Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Death Heard On Radio: No Toilet Brush Involved

• 19-05-2010 2:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭

I was back home out wesht [cue 'stopped reading there' smart arses] the other day and partaking in that past time so beloved of us Weshties. Nope, I wasn't riding sheep/cousins/tractors. I was listening to the death notices on the wireless. You see, it's always important that one knows which locals have bit the dust for good in your area. Not out of any great care for them but simply to know [a] If you might be in for a windfall from the will, Who might the beneficiaries of the will be and [c] What resultant house, land or business might be up for sale thanks to the will. So as you can gather it's very important for us to know these things while keeping that ever so devious cloak of sympathy over us, visiting the dead persons house to see them dead whilst his/her family surround them in the room and constantly repeating sorry over and over again until you forget what you're actually sorry about - 'what did I do to him again?'

And now after that big load of ramble-ie ****e comes the purpose of this thread; The radio man referred to all the dead people as 'The late...' which got the monkeys in my head pushing buttons very fast. What exactly was he late for? And what the **** did it matter if he was late, he's dead for chrissake! Next came the information that he was reposing in his home. Hmmm reposing I says to myself; should that not be decomposing?

Of course the only way to put my mind at ease is for the AH plebians to offer up rational explanations for this bending of the English lnaguage into some super-silly-makes-no-sense-but-is-a-nicer-way-of-saying-they're-dead phrases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Anyone got a Gibberish - English dictionary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

OP what the fuck are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Sykk wrote: »
    Anyone got a Gibberish - English dictionary?

It's the Culchie-English one you need there, skin. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What's this reposing thing? I only heard of it first about 2 months ago and now I am hearing it all the time. Is it new, or am I only noticing it now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I've cracked your cultchie code
    cson wrote: »
    I was back home out wesht [cue 'stopped reading there' smart arses] the other day and partaking in that past time so beloved of us Weshties. Nope, I wasn't riding sheep/cousins/tractors. I was listening to the death notices on the wireless. You see, it's always important that one knows which locals have bit the dust for good in your area. Not out of any great care for them but simply to know [a] If you might be in for a windfall from the will, Who might the beneficiaries of the will be and [c] What resultant house, land or business might be up for sale thanks to the will. So as you can gather it's very important for us to know these things while keeping that ever so devious cloak of sympathy over us, visiting the dead persons house to see them dead whilst his/her family surround them in the room and constantly repeating sorry over and over again until you forget what you're actually sorry about - 'what did I do to him again?'

And now after that big load of ramble-ie ****e comes the purpose of this thread; The radio man referred to all the dead people as 'The late...' which got the monkeys in my head pushing buttons very fast. What exactly was he late for? And what the **** did it matter if he was late, he's dead for chrissake! Next came the information that he was reposing in his home. Hmmm repsoing I says to myself; should that not be decomposing?

Of course the only way to put my mind at ease is for the AH plebians to offer up rational explanations for this bending of the English lnaguage into some super-silly-makes-no-sense-but-is-a-nicer-way-of-saying-they're-dead phrases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

F*cking death notices on mid-wesht radio, I can't listen to them, our bus driver used to have them on every morning going to school, bad enough going to school on a cold rainy morning without hearing 'The death has occured....' 20 times over :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Late for his own funeral perhaps?

WindSock wrote: »
    What's this reposing thing? I only heard of it first about 2 months ago and now I am hearing it all the time. Is it new, or am I only noticing it now?

Nah, been on the go for as long as I've been listening. I think it's the big charade where you put the dead person out on show in the middle of a big room; all the associated family gather around sitting in said room and all the locals/friends/begrudgers file through 'paying their respects' and saying sorry repeatedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

It's the Culchie-English one you need there, skin. ;)

I'm from Meath. I speak perfectly good culchie! But I also speak perfectly good English! Translate, if you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Late for taking his medication.
    Late for an appointment at the hospital.
    Late for work and speeding to get in on time.

