How practical you lads think that is? Also how much you think it might cost? My funds are limited but I would love to have this dog right if only as a clue to how I should work on my future dogs.

the lads might have other ideas but it won't be easy to start a 16 month old dog. any training that you do will have to do will be away from game and she is at a stage that she needs to be getting on game. i don't think a trainer will do anything much for you that you couldn't achieve yourself. there is a reason pups are started at a young age and thats because they learn quickly and they have no bad habbit's got. i'd concentrate on the recall and then you have control.

The lad I got her off said he had her out towards the end of last season and shot 3 birds over her. She is not responding well to her name though. I think she may have been put into a pen at the end of the season and not given any attention since. Showing her a bit of kindness at the moment to try and build trust while constantly using her name. This the way forward for a week before trying to get her to come when called? The lad i got her off said he had her on the whistle but thatshe needed re training to it...

The lad i got her off said he had her on the whistle but thatshe needed re training to it...

So in other words, he didnt:rolleyes:
    Have you any pics WN? Wouldnt mind seeing her