Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Subaru Legacy B4

• 26-05-2010 1:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone on here own/used to own one of the above? Jap spec.

If so, yes or no? The one I'm talking about is 00, 111kms, brought in from Japan and never got a sniff or normal petrol, only maxol E5 with the boost additive.

Any advice from past owners much appriciated. I've currently got two past owners telling me stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Anyone on here own/used to own one of the above? Jap spec.

If so, yes or no? The one I'm talking about is 00, 111kms, brought in from Japan and never got a sniff or normal petrol, only maxol E5 with the boost additive.

Any advice from past owners much appriciated. I've currently got two past owners telling me stay away.

Owned one 3 years ago for about 6 months. Good car/ atrocious fuel consumption. Anywhere from 20mpg around town to maybe scraping 25/26 on a long run.
    Well thats what i was getting anyway. But thats the price you pay for a car that can do 160mph & puts out 265bhp?

Take her for a good hard test drive to check that the sequential turbos are working properly.
    Any rough hesitation during acceleration = stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

It's actually converted to single turbo, and over 5.5k revs and it's giving me whiplash. I was talking to a lad who said he had bad fuel economy because the intial turbo kicks in at 3.5k revs, so that means cruising on the motorway at 70 the turbo is always going, where as this single turbo you could save that little bit.

The thing that is worrying me is the two lads who had them, then crank blew out of the block, possibly due to mis fueling.

I know the lad who is selling it very well, he's giving me 3 months on the engine as well if I do buy, just to calm my nerves... I can't see myself selling her too handy in a month or two months time if I got bored though, there in lies the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I'd assume the car has been remapped for the single turbo?

So it should be putting out 300bhp ++?

What other mods have been done to compliment the single turbo conversion?

If its been remappped there should be no need for octane booster, if it hasn't been re mapped walk away from it.

If he's changed it to a single turbo without properly remapping it then it could be running lean or rich, either way the engine wont be liking it.

There a serious cruiser though with loads of torque and power, 4wd, look decent.

They need lots of care but if you put it in you wont have that much trouble, service it every 4k km, always let oil heat up before engaging the turbo, always let it cool down before switching off(get a turbo timer, it should have one if its been in Ireland any amount of time), dont take it on short drives, etc..

Price of it? there worth nothing these days

Price of it seems cheap enough for a 00, again the remap I'll have to ask him. But I'm sure it has been.

He's a mechanic so he has looked after it fairly well. I'm just toying with ideas of what to get next, in my budget. This is coming into it but I hadn't even considered anything Subaru before.

Mods AFAIK are it's superchipped with a straight through pipe from the manifold back. He bought it in from Japan so that it would never have been run on low octane fuel, and he's ran it on Maxol with the higher octane. Filling the tank with the boost and emptying the tank, then filling etc. It seems like it would be a fairly expensive car to run, but I'd still have the Golf so I'd mainly be using it for weekends etc.

As I said, he's a mechanic so he'll look after me on the servicing side of it, so keeping it regularily serviced shouldn't be a problem...

Price of it seems cheap enough for a 00, again the remap I'll have to ask him. But I'm sure it has been.

He's a mechanic so he has looked after it fairly well. I'm just toying with ideas of what to get next, in my budget. This is coming into it but I hadn't even considered anything Subaru before.

Mods AFAIK are it's superchipped with a straight through pipe from the manifold back. He bought it in from Japan so that it would never have been run on low octane fuel, and he's ran it on Maxol with the higher octane. Filling the tank with the boost and emptying the tank, then filling etc. It seems like it would be a fairly expensive car to run, but I'd still have the Golf so I'd mainly be using it for weekends etc.

As I said, he's a mechanic so he'll look after me on the servicing side of it, so keeping it regularily serviced shouldn't be a problem...

Superchip would make me a little wary, it would suggest it hasn't been remapped properly by a Subaru specialist.

Is it still being run on Maxol and Octane booster? If so then it hasn't been remapped.

They are expensive enough to run, fuel costs being the big one, servicing shouldn't be too over the top though. If you need parts plenty of them are in pieces around the country too.

draffodx wrote: »
    If you need parts plenty of them are in pieces around the country too.

I heard that too, so that scares me a little, lol. Most of them being engineless...

Thanks for the help, I seem to be only told to go in one direction, away lol.

