Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please welcome our new GAA mods.

• 19-05-2010 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭

As the summer starts, we figured we needed help so please welcome An Citeog and Pride Fighter.

Be nice to them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Commiserations to the pair of you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

There is one obvious problem here now.

I'm surrounded by Dubs. :eek:

smashey wrote: »

Do not forget about Daysha ;) I guess I do not seem so bad now :p

I am sure that the guys will do a good job, at least we can be sure that they will not have any vested interests in the championship beyond August :D

Do not forget about Daysha ;) I guess I do not seem so bad now :p

I am sure that the guys will do a good job, at least we can be sure that they will not have any vested interests in the championship beyond August :D

That is true and means they'll be able to concentrate on modding when the serious stuff begins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

That's exactly how poor Michael Murphy felt a few weeks ago aswell!;)

Anyway, I'm looking forward to a long and eh, eventful summer and I'll try my best not to break anything while I'm here!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

As the summer starts, we figured we needed help so please welcome An Citeog and Pride Fighter.

Be nice to them. :D

Many thanks Smashey. I consider it an honour to moderate the forum. I'll do my very best.
    Commiserations to the pair of you :p
    Cheers Cruiserweight;)

I've always had a soft spot for Donegal after the 1992 All Ireland. You's beat us good that day:)

Thank you all:)

An Citeog wrote: »
    That's exactly how poor Michael Murphy felt a few weeks ago aswell!;)
    Bad start. ( I was there)
    I've always had a soft spot for Donegal after the 1992 All Ireland. You's beat us good that day:)

Good start.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Many thanks Smashey. I consider it an honour to moderate the forum. I'll do my very best.

Cheers Cruiserweight;)

Thank you all:)
    Donegal finished that game well alright. So many All Irelands left behind by Dublin in the early nineties. Should have won many more from 92 to 95.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

*insert generic "this is the only reward the Dubs will get this summer" note here*

Also does this mean I'm no longer the mod noob? It took feckin long enough :P

Welcome along lads :)

Daysha wrote: »
    *insert generic "this is the only reward the Dubs will get this summer" note here*

Also does this mean I'm no longer the mod noob? It took feckin long enough :P

Welcome along lads :)
    What some counties would do for a provincial title Daysha ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Oh Dear.

More Dublin Mods.

Sure what does Dublin know about the GAA.

Head the balls the lot of ye ;)

Best of luck with it anyway lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

As we have ye all here now

Quick question for ye

Are we allowed use the phrase "puke football" ? :):p:D;)

I'll be here all summer:cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Will the new rules and inexperienced refs(mods) mean a plethora of yellow and red cards here as well as in the championship?
    Jaysus there will be no slagging the Dubs at all this year with a mad scramble to use the ban stick at the first sign of any disparaging comments regarding the hill etc.
    Good luck anyway lads.

patmac wrote: »
    Jaysus there will be no slagging the Dubs at all this year with a mad scramble to use the ban stick at the first sign of any disparaging comments regarding the hill etc.
    I can still slag them and there isn't a thing they can do to me. :cool:

Admin powers rawk!! :D

patmac wrote: »
    Will the new rules and inexperienced refs(mods) mean a plethora of yellow and red cards here as well as in the championship?
    Good luck anyway lads.

Cheers man.

Regarding us new mods dishing out infractions/bans for people slagging the Dubs, I can only speak for myself but hopefully it wont happen. People can criticise within reason. The forum charter is the same. There has not been any additions to it like slagging Dubs is a bannable offence (its not).

As long as people attack the posts and not the posters everything should be fine. Also do not personally abuse any members of the GAA, president, refs, players etc. But this should be taken as a given.

As for a Dublin versus country thing, thats not really an issue. Daysha and Smashey are fine mods and come from counties with an excellent GAA tradition (Waterford and Donegal). Even though I'll be cheering the Dubs, I respect any person who trains 3 hours a night, 5 days a week, while having a job and doing it for free. Every player in the GAA should be admired for this, regardless of county affiliation. Also to step on a pitch with cameras and hundreds of thousands watching at home takes moral courage.

Basically, I do not want to use my powers as a mod, but I will if necessary. I hope to be fair and even handed. Thats all I can do.

Thanks for the good wishes and I hope I've allayed any fears you or anyone else has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Great acceptance speech Pride Fighter, professing what the GAA and being a fan is all about. Good luck in the new role. Good luck to An Citeóg too.
    Yayamark wrote:
    I'll be here all summercool.gifpacman.gif

A cocky Kerryman. Ye'll be around for most of the summer, but hopefully not until September. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I can still slag them and there isn't a thing they can do to me. :cool:

Admin powers rawk!! :D

One of them lives within striking distance remember! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Cheers man.

