Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work Experience with ES.

• 27-05-2010 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

I have seen it in another post where people have went to Garda Stations for work Exp. I am wondering if this still happens or has it ever happend,?

I would love to do work exp. with one of the services but I would like to know if its allowed I am not looking to go out on the fornt line just too see how things happen and get some info and the like.

If anyone could help it would be much appriciated.

I have seen it in another post where people have went to Garda Stations for work Exp. I am wondering if this still happens or has it ever happend,?

I would love to do work exp. with one of the services but I would like to know if its allowed I am not looking to go out on the fornt line just too see how things happen and get some info and the like.

Contact your local district headquarters. If you don't know which one it is post your general location and i'm sure someone can point you in the right direction.

I dropped a letter up to Drogheda fire station a few weeks ago (to ask to take photos there) and the guy taking it off me asked if it was a letter looking for work experience. I said no, so I didn't get any more info on it (wish I had, though).

As far as I know you can apply for work experience with AGS for 'administration' work, though i've heard from someone that they did AGS Work experience and they got to go out on patrol with the lads. Dunno if it was a once-off or a lot of times, but I barely know the person that told me, so I'm not sure if I believe him or not. Kinda don't, to be honest.

St. Johns Ambulance, as far as I know, will let you volunteer and you don't need any pre-requisites (though of course if you're not suitable or trained for being in an ambulance, then, again, it's likely you'd be doing administative work).

Don't know how the HSE work.

As far as I know, the other lads, like river rescue groups and such, are always welcoming new volunteers.

Would like to do work experience with AGS to be honest, but I think they're more geared towards transition year students. On top of that, it'd probably be boring as hell. The full-timers would be doing the good, frontline stuff, the reserves seem to do all the not-so-exciting around-the-station stuff, I'm fairly sure they're all capable of sweeping up and making tea, and as such... I can't really picture what you'd do on work experience with them. :confused::(

Would actually love to hear from anyone who has done experience with a Garda station or a Garda whose had a person do work experience at their station.
    (sorry to kind hijack your thread OP :o )

EDIT:
    An Garda Siochana facilitates work experience where possible for Students during Transition Year at secondary level only.

From here;

http://www.careersportal.ie/organisations/career_opportunities.php?client_id=28#5

Don't know how accurate it is though. It also says you need Irish to join, but that's not true anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

St. Johns Ambulance, as far as I know, will let you volunteer and you don't need any pre-requisites (though of course if you're not suitable or trained for being in an ambulance, then, again, it's likely you'd be doing administative work).

Eh, no they don't.

You can tag along on local Divisional duties to see how things are dealt with. Also if you are in the process of doing a first aid course and wish to join, you can assist with treatments UNDER SUPERVISION.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I have only ever seen transition year students coming to my station for work experience. In my station the students see how the district office and public office works. It can be pretty boring because they dont get to see a whole lot. For obvious reasons most, if not all, students do not get to go out in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Ziycon

My sister and a few others(4 people) did work exp. in south dublin with AGS about 2 years ago, spent 2 weeks with them, moved between a couple of stations and got to see a bit of everything, she said it was very interesting.

She also did work exp. with the DFB in their training facility out the north side, she got to be a casualty in a crash crash and try out some of the equipment.

sgt.bilko wrote: »

Eh, no they don't.

You can tag along on local Divisional duties to see how things are dealt with. Also if you are in the process of doing a first aid course and wish to join, you can assist with treatments UNDER SUPERVISION.

No offence or anything... but isn't that pretty much what I said? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Tango November.

Thanks For the Replys,

I am in the Irish Red Cross so no St,Johns for me !!

I might send a coupe of emails to different people and see what happens !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

The HSE are not licensed to bring passengers in the ambulance without EMT or Paramedic training in the least, which neither you will have if you are under 18.

However, you may get Work Experience in an ambulance depot and you may also get work experience in the ambulance training college.

As for Gardaí, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

The HSE are not licensed to bring passengers in the ambulance without EMT or Paramedic training in the least

Surely that's harsh on injured or sick people with only EFR or less?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

The HSE are not licensed to bring passengers in the ambulance without EMT or Paramedic training in the least, which neither you will have if you are under 18.

However, you may get Work Experience in an ambulance depot and you may also get work experience in the ambulance training college.

Can you back up the above please. Would be very interested to know where you got this information from ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 monkeysox

"licenced?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

The HSE are reluctant to take anyone on work experience on an ambulance, even if they have insurance. They won't even facilitate EMTs on their placements (apart from the odd few stations around the country). I couldn't get anything from the HSE ambulance wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

Elessar wrote: »
    The HSE are reluctant to take anyone on work experience on an ambulance, even if they have insurance. They won't even facilitate EMTs on their placements (apart from the odd few stations around the country). I couldn't get anything from the HSE ambulance wise.

Hse where more than happy to take me and numerous others over the years as part of my placements as a student Garda, actually done my placement in your local ambo station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

The guards have been doing that for years, because they have to (work exp with another ES). I don't know if it's national or a local level decisions are made, but I know many many people who tried getting placements on NAS ambulances without success. One did get placement for a week or so in a station however. These were EMT students.

However another two got ambulance placements in Galway and Limerick IIRC. Seems it might be a local decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Elessar wrote: »
    The guards have been doing that for years, because they have to (work exp with another ES). I don't know if it's national or a local level decisions are made, but I know many many people who tried getting placements on NAS ambulances without success. One did get placement for a week or so in a station however. These were EMT students.

However another two got ambulance placements in Galway and Limerick IIRC. Seems it might be a local decision.

Its a local decision as far as I can see.

Its also down to why your doing the EMT course (just for the hell or are you AGS, Fire, CG etc), the organisation your with (facts are some are liked and some arent) and of course who you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

I don't know.

That's all your post should say. Work experience in the college? Not "licenced" to take passengers without minimum EMT? Really?

Stick to the building Bob. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

... and of course who you know.

Ah yes, the old health board mentality is still alive and well here in the HSE. It's ALL about who you know really. :)