I heard that too, so that scares me a little, lol. Most of them being engineless...

Thanks for the help, I seem to be only told to go in one direction, away lol.

If your willing to look after the car and learn as much as possible about running it then I wouldn't be put off.

They just need to be minded more than your average car.

The reason there are loads of horror stories is because idiots bought them without doing proper research into them and then driving them without giving them what they need.

At one stage they were:
    Around the €10k mark
    VERY easy to insure

And with 280bhp on the spec sheet they appealled to all the apprentices with more money than sense, most of these guys had no real interest in cars, just saw 280bhp with cheap insurance and though happy days.

They then proceeded to drive the tits off them and pop the engines.

So the engine will only let go if its abused and not looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭padunne

I am considering buying a b4 rsk around 2000 year or so and am just wondering what are the major issues to look out for apart from what is discussed above. All the ones i'm looking at are twin turbo and have been in Ireland for a while. Are they ran on a smaller and bigger turbo to accomodate revs are they equal?

padunne wrote: »
    I am considering buying a b4 rsk around 2000 year or so and am just wondering what are the major issues to look out for apart from what is discussed above. All the ones i'm looking at are twin turbo and have been in Ireland for a while. Are they ran on a smaller and bigger turbo to accomodate revs are they equal?

If you want to take a look at the one I was looking at give me a shout, it's a single turbo and it's mint. Just the above is putting me off slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Check out www.isdc.ie if its about Subaru, the lads there will

know, might even sell you one.

Superchip would make me a little wary, it would suggest it hasn't been remapped properly by a Subaru specialist.

Is it still being run on Maxol and Octane booster? If so then it hasn't been remapped.

It has to have been re-mapped for the single turbo but possibly not mapped to run on 95 octane as it would mean less power. I think a car like that is better running on higher octane anyway tbh if its handy to get it.

LM did you get any insurance quotes? I have been toying with the idea of an s15 silvia spec R and its impossible to get insurance quotes (online anyway) even on a standard one. A lot of company's don't want to know about jap imports. I have heard it from other lads too that its getting very very difficult to insure jap import performance cars, which is a right pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well i love subaru, lovely boxer "bur bur" allways make something wigle in my pants. :D

On the ather side, i wouldnt touch non remaped subaru from japan, specially legacy. Its SOOOOOOO dodgy.

Perfectly, i would import car myself, then get it for remap same day. you can toy a bit with Toyota turbos, as they got self learning ecu, any non turbo car etc, but dont play with subaru engines...

I would walk away from that one, but if you really interested in subaru, go to subaru owners club, there is allways for sale a few nice b4, which are properly looked after.

It has to have been re-mapped for the single turbo but possibly not mapped to run on 95 octane as it would mean less power. I think a car like that is better running on higher octane anyway tbh if its handy to get it.

Shouldn't be throwing octane booster into it after a remap though, it would be a waste of money.

well i was thinking... maybe it was converted to single turbo in japan, so it was mapped in japan for single turbo, and when it came here it wasnt maped at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

well i was thinking... maybe it was converted to single turbo in japan, so it was mapped in japan for single turbo, and when it came here it wasnt maped at all...

That would make sense.

If it was switched to a single turbo in Ireland, they'd be remapping it anyways, so you'd imagine they would just remap it for our own octane while they were at it. They may not have though and you won't know until you ask.

That wouldn't put me off though since a lot of Legacy owners just add extra octane rather than remapping. You'll lose some power by remapping down to our standard octane levels.

Just don't forget to keep the octane up and you'll be grand. Use Matt Simis' excel sheet for a good way of keeping tabs on it.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66041757&postcount=1

Don't know why he would need octane booster in addition to E5 which is around 99ron, but I do know people who re-mapped their cars to run on 97ron+ as it has more power and is better for the car but they need to have access to E5 in order to do this. I know most if not all performance mapping done in the UK is done for 97ron as it is in every station there but is some what expensive.

Off topic but may be of interest to somebody :there is another option which is water injection. Using this a car mapped for 97ron+ can run on 95ron with no detonation problems. I know someone who has been using it for a while with no issues whatsoever.

Vertakill wrote: »
    That would make sense.

If it was switched to a single turbo in Ireland, they'd be remapping it anyways, so you'd imagine they would just remap it for our own octane while they were at it. They may not have though and you won't know until you ask.

