Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you move on?

• 25-05-2010 2:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭

when the love of your life breaks up with you, how do you move on?

background history:
    together nearly 4 years.
    everyone called us the perfect couple
    was always happy together, never had any problems
    but now he is saying we are stuck in too much of a routine and things are moving a bit too slow and among other personal issues he is going through he wants to break up. he needs space to figure out what he wants and we will meet in about 6 weeks or so to talk

heart broken is not the word to describe how i have been feeling. all my friends have been :eek: and even his friends that know so far are :eek: :eek: :eek: because we were that happy. so strange. cant imagine kissing anyone or being with anyone else, so how do you do it?

My friends are great, keeping me busy... its so tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

Hi OP. First of all really sorry to hear that. Unfortunately there really is no magic solution as you say friends keeping you busy is the best bet. It's probably a good idea not to randomly hook up woth someone and feel awful about it the next day so soon after! I have to ask though have you discussed getting back together or are you still in touch? It seems he just got a bit afraid of commitment and ran for the hills and I get the feeling he's really going to regret that and want to come back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

hey thanks for your reply
    im not the type of girl to "hook up" so that aint gonna happen first of all

He said he just needs a break to think about everything, us and other stuff. he seems just really confused. he said he doesnt want the next 6 weeks for us to have no contact, he wants to know how im doing, but i have told him that i'll be needing him to contact me cod i dont wanna email or text him and for him to think its too much and im not giving him the space. gonna just get on with things the next few weeks, if he gets in touch-fine, if he doesnt, not to worry. and we will meet up in 6 weeks to see how we both feel. just really wanna try and get over him incase he doesnt properly want to get back. just tough.

but im strong. been through worse :)

Well good for you. You sound super strong. I had the same experince with a girl and we got back together and broke up again and got back together and broke up again ad naseum!!! Don't go down that road either. Save yourself from the repeated c**p. Not saying that always happens for everyone though sometimes people do get back together and it works out. You have taken a good stand on it though so well done you!! You will have tough days too so plenty of drinks with friends and ice cream and girly movies (or whatever it is ladies do to forget about things) :)

hahahah ice cream and girlie movies... and you probably think we have pillow fights in our underwear too :p

nah i know i'll be grand. he is an amazing person, really and truly and if this really is it, i know what i deserve in the next guy im looking for. he treated me so well, and i know i deserve that now :)

Haha apologies if it sounded sleazy :o Genuinely though most girls I know do the whole ice cream and film thing though I think it's some kind of guilty pleasure though :)

Glad to hear you'll be grand though good for you. Go enjoy yourself and your friends and if i doesn't work out you will find somebody who is even better I'm sure of it :)

really dont think i would find anyone better.. he was perfect, but someone just as good and i would be delighted.

im not one for girlie movies and icecream. give me a dance floor and vodka and im happy :)

Well thats the spirit plenty of vodka and dance floors for you so :)
    Aw well I hope you find somebody just as good then or else somebody smacks some sense into your current bf!!! :)

well he will be out with all his friends on saturday, im away for the week so worked out well but when they all find out they will be shocked. at the mo a handful know and they are all thinking wtf. so im hoping by him hearing that and then thinkin about things over the next while, he will realise how good we had it, how perfect we are and how happy we have made eachother and could easily continue to do so

wishful thinking :rolleyes:

I definitely wouldn't say wishful thinking. I'll attest to the fact that guys do things without thinking and regret it later. Even big life changing things like this. Especially if we're really happy. Sometimes it gets too much and we run scared. So you really never know perhaps as you say his friends will have a word with him. Don't listen to peoples conspiracy theories though that will just make you sick!! Oh and make sure you don't go near his facebook and block his status updates!!!

nah i dont need to block his facebook. he doesnt update it much plus he is away with work for nearly 4 weeks of the 6 week break we are having so its grand. i know he isnt going to be with anyone or doing stupid things and posting it online to hurt me, he isnt like that at all. he is a gentle soul

Oh thats great so. Its more manipulative friends that I was thinking about. I also read this thing yesterday about how women use facebook pics to manipulate situations which I thought was hilarious :) Thats great that he's away though, it'll give him time to analyse the situation and come to the right decision!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭bellylint

Hey OP, kinda an unenviable situation that you find yourself in but the one thing is you will get thru it. These are times when it is great to have friends that you can depend on. I would focus on doing the things that you like, heading out can be great craic and the opportunity to meet and have fun with will keep it in mind that there are other people worth spending time with. Anytime it happened to me I kept myself busy and I found great joy in the stuff that I did. Gave me the bit of strength that I needed to get over the breakup.