Plenty of fatal lates out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Nah, been on the go for as long as I've been listening. I think it's the big charade where you put the dead person out on show in the middle of a big room; all the associated family gather around sitting in said room and all the locals/friends/begrudgers file through 'paying their respects' and saying sorry repeatedly.

Is that just not a wake?

'Shorry fer yer throubles'

*Munch on hang sangwidge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

When local radio first became legal, I was listening to the death notices on Clare FM one day, and when yer man finished reading them he says
    "Thanks be to God, tis nobody we know".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Im sure that dead dudes corpse has more life in it than this thread.

Sykk wrote: »
    I'm from Meath. I speak perfectly good culchie! But I also speak perfectly good English! Translate, if you will.

Basically;
    Culchie Funeral
    Referring to the dead person as 'The late....'
    Riding sheep
    Driving tractors
    WindSock wrote: »
    Is that just not a wake?

'Shorry fer yer throubles'

*Munch on hang sangwidge.

I think the reposing bit is the dead person being on show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

dilallio wrote: »
    When local radio first became legal

A lot of them should be made illegal again and shut down for crimes against our bleedin' ears !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

Would you prefer: "The fat lady has sung for the following: ... We now go over to Mary who has the latest property information. Thanks Séamus, this recent spate of people ceasing to exist has freed up the following properties: ..."

..... and now for some Queen 'Another One Bites The Dust'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I was back home out wesht .

Stopped reading there

Well you know what they say, a good funeral is better than a bad wedding!
    I have had mighty craic at some of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

When i was younger i used stay back at the cousins house. They used to have the dinner every day at 1pm and without fail the radio would go on to hear the death notices. Nobody was allowed to speak a word until it was over and 95% of the time they weren't people they knew anyway.

Well you know what they say, a good funeral is better than a bad wedding!
    I have had mighty craic at some of them

True that.

When are we getting a culchie forum so these matter of importance can be discussed by the people they affect the most? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

I think the reposing bit is the dead person being on show.

Sort of like posing, but for dead people.

True that.

When are we getting a culchie forum so these matter of importance can be discussed by the people they affect the most? :(

It was rejected!!
    Was seen to be a social forum to the exclusion of dubs :(

It was rejected!!
    Was seen to be a social forum to the exclusion of dubs :(

Arra shur t'was to be expected. The wesht left behind and marginalised by those in the pale. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

You see, it's always important that one knows which locals have bit the dust for good in your area. Not out of any great care for them but simply to know [a] If you might be in for a windfall from the will, Who might the beneficiaries of the will be and [c] What resultant house, land or business might be up for sale thanks to the will. So as you can gather it's very important for us to know these things while keeping that ever so devious cloak of sympathy over us, visiting the dead persons house to see them dead whilst his/her family surround them in the room and constantly repeating sorry over and over again until you forget what you're actually sorry about - 'what did I do to him again?'
    Wow. You sound like a bunch of morally bankrupt arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

My mother listens to the death notices every day. 'Reposing' has been used this years...I remember it was written on one of those wee signs on the door when my nan died (rip) in '81..I thought it was a creepy word then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

The thing that bugs me is when people are talking about their dead relative or friend, and they say "we lost them 5 years ago" (or whatever).

Always have to fight the urge to say "well that was fcuking clumsy wasn't it?"

But yeah, my parents never miss the death notices, and they watch the 1pm news, the 6pm news, the 9pm news and the late night bulletin. Why like, just why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I enjoyed the ramblings OP,not sure what the rest was about though.
    I was up in Letterkenny last year and the brother in law was out paying his respects to some dead oulfella's family. Apparently half the town turned up, and get this,the poor dead man's family had to feed and water them, in their house! I thought it was awful selfish of the locals to turn up at the house where the deceased is barely cold,and then eat them out of house and home.
    The greedy feckers. I'd guess half of those culchies didn't even know the dead man,and just turned up for the feed.