Regarding us new mods dishing out infractions/bans for people slagging the Dubs, I can only speak for myself but hopefully it wont happen.

well, there will be nobody here August Bank Holiday Monday if you do :D.

you do know that as GAA mods you all have to be here each championship sunday, dont you?

you cant be like blackbelt going awol when you like.

good to see you have his knack of the big post though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Best of luck lads. Hopefully ye'll let us Galwegians enjoy our double that is destined for us.

Double disappointment? :p

Wow Diabhal Beag, do you expect them to be here for that long? ;) That's speaking as Dublin man with a Galway mother. So I'd like to see them win, especially another Hurling All-Ireland, and although they are one of the few counties that can start each championship with the genuine hopes of a double, I don't see it happening for a while. Second in line to Cork I suppose, with those two counties the only genuine contenders at present. The likes of Offaly, Wexford and us Dubs are a long way behind that, with Dublin making the greatest strides in closing the gap on the leading two, but with a lot of work to do. You would get reasonable odds on a Galway double, but there would be better things to spend your money on.

Flukey wrote: »
    Wow Diabhal Beag, do you expect them to be here for that long? ;) That's speaking as Dublin man with a Galway mother. So I'd like to see them win, especially another Hurling All-Ireland, and although they are one of the few counties that can start each championship with the genuine hopes of a double, I don't see it happening for a while. Second in line to Cork I suppose, with those two counties the only genuine contenders at present. The likes of Offaly, Wexford and us Dubs are a long way behind that, with Dublin making the greatest strides in closing the gap on the leading two, but with a lot of work to do. You would get reasonable odds on a Galway double, but there would be better things to spend your money on.

I'd still rate Tipp and Waterford ahead of both, although I think Galway will push on this year and get to the All Ireland semis at the least.

Thats just great. Another Sawdoctors song on the way.
    "Will Galway beat mayo, no
    Will Galway beat mayo, no,
    Not if they have Willie Joe
    They haven't a chance of beating Mayo"

An Citeog wrote: »
    I'd still rate Tipp and Waterford ahead of both, although I think Galway will push on this year and get to the All Ireland semis at the least.

Waterford and Tipp are quite poor footballing counties though, so Galway are the second team that could win a Liam/Sam double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Congrats :)

I'm not jealous at all >.<

As Pride Fighter said An Citeog, I was talking in relation to counties that could win the double. There really only is Cork and Galway at present that genuinely could do it and there are a few long shots.

Cork are the only ones to have done it, in 1890 and in 1990. They reached both finals in 1999, but lost the football. Offaly reached both finals in 1981, winning their first ever Hurling Final but losing the football final as Kerry achieved the 4 in a row. We all know what happened in the football final the following year. But for a terrible mistake by the Offaly goalkeeper in the Leinster final, which led to a late and winning goal by Kilkenny, they could have done the double that year. In 1982 under the system at the time the Leinster final winners went straight to the All-Ireland final. Kilkenny beat Cork in that final and Offaly would have beaten them too. I was on the Canal End, behind the goal when Damien Martin made that error. By chance, as we drove away from Croke Park, he was a passenger in a car that we were beside, and naturally he looked very disappointed. No big team buses in those days. Offaly's chances of doing the double this year would be very small, so it is down to Cork and Galway as realistic contenders.

Flukey wrote: »
    As Pride Fighter said An Citeog, I was talking in relation to counties that could win the double. There really only is Cork and Galway at present that genuinely could do it and there are a few long shots.

Cork are the only ones to have done it, in 1890 and in 1990. They reached both finals in 1999, but lost the football. Offaly reached both finals in 1981, winning their first ever Hurling Final but losing the football final as Kerry achieved the 4 in a row. We all know what happened in the football final the following year. But for a terrible mistake by the Offaly goalkeeper in the Leinster final, which led to a late and winning goal by Kilkenny, they could have done the double that year. In 1982 under the system at the time the Leinster final winners went straight to the All-Ireland final. Kilkenny beat Cork in that final and Offaly would have beaten them too. I was on the Canal End, behind the goal when Damien Martin made that error. By chance, as we drove away from Croke Park, he was a passenger in a car that we were beside, and naturally he looked very disappointed. No big team buses in those days. Offaly's chances of doing the double this year would be very small, so it is down to Cork and Galway as realistic contenders.

My bad!:o

I agree with you now so!:) Not sure if I read it on here or heard it from someone else but Offaly are the only county to have had All Stars in every position in both hurling and football.

Indeed they are. It is a modern-day table quiz question.