Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Red Dead Redemption on sale early?

• 20-05-2010 10:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

anyone know of any shops breaking the street date and selling this today? seems a few people in ireland have popped up online playing it so it must be somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Not sure but I'm popping down to the Crescent SC at lunch for a quick look in HMV and Gamestop to see what the craic is.

Possible merge with main RDD thread or price/stock check one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Smyths website says they are "in stock" but i just called them, and said it aint out till tomorrow. I am sure if you went up you might get a copy, you'd need some fool to give it to you tho

Maybe Xtravision late.....

I got Uncharted 2 and FIFA 10 the night before. Going to try them later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Of the guys I know that have it already got it from videogames+ in Canada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Any of the late opening stores may sell after 6, Smyths xtravision etc. Otherwise we have to wait till tomor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Have an exam at 10am tomorrow so I'll be heading in as soon as thats done.

Although I have another one next week so I may just have to hold off til then :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 joker87

bumpin this to keep it near the top, just in case!

There's been no mention of Tesco here yet. Might they be a possibility for even a midnight release?

Fizman wrote: »
    There's been no mention of Tesco here yet. Might they be a possibility for even a midnight release?

give them a call, there are a few 24hrs tescos knocking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

My friend just bought this game in HMV in Galway. He's playing it now the lucky fecker.

thorbarry wrote: »
    give them a call, there are a few 24hrs tescos knocking about

Well I'm getting my own in HMV tomorrow so I've no need, just thought others might want to know.

Although I do my weekly shop at ridiculously late times at my local 24 hr so chances are I'll be floating about so I can report back if so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 joker87

m83 wrote: »
    My friend just bought this game in HMV in Galway. He's playing it now the lucky fecker.

if this is true then it shud start popping up everywhere

Just gave them a buzz (with the view that if they were selling it then Limerick might too) and the guy I spoke with said not until the morning. Unless some unsuspecting part timer sold it to him.

Not denying he got it there, but i just took a walk up and it wasn't on general sale nor was i given anything bar a pre-order... so he prob knows someone in there if he did get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

I rang Tesco hardware in Stillorgan there and the guy on the other end of the phone didn't actually know if they were stocking the game. He did say that it would cost around 60euro if in fact they were stocking...I don't know where he plucked that number from though. TBH, I've never had much faith in the lads down there.

Anyway, HMV is the one to go with, IMO.
    44.99, in the bag. YEEEHAW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

So i fancy doing a trade-in, which games would you get rid of to get RDR

Heavy Rain/Just Case 2/MW2/BFBC2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Ghetto Cornetto

Bumping and watching thread.

Got a free night and a gift card from HMV waiting to be used. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Was in Tesco in wexford today and asked about it been launched tonight at midnight and he said that there was NO planned launch for the game in Tesco, but that they would be stocking and selling it in the morning.

Gamestop also said in the morning too at 49.99
    Xtravision was tomorrow too and she said the price could be between 49.99 and 54.99.
    Hmv said it would be on sale in the morning and i pre ordered it there for 44.99 and you get a free blu ray, clash of the titans.That was HMV in Cork now, as thats where my brother is in college..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

Gonna go down to xtravision at about 8, they often sell games the night before the release date. Although they didn't do it with bad company 2 so maybe they've stopped.

I tried tescos and xtra vision in nutgrove. Not on sale till morning :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Woho! I pre ordered it in HMV on Henry street today. I got a call around 3 o'clock from them and that chap said that my copy was in! Again Woho.....

He then said i could pick it up in the morning. Booho.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Jaysis why are people so desperate to play a game so early? Just wait ffs! You've waited 5 years, 12more hrs won't kill you :p

I was in HMV today and they had all the RDR on a table behind the counter ready to get stocked on the shelves. Are there no XtraVisions that stay open past midnight? or are there any 24hr Tescos left? They might be worth a shot. What's the deal with them not selling it this evening anyway? Some kinda laws or rules or punishment awaiting the shop if they sell it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Some kinda laws or rules or punishment awaiting the shop if they sell it?

Proabably part of the distribution contract is not to sell before a certain date. If they break it they either may have to pay damages to the Main distributors or be excluded from any major releases again. Anyway its in the interest of the shop not to sell before hand!

If one shop sells before another shop thats an unfair advantage on the shops who are obeying the date of sale. Its taking profits from them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

If you have it in stock you should sell it,it doesn't hurt anyone,it's kind of annoying that all games come out on a Friday here why not stagger them

EdK wrote: »
    If you have it in stock you should sell it,it doesn't hurt anyone,it's kind of annoying that all games come out on a Friday here why not stagger them

All shops have to start on a level playing field. IMO its completely fair!!!