P.s. still wish you well even after you have shattered my illusions on underwear clad pillow fights :) ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP I am probebly going to be blasted for this but here goes:
    It sounds like it is over. I was in you position this time last year. I was bouncing along, happy in a relationship with what I thought was a kind, thoughtful, caring man who I had a future with.
    One Sunday (after a nice Saturday date but not spending the night together) he texted to say he was coming over to see me. Great, I thought, until he turned up, sat down on my couch and said he felt for a while some spark was missing, that he didn't know whether we were good together and that he needed some time to think about things. Two weeks later he phoned me to say it was over.
    I was not with him as long as you are but I was devestated. In hindsight, those two weeks of stress and anxiety were a terrible thing to put me through. If he had said he wanted to break up it would have been easier. I never forget those two weeks, my heart was racing the entire time in the hope that he would deign to pick me and decide to stay with me. Deep, deep down I knew if someone needs time to think about how they feel, they can't do it on your time, only on theirs.
    My story does have a happy ending though, just to cheer you up. A month after this breakup I met the love of my life. There were no complications, he was clear how he felt and tells me all the time how lucky he was to find me (I'm lucky to have found him). We are planning on moving in together this summer and have had the big baby and marriage talks. I have never once had to ask him where I stood or what our relationship status was. I know I have met the man for me and I am so glad the other relationship ended.
    A break is a prelude to a break up in 90% of cases, it just gives the one taking the break time to come up with sugar-coated reasons to let the other partner down gently.

thanks a million for your honesty. i really do appreciate it. the weird thing about it all was a couple of weeks before he started to think about things, literally a couple of weeks before, he was telling one of his friends how he couldnt wait for us to live together and our future. and like your current relationship he always always told me how lucky he was to have me, how he was never attracted to anyone as much as me, we talked about marriage, babies everything, but it just wasnt enough

everyone seems to be talking to me and giving me advice on "when" we get back together - i guess cos they just cant beleive it too. its just so hard. i was talking to one of his friends on facebook today and he said him and his girlfriend looked up to us and our relationship cos we were that happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭Denimgirl

you reckon somebody is in his ear tryig to turn him off commiting to you?his single mates ?or other mates that are not happy in their own relationships?my ex was like that he was full on all his ideas then his single buddys started to turn him off what he wanted did the same thing as your guy and i just walked away i was hurt but don't have time to be waiting on people to make up their mind wether they want me or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Hi OP,

sorry to hear about your issues.

The first thing I will say to you is that I suspect this is over. I think your OH knows it as well but is hoping that you'll work it out for yourself and save him having to say it. I could be wrong but that's how I see it.

If you can't imagine being with anyone else, then don't. Allow yourself time to grieve and get over this. When I was going through my break up my friends were telling me 'You should whore around for a while' but the reality is that they didn't have a clue what they were on about. It doesn't solve anything and especially if you don't even feel you want to do this, you'll feel (unnecessarily) guilty in the morning.

It's been a couple of months since I broke up with the gf and at the time I felt I wouldn't find anyone better. But you know, it's not about finding someone better in general. It's about finding someone who's better for you, someone who wants to be with you for the rest of your life and shares your hopes, dreams and expectations.

Friends will be shocked and will tell you stuff like 'You'll work it out' but don't read anything into this. The only thing that truely matters is the signals coming from your OH. Anything that has been said in the past by him means nothing, it's what he says today and in the future that matters.

When you get out there in the world on your own, you'll see that there are some really great people in the world who when you tell them your story (don't go on about it, mind) are more than willing to commiserate and offer advice on how they overcame a break up.

