Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England vs Barbarians, Sunday 30 May 5pm SS3

• 26-05-2010 4:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rugby365.com/news/2437560.htm
    http://www.rugby365.com/news/2438161.htm

Barbarians.png

15 Paul Warwick, 14 Paul Sackey, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Florian Fritz, 11 Cedric Heymans, 10 Jean-Baptiste Ellisalde, 9 Byron Kelleher
    8 Xavier Rush (captain), 7 Martyn Williams, 6 Rodney So'oialo, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Ross Skeate, 3 Julian White, 2 Benoit August, 1 Rodrigo Roncero

Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Census Johnston, 18 Jerome Thion, 19 George Smith, 20 Pierre Mignoni, 21 Fabrice Estebanez, 22 David Smith

England-Rugby.jpg

15 Ben Foden, 14 Mark Cueto, 13 Mike Tindall, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 David Strettle, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Danny Care,
    8 Nick Easter (captain), 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 James Haskell, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Dave Attwood, 3 Paul Doran-Jones, 2 Steve Thompson, 1 Jon Golding.

Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Tim Payne, 18 Dan Ward-Smith, 19 Joe Worsley, 20 Joe Simpson, 21 Olly Barkley, 22 Mathew Tait.

Date: Sunday, May 30
    Venue: Twickenham, London
    Kick-off: 17.00 (16.00 GMT)
    Referee: Jérôme Garces
    Assistant referees: Romain Poite, Pascal Gauzere
    TMO: Bob Ockenden, David Matthews

With no Leicester players available, England look very week indeed (no Cole, Deacon, Moody, Youngs, Flood, Hipkiss).

With no Wilkinson either, Johnno turns to Charlie Hodgson to pull the strings at 10.

The Baa Baas are very strong in the back row and from 9 to 13. Let's hope all the Toulouse players get a chance to 'be themselves'. They have some quality replacements too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Thats some Barbarians team, can't see past a Ba's Ba's win here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Thats some Barbarians team, can't see past a Ba's Ba's win here.

You can never call that. Not with the hangovers they'll have.

Disappointed not to see more Irish lads involved. I always am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

england picked a poor team, hodgen is back at 10, the babas will tear them apart. 20 plus im going for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

outwest wrote: »
    england picked a poor team, hodgen is back at 10, the babas will tear them apart. 20 plus im going for

To be fair, the Leicester players' absence leave a huge void. Bar Phil Dowson, Courtney Lawes and Chris Ashton (strangely all Northampton Saints) I can't think of many players who would massively improve that team. Hartley and Wilkinson are injured too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Could be a try fest but when England are down and out with nowhere to go...and without Borthwick - could this be the future? I realise that he is down to play for Sacracens v Leicester in the Guinness Premiership Final on Saturday but Lewis Moody is named as captain for the tour of Australia. Incidentally, Jonny Wilkinson fans may be glad to know that his injuries sustained in the European Challenge Cup Final were minor and he will be in the tour party for Australia. :D

C'MON ENGLAND!

England_rugby.png

Gotta save my atrocious betting weekend with a few quid on the Barbarians. C'mon lads. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

TV?

bleg wrote: »
    TV?

Sky Sports 3

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Gotta save my atrocious betting weekend with a few quid on the Barbarians. C'mon lads. :(

Same as! Frack that thing of not betting on the ba bas :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I have a feeling you'll be breaking out a few tissues...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Wow, definitely a yellow, armitage was well in

Christ Almighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Warwick deciding that he's playing tag rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

The Baa Baas must still be feeling the effects of their exerts last night

Stev_o wrote: »
    Warwick deciding that he's playing tag rugby.

and then he kicks the ball away :rolleyes:

What stream is everybody watching on? Iraq goals not working for me. Please!!

The Baa Baa's defence is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Hate that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Are they experimenting with a new set of rules today? Or is there another reason why they didn't bother tackling him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

England playing some lovely running rugby, but awful awful defence from Baa Baas

I have a feeling you'll be breaking out a few tissues...

man-crying-tissue_~b13163.jpg

Got it now - 20 Nil to England - God is home!! :D

****ing disgrace to the jersey they are.*

*Opinion may be related to my wager.

warick is playing awful, poor tackle

Classy try from England!