That wouldn't put me off though since a lot of Legacy owners just add extra octane rather than remapping. You'll lose some power by remapping down to our standard octane levels.

Just don't forget to keep the octane up and you'll be grand. Use Matt Simis' excel sheet for a good way of keeping tabs on it.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66041757&postcount=1

hmmm anather thing came to my head... if they had maped it in japan for single turbo, it means it has a proper ecu... so remaping it to petrol in here wouldnt be a problem...

Dunno, just that particular car smells a bit fishy... And i agree, it would be idiotic to remap car for single turbo, and then keep jap fuel map...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

LM did you get any insurance quotes? I have been toying with the idea of an s15 silvia spec R and its impossible to get insurance quotes (online anyway) even on a standard one. A lot of company's don't want to know about jap imports. I have heard it from other lads too that its getting very very difficult to insure jap import performance cars, which is a right pain.

How old are you if you dont mind me asking? Because im 22 and I can get quotes on spec R's and B4's.

Testament1 wrote: »
    How old are you if you dont mind me asking? Because im 22 and I can get quotes on spec R's and B4's.

Same as i'm 20 with 3 years ncb and can get cheap enough quotes from axa and places like that for b4, 2l non turbo s14's etc and that is the whole reason i'm considering buying a b4. Only problem is i don't want to run in to major problems because i probably wont have the money to fix it.

Dont buy a car that you cant afford to maintain.

Testament1 wrote: »

25 and 5 years ncb.

I got one online quote alright and it wasn't too bad. I would probably get a few more if I rang brokers etc. I didn't try for a B4 just the s15. I can get very good quotes for UK or Ireland spec 200sx's which in reality are very similar to the silvia so thats why I think jap imports are getting difficult to insure.

As I said didnt try the B4, non-turbos are easy enough to insure so If they are standard but I know a lad insuring a modified s15 spec s and only one company out of about 20 he tried will even consider insuring him and they will only because he is already with them.

I realise this but what i really mean is if the engine blew or whatever due to a previous owner not servicing correctly. I would be able to keep it regularily serviced and small parts replaced but if the engine was to go for example id be screwed.

Never had thought about buying one but it came into budget and is insurable so am considering getting one as I really like them.

Any other ideas on similar cars with less hassle and easy insurable.

wise words...

if you really woried about running costs, then subaru wouldnt be the best bet m8. Those are briliant cars, but you have to look after them. It is performance car after all.

What kind of cars you had before? any turbo cars in your experience?

If that one of the first performance cars and you dont whant to get cought with huge costs, then maybe consider something diferent?

get a honda accord type-R maybe? 4 doors, alot of power for a 4 door saloon ( non turbo), easy to insure.

then when you have experience to look after something easyer go for scooby ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

wise words...

if you really woried about running costs, then subaru wouldnt be the best bet m8. Those are briliant cars, but you have to look after them. It is performance car after all.

What kind of cars you had before? any turbo cars in your experience?

If that one of the first performance cars and you dont whant to get cought with huge costs, then maybe consider something diferent?

get a honda accord type-R maybe? 4 doors, alot of power for a 4 door saloon ( non turbo), easy to insure.

then when you have experience to look after something easyer go for scooby ;)

Yeah i agree. Having owned a B4 a few years ago OP you really need to understand the running costs & extra servicing involved in these cars. They do need to be pampered a bit more than your average motor.

But the honda agrument is a good one. As you probably know yourself its hard to beat the vtec engines & they're bulletproof & won't hit you so hard in the pocket for petrol.

To be very honest with you i found ownership of the B4 a bit stressfull.

What about an SIR civic or a beams altezza?

Ya I agree I prob should stay away from the b4 as it would be my first turbo car i own and should prob build experience first. I have decent experience and knowledge or driving these cars but thats about the height of it. I was trying to go rwd or 4wd if i could but i might just stick with teg type r or similar. I want something reasonably big too so I might try looking into the accord, which are a nice car.

Any others around 4-5k mark let me know please. Thanks in advance.

Ya I agree I prob should stay away from the b4 as it would be my first turbo car i own and should prob build experience first. I have decent experience and knowledge or driving these cars but thats about the height of it. I was trying to go rwd or 4wd if i could but i might just stick with teg type r or similar. I want something reasonably big too so I might try looking into the accord, which are a nice car.