Good luck with all and there's folks on here who'll help you push on should you need to. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

Denimgirl wrote: »
    you reckon somebody is in his ear tryig to turn him off commiting to you?his single mates ?or other mates that are not happy in their own relationships?my ex was like that he was full on all his ideas then his single buddys started to turn him off what he wanted did the same thing as your guy and i just walked away i was hurt but don't have time to be waiting on people to make up their mind wether they want me or not!

Or another spin on it Dubgal could be maybe he thinks you don't want to commit to him? You said he wanted to buy a place together and live together but you wanted to wait another while, maybe he's wondering do ye have a future so if after 4 years you don't want to live together? It could be a possibility

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Hi OP,

sorry to hear about your issues.

The first thing I will say to you is that I suspect this is over. I think your OH knows it as well but is hoping that you'll work it out for yourself and save him having to say it. I could be wrong but that's how I see it.

If you can't imagine being with anyone else, then don't. Allow yourself time to grieve and get over this. When I was going through my break up my friends were telling me 'You should whore around for a while' but the reality is that they didn't have a clue what they were on about. It doesn't solve anything and especially if you don't even feel you want to do this, you'll feel (unnecessarily) guilty in the morning.

It's been a couple of months since I broke up with the gf and at the time I felt I wouldn't find anyone better. But you know, it's not about finding someone better in general. It's about finding someone who's better for you, someone who wants to be with you for the rest of your life and shares your hopes, dreams and expectations.

Friends will be shocked and will tell you stuff like 'You'll work it out' but don't read anything into this. The only thing that truely matters is the signals coming from your OH. Anything that has been said in the past by him means nothing, it's what he says today and in the future that matters.

When you get out there in the world on your own, you'll see that there are some really great people in the world who when you tell them your story (don't go on about it, mind) are more than willing to commiserate and offer advice on how they overcame a break up.

Good luck with all and there's folks on here who'll help you push on should you need to. :)

hey, thanks for your replies. I know its not any of his friends chewing the ear off him. most of his friends are settled, ie; engaged, pregnant or just been with their partner a long time. i love his friends and we all get on so so well and those that know are completely shocked by it.

also, i appreciate you telling me that its over. thats what i need to hear, because everyone else is holding on that he will change his mind and i really dont wanna hear that right now, i dont want any hope, because i'll more than likely get crushed again. When we were talking last i did ask him, look, if you really think this is it and you dont need the break to think, just let me know, because i dont wanna wait 6 weeks to hear that if i can be told right now and he said it wasnt, but he couldnt tell me we would get back together. he just has to think

oh and i wont be whoring around! believe me, thats not me at all, never has been. was thinking for my first night out to go to a gay bar. that way yeah there will be guys around, but none will be interested in me so i wont get freaked out.

i know i'll be grand. im a strong lady! :)

Or another spin on it Dubgal could be maybe he thinks you don't want to commit to him? You said he wanted to buy a place together and live together but you wanted to wait another while, maybe he's wondering do ye have a future so if after 4 years you don't want to live together? It could be a possibility

thanks miss, but no its not that. he told me its nothing got to do with me at all, its nothing that i have or havent done. he knows how much i adore him, he honestly does. i couldnt show him any more how much i love him.
    basically we decided that we wanted to live together, we talked about it all the time, always sending eachother links to my home of houses we found, the only thing that was holding us back was a deposit. we need about another 10k and we are sorted. so last year i asked him what he thought about us renting somewhere together. so that way we would live together, make sure we were both happy with it and just to be together while we still saved for a deposit and he said no, he thoguht it was a waste of money and that he prefered to do what we were doing and ust save save save and not waste 6k on renting for 6 months, and i thought, yeah, fair enough, good point..
    and then he tells me we are moving too slow

i broguht that up to him, that i had already suggested renting and he was the one to knock it down and he said he knows. his dad died about 5 months ago and i dont know if that is maybe getting him extra down and he just cant cope or something. i only asked him the last time we saw eachother before we had "the talk" how he was doing, to make sure he was ok, cos my dad only passed away a few months before his. so we have had such a tough last while together, been there for eachother throguh it all so its just shocking

you know what..... never mind figuring out how to move on from this

how on earth am i ever gonna be able to trust someone after this? to think the last 4 years with my dream man was perfect, no problems at all and for this to happen, i dont know how i could trust a guy again. gonna be a toughie

Far too early to worry about that. I felt the same a couple of months ago but when you talk to people and realise that they're nice to you and genuinely care for you, the world doesn't seem such a bad place. It make take you years to trust someone it make take 3 months, there's no formula for a break-up.