What's the score now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭PJ Maybe

25-7 at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

What stream is everybody watching on? Iraq goals not working for me. Please!!

it's working for me. http://iraqgoals.net/8937-rugby-england-vs-barbarians.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Try for Tindall.

Only MJ would manage to take off two of his better playing players (Attwood and Golding) and replaces them with two useless players then fail to realise Tindall is dead on his feet and instead take of Hape. What a absolute ejit when it comes to managing hasnt a clue. Why Care is still on the field i just don't know!

Ill laugh if England loose this, what a shambles of a regime:rolleyes:

England bore the world to death in the last stages of the game as they are completely outplayed, nothing's changed just more weight to the argument that the managerial staff are utter clueless. Thompson, Attwood Golding, Cueto and to a degree Tindall can be happy with themselves the rest can go feck off to the pastures.

martin is a joke of a coach,
    his decisions are awful

england are a poor team with johnson as coach, nothing but overhyped.

if cockers was given the team i bet england would be world class,

Wow, the begrudgers are out in force! Just back from the pub from the second half and I'm delighted, apart from my 15/8 win with P.Power, and England thoroughly deserved the win. After disappointment on all Irish fronts this season I'll take my happiness wherever I can find it. Thought Cueto had a stormer - is there a Man of the match in Baa Baa fixtures? Anyway, possibly one of the worst Baa Baa performances for years with possibly one of the best English - especially considering their missing and injured players. Anybody who is a genuine rugby follower will know how hard it is to keep the concentration levels up, especially in defence, when your team is 'apparently' cruising. How many times have we seen it? Any **** the begrudgers - I'm happy. :D

England-Rugby.jpg

Sore loser judging from your last post. :p

Wow, the begrudgers are out in force! Just back from the pub from the second half and I'm delighted, apart from my 15/8 win with P.Power, and England thoroughly deserved the win. After disappointment on all Irish fronts this season I'll take my happiness wherever I can find it. Thought Cueto had a stormer - is there a Man of the match in Baa Baa fixtures? Anyway, possibly one of the worst Baa Baa performances for years with possibly one of the best English - especially considering their missing and injured players. Anybody who is a genuine rugby follower will know how hard it is to keep the concentration levels up, especially in defence, when your team is 'apparently' cruising. How many times have we seen it? Any **** the begrudgers - I'm happy. :D

England-Rugby.jpg

Fair play but I think you're crazy. Thought England were played off the pitch in the second half. The only thing I'd agree with you about is Cueto.

Thought the best players on the pitch were Cueto, Heymans, Ellisalde, Roncero, Laulala, maybe Armitage in parts and So'oialo. And Johnston and the Smiths were very impressive subsitutes.

England were very lucky that they were playing the Barbarians today, because if this game had been important, and actually meant something to these players they wouldn't have walked in such simple tries.

Didn't watch the second half, good to see it wasn't a trouncing.

Did the fans boo England's last try? The Beeb says so. :D

Didn't watch the second half, good to see it wasn't a trouncing.

Did the fans boo England's last try? The Beeb says so. :D

Didn't see that. They did boo England when they elected to kick at the end, but I understand it.

Oops, meant penalty, not try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

There is and he rightfully won it. Great attacking play.

BaaBaas defence was pretty poor for a while, especially Tindall's try but England did play well and look to play expansively when they did. All about closing out the match at the end, nothing wrong with that. They did have a prolonged period of lapsed concentration though which would be worrying from and English perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

martin is a joke of a coach,
    his decisions are awful

england are a poor team with johnson as coach, nothing but overhyped.

if cockers was given the team i bet england would be world class,

England aren't overhyped at all! They've the worst coach at international level by far.

They've a very talented group of players, played some very good rugby at times, and then got hamstrung by an inept coach as per usual.