Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

looking for a holiday destination that has cheap drink?

• 25-05-2010 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

heading on hols end of june, have nowhere booked yet, considering that most of my money will be spent on drink looking for some ideas on places to go in the sun that might have cheap drink with spending money not as plentiful as in years gone by. paid 8 euro for vodka and red bull on last hols in jan not doing that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

my mate says sunny beach in bulgaria can be cheap enough with pints ranging from 60c to 6 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Torres01

Cheers. Never been to bulgaria but havent heard great things about it as a holiday spot. Was thinking of maybe turkey but prob dear enough. Would like to head to thailand cause its meant to be very cheap hotels and drink but not a safe place at moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Torres01 wrote: »
    Cheers. Never been to bulgaria but havent heard great things about it as a holiday spot. Was thinking of maybe turkey but prob dear enough. Would like to head to thailand cause its meant to be very cheap hotels and drink but not a safe place at moment

Thailand is safe. Bangkok should probably be avoided.

Drink may be cheap, food is about average unless you eat their food which is made on the side of the road and the hygiene is pretty bad. Excursions and stuff are about par with other places around the world.

I went to Bangkok and Phuket specifically Patong beach and I wouldn't go back. The smell, the perverts and the highly annoying prostitutes really wear you down. The smell, OH THE SMELL! :mad:

Bottle of beer maybe around .70c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

prague is still cheapish - not as cheap as it used to be.. Get off the beaten track and we're talking a euro a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭greenplain

Don't waste your time in Sunny Beach, its a kip.

Think i will give bulgaria a miss then. Think far east is only place about to have a cheap holiday but there must be somewhere in europe thats not over priced and not a total dump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭johnnyjb

Think i will give bulgaria a miss then. Think far east is only place about to have a cheap holiday but there must be somewhere in europe thats not over priced and not a total dump?

Been to sunny beach.Dont believe the exagerations bout how cheap the drink is.People say you can get drink for 40,50 60 cent. I bet 97% of people going there will not get such bargains.It is cheaper than home though but we didnt like it felt sleazy and people are not clued in as to how treat a dog never mind a paying customer.

Its about the same flight duration as turkey.Ive been last year and would def pick it over SB 10 times over (its not heaven either though). Pints in Gumbet were from 2 to 3.50 euro generally. Personally i would find decent bar with a good price and stay away from the main strip that charges bout 5euro for a beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

how about krakow or gdansk in poland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I know I am biased because I live there but here is a vote for Brno, Czech republic. End of june it will be very hot. The beer is terrific, and very cheap. In my regular it is 22 Czech crowns which is less than a euro. Good night life here, and the women. Man the women. Hope my OH doesnt read this.

Prague is good for night life but very expensive compared to here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Turkey had cheap drinks last time I was there. Kusadasi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭hargo

Lidl in the south of France!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You'd want to be drinking by the gallon load to save money if flying to Thailand or the far east when you factor in the extra cost of flights! Why go on holiday if you are going to spend all day drinking? this may sound harsh but you sound like an alcoholic, and you'd be better off spending the money that you have saved for this booze cruise on getting some treatment and dried out! Sorry if the truth hurts :o

Stinicker wrote: »
    You'd want to be drinking by the gallon load to save money if flying to Thailand or the far east when you factor in the extra cost of flights! Why go on holiday if you are going to spend all day drinking? this may sound harsh but you sound like an alcoholic, and you'd be better off spending the money that you have saved for this booze cruise on getting some treatment and dried out! Sorry if the truth hurts :o

Jesus thats a bit of a leap isnt it?? :eek:

The OP wants to go on a drinking holiday therefore he is an alcoholic?? Get a grip. Plenty of people go on holiday and spend the day in the bar. I have done it myself a few times. Does that make me an alcoholic as well? For all you know the OP could be a teetotaller 50 weeks of the year, and only drink when he goes on holiday. I know a few people like that,who only drink abroad.

What a statement to make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

syklops wrote: »
    I know I am biased because I live there but here is a vote for Brno, Czech republic. End of june it will be very hot. The beer is terrific, and very cheap. In my regular it is 22 Czech crowns which is less than a euro. Good night life here, and the women. Man the women. Hope my OH doesnt read this.

Prague is good for night life but very expensive compared to here.
    Pilsen in Czech is another alternative to Prague.
    Home of Pils beer too and theres a beer museum and brewery tours.

I was there a couple of weeks ago and prices in your smokey boozer were similar to Brno mentioned above.
    Restaurants were a little dearer. about 30 Kr which is 1.20 a pint and the Hotel (was a 4 star new international hotel) a whopping 50KR which is a full 2 euros for a beer!! Pure rip off!!