When you say no problems, do you mean no major arguments? If so, imo, that's not necessarily a positive thing. Arguments can be good for getting things out in the open and being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

Maybe things with is dad are getting on top of him. He could be finding it hard to deal with. I know there isn't always a concrete reason for a break up but not having a reason is headwrecking!! I hope things work out anyway

Far too early to worry about that. I felt the same a couple of months ago but when you talk to people and realise that they're nice to you and genuinely care for you, the world doesn't seem such a bad place. It make take you years to trust someone it make take 3 months, there's no formula for a break-up.

When you say no problems, do you mean no major arguments? If so, imo, that's not necessarily a positive thing. Arguments can be good for getting things out in the open and being honest.

no we didnt argue but i dont think thats a bad thing.
    I never bitch and moan over stupid things, i dont see the point. if something gets to the point where it annoys me or pisses me off, i'll talk about it then and there. I dont let things build up to t he fact that we are gonna argue with eachother. he is the same too. we talked a lot about everything, we were always so honest and open. Even when i knew i was being completely stupid, id still tell him that i was jealous of whatever girl that he knew, just so he knew, even though i knew myself it was stupid to even say it to him. We were always 100% honest.

There would be times where he would say something and id get into a huff and not talk to him, but it would literally last for 5 mins and then id think about how i was acting, which was like a complete dope, and id just start laughin at what an idiot i was and we would talk about things.

I dont think every relationship has to have arguements just to work. It just wasnt our relationship. We are two very honest people that always talked about everything. from the small things that didnt matter to the biggest things we could and we always talked things through. never once went to bed angry at eachother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭triny

Dubgirl

You sound so strong! It also sounds like you know you have to get over him, fair play to you! Im only 3 weeks into my split from a longtermer and there were def signs beforehand that things werent going well but i just shut my eyes to them, i thought things were just in a rough patch cause we both had alot on! Like you everyone ive spoken to since my friends and his - even his sister have said how shocked they are, but in fairness theres only 2 in a relationship and there the ones that matter!

I have good days and bad ones but your friends will really help you through, i have been blessed with the best bunch of girls ever and there playin a blinder helping me through this! We both said wed give each other time and see how things go and all the usual stuff, (i secretly really wanna fight with him just so i can hate him) but i know things have just ran there course, We didnt fight, we didnt fall out, our feeling didnt change - its just we cudnt go any further, and its really hard to reach that point and tell the other person, but in fairness to him, it didnt drag on. We only have good memories of each other. In my own head now i know i have to move on and get over him. Its really hard telling people who you wudnt have met daily, but still knew us a couple! Im sure our pathes will cross again if thats whats ment to happen but just to let you know, your doing great.

Keep the head up girl! Your doing fantastic. xxx

he is the same too. we talked a lot about everything, we were always so honest and open.

With the greatest respect, if you have seen no signs that this was coming, then it can only have been you that was honest and open or else you missed the signals. Did he ever give in and apologise for an argument?

You should use this experience to make you wiser and stronger.

we didnt argue, and if we had a disagreement he would never give in, usually cos he was right :)

he said he was thinkin like this for a few weeks, but it was while he was away with work for a few weeks and when he came back we both werent well so we didnt really see eachother that much, so any "signs" i dont think i could have seen

And I said that to him too, I said, i cant believe i didnt see it coming. I said that for the last few weeks any time we did see eachother we had so much fun and im just surprised i missed any signs and he said that there wasnt any signs. that when he came back from being away he wanted to see how the next few weeks went before he made a decision and i told him it wasnt really fair to do that, because we werent well. we both couldnt see eachother properly or spend proper time together, so how could he use that time to see how we got on.

he still hasnt said anything to his family yet. his sister in law was talking to me on facebook last night and wants the four of us to meet. it wasnt my place to tell her because the whole family would know, but just strange its been a week and he hasnt told them.

we didnt argue, and if we had a disagreement he would never give in, usually cos he was right :)

I'm sorry, I can't see how this statement is true. Was he always right or was he more stubborn than you? No one is right even 80% of the time. Relationships are littered with mistakes on both sides, that's the challenge of overcoming them.

