Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourite memory of your parents?

• 28-05-2010 12:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

We all have different memories, and usually are born to two different people; steady father mad mother, or vice versa. So what are your favourite memories? When you just thought "Wow, they're both a bit cool."

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

When you just thought "Wow, they're both a bit cool."

That'd be the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The time they gave me a visual sex education lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

The time they gave me a visual sex education lesson.

That's my least favourite memory. :( Lock ye're fookin' door.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Ah you gotta go first man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

My dad is recently deceased, and he was driving myself and a friend to the pub. We were talking about drug dealers in the news, and he piped up "sure I used to smoke the weeds back in my day". It wasn't cool but feck me he'd tried so hard I still think of it and beam. A few more years and he would have been like Snoop Doggy Dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't think I could ever pick a favourite memory of my parents. It's pretty difficult to choose just one moment from twenty one years.

This is probably a strange 'un, but a few years ago, my dad, who suffers from epilepsy, had a seizure while at work. I will always remember the relief when I saw him in hospital after that. He was black and blue, but sitting up and having a joke and I can't even describe how happy I felt.
    We're both pretty closed off when it comes to emotion and there are no 'I love you's' etc., but that day made me realise how much he means to me.
    When I walked into the room, he said, "For god's sake Novella, why am I paying your college fees when you're taking days off like this?!" and I said, "For god's sake dad, why are you in a hospital bed when you should be out earning money to pay my fees?!"

Yeah, he's the best dad ever <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Nothing to suggest they were 'cool' really, but I remember coming downstairs at christmas when I was 6 to find them putting my bmx under the tree and they pretended they just heard santy and came down and saw it and then the aul man tried to cycle it

Then every christmas they would convince me that they just saw santy flying across the sky then i'd leg it over to the window and nearly go through it

Also the fact that while I thought they were both virgins till marriage, I ended up talking to the aul man and one of his mates when they were absolutely locked one night and they proceeded to tell me of their escapades at the old dancehalls of the day. They were a tag team that would find a couple of girls,, bring them back a field for a bit of slap 'n tickle then get one of their friends to ride them afterwards to cover their tracks.

Ah the chivalry of yore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We all have different memories, and usually are born to two different people; steady father mad mother, or vice versa. So what are your favourite memories? When you just thought "Wow, they're both a bit cool."

Whats yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wasn't really cool, more twisted.

I hid my packet of Marlboro Red in my brothers FCA Uniform at home. He was long gone, 10 years at least at that stage. Thought they'd never be found. Arrived back from school with the pack of Marlboro awaiting me at the top of the fridge, between the door leading to the kitchen and the back door leading from it.

How the feck did that get there and how the hell did she think of searching my brothers 10 year old FCA Uniform?

More sadistically, she let me stew staring at the 20 pack, dying for a smoke and wondering when will this end, for 3 hours. Typical Irish mother.

As for Dad, well, his honesty and general civility is my memory of him. I can only remember him speaking bad of anybody only once, that's my memory of him. That is the memory that will always stick with me. He never spoke badly of anybody, that the one time he did, it stood out as my one outstanding recollection of him.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

super-rush wrote: »
    Whats yours?

Sorry. My Dad was a bit of a here-and-thereian while my mother was/is quite sensible.(Homer and Marge). They were both dressed up for the annual Quinnsworth black tie management do. My dad was an accountant and my mother was convinced he could be CEO if he just applied himself.:rolleyes:

I was crippled with an ear-ache which I assured them was nothing (still the most pain I've ever been in;I was thirteen now I'm forty). My mother turned around and said, "Does he look alright to you Martin?" to which my Dad replied "No, but if I said so I would have thought you were only thinking I was saying so to get out of this?" To which my mother's reply was, "I couldn't give a **** about your job or your boss".

"Well thanks be to God for that. At least we agree on something.":)

I still remember my Dad in his tuxedo taking me to the doctor's and offering me a cigarette ( the first time he acknowledged officially that we both knew I smoked) while we tried to find a late night pharmacy to fill my prescription for painkillers and anti-biotics

Christ I still miss him.:(

But Mam's grand.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I cant really think of one in particular. There have been loads of occasions that ive thought "my parents are the coolest".

e.g.
    My dad saying he saw Rory Gallagher, Thin Lizzy, Led Zepellin and Deep Purple in concert.

Letting me go out clubbing when i was 16, "as long as i didnt get arrested or wake them up when i got home" :pac:

Them coming to one of my gigs and getting pissed on shots of sambuka and havin a laugh.

Their advice in general. Im 26 and they're still 2 of the smartest people i know