Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ticks

• 24-05-2010 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭

What do you do to prevent ticks, I have 2 dogs 1 bitch and 1 dog, the dog has 7 to 10 ticks on him, I put prac-tic on them in November, I thought it lasted at least 6 months, Went to the vet today and she reckons it lasts only 1 month.

have you any tips to get rid of the ticks that are there now, I normally use nail polish remover i find works fairly well, herd a few old wives tales; get a cigarette and tip the end of the tick and they just fall off,(dont think id be into that). Has anyone tried a tweezers, i think you grab the tick and twist and pull, not sure of that method, Wouldnt like to risk leaving the head in the dog,

Can i only buy the tick lotion in the vet, Ive seen similar stuff in big pet shops, Just wondering is it as good as the stuff from the vet,
    2 worm tablets
    3 prac-tic (22ml)
    e36.00

anyone info/tips be great folks,:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

One of my lads is prone to them for some reason. Vet showed me to do it. Pull them off, make sure you get the legs and all. Then put vaseline over the area. Think its so they cant breath if theres any of them left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

drip a bit of aftershave or poteen on them they drop off quite happily pulling them off runs the risk of leaving the head in the skin and it'll fester.

be carefull with ticks if your dogs are picking them up, check yourself they carry lymes disease i have two friends with it one who nearly died and it's wrecked his life :mad: he could do a good impersonation of ozzys shuffle now thanks to a feckin tick !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Dusty87 wrote: »
    One of my lads is prone to them for some reason. Vet showed me to do it. Pull them off, make sure you get the legs and all. Then put vaseline over the area. Think its so they cant breath if theres any of them left.

if you put vaseline on the tick itself it will fall off legs and all as it can't breath. A good Dollop.
    The legs can cause infection if left in, do the same if you get a tick on your own body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I have mine bedded on pine wood shavings. An old guy told me ticks don't like the pine resin. I'm sticking with the shavings, I have only had one dog that got a tick so far in the past ten years, hopefully no more, touch wood!:D

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

landkeeper wrote: »
    drip a bit of aftershave or poteen on them they drop off quite happily pulling them off runs the risk of leaving the head in the skin and it'll fester.

be carefull with ticks if your dogs are picking them up, check yourself they carry lymes disease i have two friends with it one who nearly died and it's wrecked his life :mad: he could do a good impersonation of ozzys shuffle now thanks to a feckin tick !!!!

Actually pulling them off with a tweezers is the correct method! Ask any vet!
    If the head or part of the head is left in the dogs skin, it doesn't cause infection! ( old wives tale)
    You are correct about disease! Always wear disposible gloves when treating dogs with ticks!

eddie me old china i have kept dogs for thirty years give or take and have see the result of pulling off a well embedded tick more than once it's not a life threatening infection but it can make a bit of a mess for a few days till it clears up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i use to have a problem with fleas and ticks a few years ago but a old farmer told me to use a bit of sheep dip not mixed as strong as you would use for sheep around 75% and it worked perfect now i full up a garden sprayer with the mixture of water and sheep dip and spray the dogs twice a year and i never have a flea or tick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

smokin ace wrote: »
    i use to have a problem with fleas and ticks a few years ago but a old farmer told me to use a bit of sheep dip not mixed as strong as you would use for sheep around 75% and it worked perfect now i full up a garden sprayer with the mixture of water and sheep dip and spray the dogs twice a year and i never have a flea or tick

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: and you wont have dogs for long either.

Are you being serious here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

fodda wrote: »

Agreed:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

smokin ace wrote: »
    Totally agree with ya Smokin, it works the best of all on good sized dogs such as huntin dogs or sheep dogs. The sis even uses it on the pomeranian then gives her a wash:D Not a bit of harm in moderation. Just make it weaker, 50% is strong enough;)

fodda wrote: »

yes i am been very serious and why would i not have my dogs for long i been doing it for many years now and never had one problem and have used it on all sorts of breeds it is ok to use it as long as its NOT MIXED TO STRONG and i find sheep dip is a lot better cheaper and lasts a lot longer than the spot on tube things and it kills all fleas ticks lice and a lad come to me with a dog with mange and it even cleared that up with out no harm to the dog the problem many people have using sheep dip is they use to much and thats where the problem arises i mix 5mls of sheep dip to one gallon of water and i find thats enough to kill what it has to with out doing harm to the dog