Jesus lads its out tomo. Would ye relax!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I went to Game in Dundrum today and the guy said in there that he would lower the price lower than anyway else that is selling it :D
    And he also said that if you buy it in Game you get a free outfit as well that other places are not giving away.

Please do not ever apply for The Apprentice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Hah "lol"! Sure that's the same kinda stuff you hear on Apprentice anyway.

Please do not ever apply for The Apprentice.

Don't plan on it, you'd still move massive units of it no matter when it's released, don't the shops selling it cheaper have an advantage, I don't think it's that big a deal IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

If you have it in stock you should sell it,it doesn't hurt anyone

Erm. No it does actually. The whole point is to get stock in before street date so it is released on time, not so retailers can get one up on each other. Release dates are in place to ensure certain markets and charts are hit.

There are huge fines and embargos on retailers or alternate fines (ie, not giving pre-order content to some retailers) if they break the release date early, so there's no point releasing them just to get the same business they would get a day later and take on a huge fine or risk an embargo.

Cinemas have movies well before release but they can't release em.
    I never understand the furore over games out early, you never hear of people feverishly ringing every cinema asking if a movie is out early, its mad.

Good point actually. Its probably because us gamers have no lives :p

Erm. No it does actually. The whole point is to get stock in before street date so it is released on time, not so retailers can get one up on each other. Release dates are in place to ensure certain markets and charts are hit.

There are huge fines and embargos on retailers or alternate fines (ie, not giving pre-order content to some retailers) if they break the release date early, so there's no point releasing them just to get the same business they would get a day later and take on a huge fine or risk an embargo.

ok so I'm excited and not being totally rational,it's just I've been hearing about it from American friends since 12am Monday night and I can't take it anymore lol, another reason for wanting to get the jump is I didn't preorder it as I didn't feel the need to and I don't want a situation where it's hard to come by tomorrow due to these so called shortages,being up early is against my beliefs haha

Well I'm just glad I've only gotten hyped about this game recently.

I bought my 360 to get Alan Wake, what was that, 4 years ago now or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

~Marky~ wrote: »
    I went to Game in Dundrum today and the guy said in there that he would lower the price lower than anyway else that is selling it :D
    And he also said that if you buy it in Game you get a free outfit as well that other places are not giving away.

Im going to buy in GAME now also because XV would not sell me it today (they lose out on money :P) Serves them right haha I do not like XV at all I only buy there if they sell me a game the day before (which used to be all the time) now they are just stopping it completely so I then buy games in GAME as they are much more easy to deal with and don't have as many fools working.

The process of buying a game:

1. Enter Shop
    2. Pick up game
    3. Go to till and hand over game.
    4. Hand over cash
    5. Receive game
    6. Leave store

What more do you require out of your shopping experiences for games?

EGriff wrote: »
    Gonna go down to xtravision at about 8, they often sell games the night before the release date. Although they didn't do it with bad company 2 so maybe they've stopped.

I chanced my arm at Xtravision on the way home at 11pm, there was just two girls working so i asked and i was delighted when i heard her say ''ya we have two'', then she checked a wall chart and said it wasn't out till tomorrow, i tried pleading with her but she said she couldn't, maybe if i was more persistent i'd have got it, she seemed vulnerable at first :pac:, but it was E10 dearer anyway so i'll wait for HMV

Maybe they got warned?

I got Uncharted and FIFA 10 on the Thurs and there was loads coming in and out for it, had to switch my pre-order from Gamestop for one of them and i was asked in there ''did i get it in Xtravision?'' to which a sigh arose in a way that they lost a lot of sales over it, maybe they got onto the suppliers and complained?

Also maybe this confirms a shortage in some stores(for PS3) as she said ''we have two''... and they haven't sold any yet :eek:.. wouldn't be a busy store for games and that though, i was defo the only one chancing my arm, she had to check the system for the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

Hogzy wrote: »
    The process of buying a game:

1. Enter Shop
    2. Pick up game
    3. Go to till and hand over game.
    4. Hand over cash
    5. Receive game
    6. Leave store

What more do you require out of your shopping experiences for games?

I have had bad times with xtra vision over things... I also get money back to spend on more games with GAME!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

ok so I'm excited and not being totally rational,it's just I've been hearing about it from American friends since 12am Monday night and I can't take it anymore lol, another reason for wanting to get the jump is I didn't preorder it as I didn't feel the need to and I don't want a situation where it's hard to come by tomorrow due to these so called shortages,being up early is against my beliefs haha

You'll be grand don't worry. It won't be an all-out sell-out, you'll be enjoying RDR this time tomorrow ;)