Obviously, I have no knowledge of said arguments but I do wonder what he has done to your esteem that you believe in most of the arguments, he was right. I wonder what would have happened if you were as stubborn as he was. You shouldn't be so hard on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭seenitall

I'm sorry, I can't see how this statement is true. Was he always right or was he more stubborn than you? No one is right even 80% of the time. Relationships are littered with mistakes on both sides, that's the challenge of overcoming them.

Obviously, I have no knowledge of said arguments but I do wonder what he has done to your esteem that you believe in most of the arguments, he was right. I wonder what would have happened if you were as stubborn as he was. You shouldn't be so hard on yourself.

Yeah, I have to say, the more I read about this guy, the less appealing he seems.

I think it is weird how things were moving "too slow" for him all of a sudden. Sounds like BS, tbh. If they were moving so slow, why wasn't he on his knees to you proposing or something to fix this slowness, instead of taking a break? Sounds completely illogical, and also sounds like he is trying to redistribute the blame for the break so that you have to take a chunk as well. Which is not fair.

Him not telling his family and friends about the break indicates spinelessness.

Honestly, it sounds to me like this is not a very trustworthy person, and like you are well rid. I think you deserve to be treated with more respect than what he is showing you. Especially after such a long time together.

Forget about his spiel about "not a break up, just a break" and move on with your life. You seem to be doing that already anyway, so well done.

The best of luck!

seenitall wrote: »
    Sounds completely illogical, and also sounds like he is trying to redistribute the blame for the break so that you have to take a chunk as well. Which is not fair.

This is classic break-up behaviour as well. The break-up becomes a PR exercise so that one party doesn't end up being the bad guy.

no, you are reading waaaaaaay too much into what i said. it has nothing got to do with self esteem or anything like that. Im just saying if we were talking about something like, i dunno, a holiday we went on a couple of years ago, id be like, it was march we went and he would be like, nah it was may and id be convinced it was march and we would be going on and on and on and on about it and it would turn out he was right... stupid things like that.
    It was neeeeeeeeeeever anything serious that would damage my self esteem or anything like that, swear to god. id never put up with that, beleive me!

seenitall wrote: »
    Yeah, I have to say, the more I read about this guy, the less appealing he seems.

I think it is weird how things were moving "too slow" for him all of a sudden. Sounds like BS, tbh. If they were moving so slow, why wasn't he on his knees to you proposing or something to fix this slowness, instead of taking a break? Sounds completely illogical, and also sounds like he is trying to redistribute the blame for the break so that you have to take a chunk as well. Which is not fair.

Him not telling his family and friends about the break indicates spinelessness.

Honestly, it sounds to me like this is not a very trustworthy person, and like you are well rid. I think you deserve to be treated with more respect than what he is showing you. Especially after such a long time together.

Forget about his spiel about "not a break up, just a break" and move on with your life. You seem to be doing that already anyway, so well done.

The best of luck!

thanks a mill seenitall. I comletely agree with his reasons for breaking up making no sense what so ever. And the thing is, i could wreck my head about it all for the next 5 weeks and just piss myself off and be upset, or i can just move on from it. The thing i now see as even bigger importance in the next relationship is communication. and proper communication, not to be afraid to tell me something incase you think it hurts me. im a strong girl, i can take what you got

This is classic break-up behaviour as well. The break-up becomes a PR exercise so that one party doesn't end up being the bad guy.

yup, i know! I hate the whole, its not you, its me crap. I told him that i can take the truth, if he doesnt love me any more or he has fallen out of love but he said he hasnt. his friends dont get it what so ever either. they getting worried about him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭katie99

Hold it there.