be very very carefull with sheep dip both to your dog and your self :eek: , if it's an old one it'll contain organophosphate , that'll give you nerve damage amongst other things , it's also highly toxic to dogs , and even at 5mls in a gallon you are many times the strength that it is supposed to be used at in a dipper even then you are supposed to wear a mask and protective clothing the newer ones are not much better do a google search for sheep dip organophosphate ;)bet you don't use it again

i use coppers sheep dip i use washing up rubber gloves and like i said i put it in a garden sprayer and spray the dogs so as to minimise the contact with it for me and the dog is not dipped into a big bath of it its just sprayed onto the hair and then left to dry i have been doing it this way for many years now on alsorts of breeds of dogs and i never had one problem so pose every man to there own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

all the spot on for ticks only work for about a month but if they do pick easy way to get rid of them is to put vinegar on a bit of cotton wool hold onto the tick for a few mins then pull of give the area a good wipe of any kind of antiseptic and job done i used this to remove dozens of ticks of dogs and never had a problem with infections
    stog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Sheep dip is a toxic poison and is designed for waxy oily sheeps wool and will only really be effective for a few weeks anyway. I am not sure about this but i dont think you can send them in for consumption by humans if they have been freshly dipped but perhaps farmers can clarify this.

On people and dogs it will get absorbed straight into the body and is blamed for all sorts of serious diseases in the farming population, and your dog will ingest the sheep dip when he cleans himself which makes it even worse.

If it was safe the sheep dipping would be done by happy naked farmers with no protective clothing (dont even think about that scene)

You hear all sorts of stories from farmers about doing things and i wont post them on here but i find some obscene and through lack of proper training.

Spraying your dogs with sheep dip would only protect them for a very short time against ticks who are only active mainly out of the shooting season anyway.

You have just been lucky so far if you havent harmed your dog but if you still think it is safe then you will have no problem in spraying yourself but you choose to wear gloves?

here just for the sake of maybe saving someone from it read this http://www.doctormyhill.co.uk/wiki/Organophosphate_Poisoning_-_symptoms_and_treatment

i worked for one of the largest flock owners in meath for a few years dipping sheep in an enclosed shed , the slightest sniff of it now and i get a severe headache ,even going to a sheep sale where there are dipped sheep can leave me with tiredness and feeling sick amongst other things , even cumpulsory dipping is a thing of the past i wonder why :rolleyes:
    it's a cumalative poisen ie it builds up in the system lovely stuff
    and yes there is a withdrawal period during which sheep cannot be slaughtered for consumption after dipping but i can't remember the length

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

here just for the sake of maybe saving someone from it read this http://www.doctormyhill.co.uk/wiki/Organophosphate_Poisoning_-_symptoms_and_treatment

i worked for one of the largest flock owners in meath for a few years dipping sheep in an enclosed shed , the slightest sniff of it now and i get a severe headache ,even going to a sheep sale where there are dipped sheep can leave me with tiredness and feeling sick amongst other things , even cumpulsory dipping is a thing of the past i wonder why :rolleyes:
    it's a cumalative poisen ie it builds up in the system lovely stuff

The dangers of farming, there was me going to pour some ivormec into my tea as we were out of milk JOKING

My grandfather got Alzheimers which many think may have been from contact with aluminium in fertilizer in the late 60's and 70's

I would error on the side of caution and use dog approved shampoo
    I'd also use tried and tested vaseline on tics, I got a tick on my eye lid once when I was a kid, thats what my father used at the time. We got the size of an old 5pence amount of blood out of it when we mushed it, scary. I thought it was just a bit of dirt on my eye at first, I was only 8!

Ticksol we use on cattle and louse powder I used on cattle for lice

cattle have a mouch thicker hide of LEATHER so the chemical can be stronger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Twice I got headaches enough to send me home dipping sheep. That was with Coopers dip. Since then, they have changed a lot of the ingredients, hasn't happened to me since.

There are specific products available from your local vets to deal with ticks or tick prevention on dogs, might be best to check them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

1) DO NOT USE TWEEZERS!
    2) DO NOT BURN - matches of cigarettes.

1) In general, do not use tweezers. If you use tweezers, you run the risk of squeezing the bad stuff out of the tick and into the host - exactly what you want to avoid.

2) Do no heat. If you heat, you may over-heat and boil all of the bad stuff into the host.

Get a kit such as this
    http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/items/3PWK9?cm_mmc=Google%20Base-_-Safety-_-First%20Aid-_-3PWK9

It has a little spoon like tool that allows you to get under the tick, lift, and pluck. Then use the ointment.