Any others around 4-5k mark let me know please. Thanks in advance.

I offered acourd type-r as i presumed you need something 4 door with a kick. Its briliant car thought, i was thinking seriuosly about one myself as daily driver a month ago.

I see i am not the one to tell, to stay away from subaru for awile, untill you get some more experience.

i could suggest you this for your budget now:

Honda accord type-R
    Toyota altezza ( not lexus is200 m8)
    Volvo s70R/s70 t5

now for a few 2 door ones:

Honda civic type-R
    honda integra type-R
    Toyota mr2
    Toyota glanza ( oh i can feel the tourches being lightened on )
    Volvo c70 t5
    200sx ( thought it would be a turbo car m8, but it would be easyer to look after then scooby)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

4-5k, if you want something turbo, rwd, and probably just as hard on petrol.... Nissan skyline? R32 or R33 gtst. Should be easy enough to pick one up for that money.

i think the insurance is issue, as i would suggested that aswell :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

i think the insurance is issue, as i would suggested that aswell :o

The skyline would probably have cheaper insurance than a type R though, generally scummers/young people don't tend to go for them, and there wouldn't be as much insurance claims for skylines therefore they should be easier to insure...

Could be wrong but that's the way I see it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

25 and 5 years ncb.

I got one online quote alright and it wasn't too bad. I would probably get a few more if I rang brokers etc. I didn't try for a B4 just the s15. I can get very good quotes for UK or Ireland spec 200sx's which in reality are very similar to the silvia so thats why I think jap imports are getting difficult to insure.

You'll find that anything that isn't a bog standard car doesn't get quoted online.

Also most of the online quote sites have assumptions that the car isn't imported, which I queried once as all cars are imported into Ireland and they said Jap imports!!, so I wouldn't trust the quotes anyway.

If you call the insurance companies they'll give you a quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Ya I agree I prob should stay away from the b4 as it would be my first turbo car i own and should prob build experience first.

I wouldnt be worrying about it that much now. One of my best mates went from a VTi Civic to a twin turbo B4. He owned for a year and had no issue with it and then moved on to a 180. If you are somewhat sensible with the car and maintain it right then I dont think you should have much problem with it.

The skyline would probably have cheaper insurance than a type R though, generally scummers/young people don't tend to go for them, and there wouldn't be as much insurance claims for skylines therefore they should be easier to insure...

Could be wrong but that's the way I see it...

i would actually think the same, but you see, i tryed to get insurance before on skyline, and every company i called, i said: skyline. people on the ather end of wire would shoot out an excuse in half a sec: we dont do imports, we dont do sports cars, we dont do skylines,muhahahahahaha.

Just skyline got bad rep with insurance companies before, and now it just have a bad name, thats why insurance companies going emo about it...

if op 25+ 5 ncb, then he should have any problem to insure any car... it will be the matter of taste and wallet thickness ;)

Ya i had my eye on a few teg type r but the insurance was dearer than any b4 or 2l non turbo so i thought about getting them for more room etc. I would take care of the b4 in regard to servicing and wouldn push her that hard so if i get one reasonible i might give it a go.

What do ye think about this.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1269177

Also another issue. If there bog standard 2l on log book and actually turbo how do you stand as regard nct insurance if crashed and if guards were ever to notice. Just a question i always wondered.

Insurance will be null and void.

Ya i had my eye on a few teg type r but the insurance was dearer than any b4 or 2l non turbo so i thought about getting them for more room etc. I would take care of the b4 in regard to servicing and wouldn push her that hard so if i get one reasonible i might give it a go.

What do ye think about this.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1269177

2.5k?... something that looks too good, ussually....:rolleyes:

I wouldnt chache it with 2.0 logbooks while having 2.0 turbo.

Garda got on the ball of it, and they chech performance cars, if they open the bonnet and call insurance company, you are fudged m8. This happens prety often now.

in case of accsident you are fudged aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Once you inform the insurance company it's a turbo you're OK. I've heard of the Gardaí stopping Glanza's and ringing the insurance company to check if it's down as a turbo, it it was they let them go. NCT doesn't mater as I've never shown my VLC when getting tested so they just test what's put in front of them.

It doesn't mater what's on the VLC, I recently VRT'd a bike and it wasn't on the system and this isn't a special bike. I just told the insurance company what it is.