I think you are being 'strong' because you know you are going to see him again...in 6 weeks.
    After 4 years together both of you should have been committed. He isn't.
    So, don't hold out too much hope of him going back with you.
    And don't listen to your friends talking about 'when' you will get back together.
    Chances are it won't happen.
    So, prepare for the worst case scenario now, so it will not come as a shock in 6 weeks.

katie99 wrote: »
    Hold it there.

I think you are being 'strong' because you know you are going to see him again...in 6 weeks.
    After 4 years together both of you should have been committed. He isn't.
    So, don't hold out too much hope of him going back with you.
    And don't listen to your friends talking about 'when' you will get back together.
    Chances are it won't happen.
    So, prepare for the worst case scenario now, so it will not come as a shock in 6 weeks.

thats what im trying to do. Im telling my friends to stop talking about when cos im convinced that it isnt going to work out, as much as i want it to, i really dont see how it could, and mainly because we were together for 4 years and this is what he does. he obviously wasnt sure for a long time and even if he is afraid to say it, he has fallen out of love with me

Im keeping myself busy, im going away this week and hwen i get back im off down the country to a wedding with a friend and im gonna be going out loads and just trying to forget about it and move on. i have the worst case scenario in my mind which i know is going to happen. all i can say is thank god it happened now and not when we had a place together

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

The other thing to consider is, if you get back together, will you be able to trust him not to do that again? I think I'd always be a bit nervous getting back together with someone that they might decide they don't love me again a couple of years down the line and break my heart all over again. I know you run that risk in any relationship but when someone's already done it once, I'd be nervous that they'd be more likely to do it again.

thats what im trying to do. Im telling my friends to stop talking about when cos im convinced that it isnt going to work out, as much as i want it to, i really dont see how it could, and mainly because we were together for 4 years and this is what he does. he obviously wasnt sure for a long time and even if he is afraid to say it, he has fallen out of love with me

Im keeping myself busy, im going away this week and hwen i get back im off down the country to a wedding with a friend and im gonna be going out loads and just trying to forget about it and move on. i have the worst case scenario in my mind which i know is going to happen. all i can say is thank god it happened now and not when we had a place together

heya DubGal, you seem to be very much of the preparing for the worst (personally given the situation I think you are doing the right thing). Keeping busy is the key and trying to maintain a positive prospective outlook helps greatly. You will probably run a gamut of emotions over the next while, from bafflement, to anger, to hurt, disposable with a couple of others thrown into the mix just for good measure. Going thru them is part of the grieving process and its quite ok to feel them all. If they start to come around, dont completely avoid them, ie allow yourself time to grieve if you need to, but dont let them take over. This is were I find the keeping busy aspect tantamount. I have seen people, and did myself in my earlier relationship days, get taken over by the emotions and just do nothing but mope. Breaking that cycle can be very tough. Remember each day will be a little bit less filled with the mental crap of the day before, and eventually all the negative feelings will be disappear. Filling your time with things you enjoy and seeing people keeps you in touch with people and redevelops friendships and will speed up the whole process.

Try to act with pride in how you carry yourself now, if you get to a situation where you have a decision to make, think how you will feel six months down the line from either option... too many times people try to cling onto something that isn't there anymore. Again I put my own hand up there. It can be quite difficult to not fight for something that was so important in your life, but given that the decision is not being made by you and he did not discuss the matter with you, you might just be fighting in vain. The mature thing would have been to discuss this and whatever issue he is having, nice as he is, he didn't see this as an option. Not having a poke at him, just pointing out something, he chose the individual approach to this.