Whats good about Pilsen, and I am sure Brno is the same, is that theres no english tourists/ stag nights about!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Pas de la casa, Andorra...

Tax free.. mega cheap.. you pick up a bottle of spirits in the offo's for about 3 euro.. brands for maybe 5!!!!!

Sure there aint a beach for a couple of hundred miles but plenty of activities:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Bottle of beer maybe around .70c[

Not true, well maybe at a push, from an off-license. Most off licenses will charge over a euro for a beer, and in a bar you are talking about 3 euro.

Only asked if there was somewhere for a holiday that had cheap drink. Some people on here seem to think a few nights out on hols mean i need to head to rehab. Here are the facts. Goin for a ten day holiday in sun. For a night out at home i would always take at least a hundred euro out with me and never have much or any left and spend even more if out in dublin. It doesnt mean i have drank 20 pints every night. Goin on that spending would need at least a grand for ten days holiday. So somewhere with cheap drink and nightlife would take down cost alot. Can get flights to far east for 400 return and package deals in europe for 300. Maybe ten days in rehab is what i need but if thats the case then 90% of the adult population should be there with me!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Look into the Balkans. Absolutely beautiful, cheap drink, very safe. Flights might be expensive but if you search long enough you might get a cheap Aer Lingus/Ryanair to somewhere in Germany and then a flight down.

Only asked if there was somewhere for a holiday that had cheap drink. Some people on here seem to think a few nights out on hols mean i need to head to rehab. Here are the facts. Goin for a ten day holiday in sun. For a night out at home i would always take at least a hundred euro out with me and never have much or any left and spend even more if out in dublin. It doesnt mean i have drank 20 pints every night. Goin on that spending would need at least a grand for ten days holiday. So somewhere with cheap drink and nightlife would take down cost alot. Can get flights to far east for 400 return and package deals in europe for 300. Maybe ten days in rehab is what i need but if thats the case then 90% of the adult population should be there with me!

Dont mind yer man who called you an alcoholic. He does not speak for the rest of us.

I am kind of doing what your doing, only in reverse. Im leaving the heat and cheap drink of Brno, and going home to ireland for 10 days. Back to the rain and colossol prices of drink.

My 2 return flights from Dublin to prague cost 93 euro including everything(Though I am just bringing a carry on bag). My bus ticket to prague is costing 8 euro one way. First night out in dublin will probably cost me more than my travel bill for getting from Brno to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Stinicker wrote: »

Spoilsport.

I found Sunny Beach ok the couple of times I was there. The flights there are the most expensive part of it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 moonz46

listen we all love a drink on hols , so if i were you and could get a cheap flight - head far east , 6star hotel for 30euro , bottles of singha for 1 euro and live like a king in 30 degrees plus

however if this is you gazza ?
    the people here are right - you a total whino

U must have the wrong guy. Not a whino havent had any alcohol in the last 3 or 4 weeks. I wouldnt call that very shane mcgowen like behaviour!

sorry mate

anyway other option could be turkey , never been
    looks like a dive but cheap plonk?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I apologise for sounding nannyish but your post came across in a totally different light to me! I too take a few too many while abroad and once had a funny incident in Prague where I got seperated from friends in Prague, caught the wrong tram, fell asleep and then woke up in some deserted industrial estate at the end of the tram line at 2am in the morning! Amazingly another tram came along and the fright of the thing saw the alcohol just evaporate from my system and I managed to find my way back to the hotel at around 3.30am and got an awful slagging as my mates assumed I had gone with a prozzie!

Sounds like just what i am looking for! Cheap alcohol and miserable surroundings. At least the world cup will be on.

Sounds like just what i am looking for! Cheap alcohol and miserable surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I'm not sure if this is what you are looking for but the best place I have ever been for nightlife is Ayia napa, booze is very cheap there aswell.You can get 2 drinks and access to a club for 6 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Lanzarote could be an option, if you go to the right bars(my favourite ones, tbh).

Some places in Old Town would charge 4euro a pint(Irish pubs:rolleyes:), but in New Town you could get a pint for €1.

jaysus, when was that 1970,s - went there a fe wyears back and cost me a fortune...6 euro a drink?/

great spot though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

anywhere in Portugal and some of the less touristy places in spain if you eat/drink in local restuarants and bars you'll pay about 70c-€1 for a bottle of beer and maybe 2.50 for a pint, couldnt get over how cheap Lisbon was

my rule of thumb when abroad, if they advertise english/irish breakfasts or if its an irish bar avoid like the plague! that's when you'll pay the extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

moonz46 wrote: »
    sorry mate

anyway other option could be turkey , never been
    looks like a dive but cheap plonk?

Where is the cheap plonk there and what part is a dive