The other thing to consider would be if he did say 'ok missus, lets give it another bash' would you be able to walk back into that relationship? When you spoke in earlier posts I was not too sure if you had hopes of getting back and your know the situation the best so I didnt wish to say the above stuff. Now its clearer you seem more about how to get over it, so I felt I would elaborate a bit more. Anyways you sound like you are taking a sensible approach. I particularly think its a good idea to grab a really good friend and just say 'I need someone to be my biatch :)' somebody who you can let fully loose the crazy upon/vent when you need to. If everyone is asking how you are about it, each time you go into full explanations of the lay of the land, it refreshes it all in your mind. Eventually you wont talk of this at all, no harm starting yourself down on the right path.

hope that makes sense, though it might be a bit all over the place
    Enjoy the time away, and the wedding

ps to any pedants, quite aware that bafflement and disposable are not really emotions :p

Faith wrote: »
    The other thing to consider is, if you get back together, will you be able to trust him not to do that again? I think I'd always be a bit nervous getting back together with someone that they might decide they don't love me again a couple of years down the line and break my heart all over again. I know you run that risk in any relationship but when someone's already done it once, I'd be nervous that they'd be more likely to do it again.

Thanks for ur in put:) when we talked on Monday I told him that if he really did want a "break" (or break up) and then if he did decide he made a mistake that, the trust we had is completely gone and if i wanted to get back with him, it would be so difficult for us to move on because id feel i would be constantly walking on egg shells, afraid to pee him off, basically just doing everything tomake sure he wouldnt change his mind again. he told me that he already thought about that but its something he needs to do.

So I honest to god dont know if down the line he did want to try again, if i would be able to. there would be soooooooo much to talk about with trust and communication too, and i dont now if i would ever be able to be myself 100%. just not meant to be i guess

bellylint wrote: »

Try to act with pride in how you carry yourself now, if you get to a situation where you have a decision to make, think how you will feel six months down the line from either option... too many times people try to cling onto something that isn't there anymore. Again I put my own hand up there. It can be quite difficult to not fight for something that was so important in your life, but given that the decision is not being made by you and he did not discuss the matter with you, you might just be fighting in vain. The mature thing would have been to discuss this and whatever issue he is having, nice as he is, he didn't see this as an option. Not having a poke at him, just pointing out something, he chose the individual approach to this.

Thanks for your reply. At the moment im SO surprised at how strong i have been, As Cheryl Cole says - you gotta fight for the love, and my god that is exactly what I want to do. I wanna call him, email him, text him and try and talk him around but I have said everything I could at the start of the week, so there isnt anything else I can say. He has made his decision and said he needed space, so its exactly what Im giving him. I havent texted him or anything, as frickin hard as it is but I know it will get easier. I want to keep my dignity in all of this.

I just cant fathom why he wouldnt talk to me about our issues, even though they are such small issues!!! I was talking to my friends about this and they were telling me about their friends that are still in a relationship despite: being hit by their boyfriend, by their boyfriend telling them they are ugly, that they dont like the colour of their hair, that they dont have sex any more because they arent attracted to eachother, that the ex wife is more important than the current girlfriend, that the boyfriend has no interest in the girlfriend or the baby and he just sleeps all day.... it just seems such a pity and a waste to throw it away but the more i think about it, the more it just shows that basically he wasnt bothered. he has checked out of the relationship even if he hasnt realised yet. The fact he doesnt want to try says a LOT.

so with my head held high im going to try and move on :)

I was talking to my friends about this and they were telling me about their friends that are still in a relationship despite: being hit by their boyfriend, by their boyfriend telling them they are ugly, that they dont like the colour of their hair, that they dont have sex any more because they arent attracted to eachother, that the ex wife is more important than the current girlfriend, that the boyfriend has no interest in the girlfriend or the baby and he just sleeps all day....

Sweet Jebus folks are crazy. Though its never easy to walk away from a relationship it never ceases to amaze me what people will settle for. Thankfully my relationships so far have been pretty healthy and not having me as a runner for appearing on jerry springer, though I think I have too many of my original teeth for that anyways :)

i know!! i could never ever settle for such a bad relationship!! just annoying that me and everyone i know, including his friends, thought we were perfect. my friends always would moan about their oh and complain about everything and i never had a bad word to say, its just scary to think that things can seem so perfect and you can be so happy, and its not!!

but id prefer to be single than be with someone who doesnt appreicate me

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

FWIW dublingal, you're being remarkably strong and clear headed about this. Fair dues to you :).