Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I AM Mr Pedro Lopez

• 18-05-2010 7:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭

Got this e-mail today, clearly a scam :

"Mr. Pedro Lopez
    Royal Bank of Scotland
    Address Here

Please send your response to (@@@@@@@@@)

Dear Sir/Madam
    My name is Mr.Pedro Lopez, what I have that may be of interest to you is a business proposal that will benefit you.I work with the Royal Bank of Scotland here in Madrid Spain. The main reason I am writing to you is based on a Corporate Bank account that has been lying dormant for some years now, it was owned by a late Canadian industrialist.Due to my investigations, I found out that she died on 22nd of September,2001 from injuries sustained from an auto crash in venezuela, with no child, next of kin or relative.

But before her death she had mandated us to raise a draft to transfer the funds in her corporate account to one, Mr.Daniel Raul, a contractor, being payment for his contractual services for the supply and installation of drilling equipments, and aviation parts made as supplies to her oil servicing and aviation company in Venezuela.

Unfortunately he also died in the crash alongside with her while visiting her in Venezuela. The fact that Mr.Daniel is the supposed beneficiary of the funds is not known to anybody, except a few of us involved in this transaction. We have for many years made frantic efforts to trace any of his surviving relatives but to no success.If we do not trace any of his relatives, then the funds will end up being reverted to the British Government or repatriated to Canada. We are therefore soliciting your support in order for us to present you from the Company as the contractor who had actually executed the contract and is entitlted to the funds in the account as his contractual payment.

@ EMAIL: )
    Yours faithfully,
    Pedro Lopez"

Was thinking of giving my details, but changing the name/address/numbers *everything* to see what this f*cker replies, but was thinking I'd get some fun out of it.
    So AH, Suggestions? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Try some baiting.
    www.419baiter.com
    It's amazing how they always have a gmail email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Give him your real details for the craic.

Then come back us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Seems Legit

Go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

100% Risk Free?

HEHE PROFIT! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

One of these get's posted every day, seriously do you think this is new to anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Give them Sean Fitzpatricks details.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

galwayrush wrote: »

Seanie would only end up emailing himself. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pedro_L%C3%B3pez_(serial_killer)

Pedro Alonso López (serial killer)

That is also the name of one of the most sickening serial killers ever to walk free society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Hello, I am Mr. Inigo Montoya, you killed my father.. prepare the transaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Oh, it's not a scam.

See, what you do is you give them all your credit card numbers, and if one of 'em is lucky, they send you a prize!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

SugarHigh wrote: »
    One of these get's posted every day, seriously do you think this is new to anybody?

Have you got worms? Why so grumpy?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Jaysus another €22 billion down the drain. Some somalian would be living up it up big time over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Copy and past his Email address in the address bar thousands of times and send back and email saying something silly!

That'll show him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Fago! wrote: »
    Copy and past his Email address in the address bar thousands of times and send back and email saying something silly!

That'll show him!

There used to be a programme to do that, maybe it's still available, it's called 'Bounce'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

There used to be a programme to do that, maybe it's still available, it's called 'Bounce'

Really? Prob a bit too much effort. Ye can jst hold down CTRL + V.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Must we read everyone scam email that people get sent?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I take it most of those emails sent are by a bot, so really would be a waste of time unless they were using there own email server and storing it locally, in which case you could probably flood it. If it was a gmail server though, I dont think they'd appricate it that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Set up a new bank account with no money in it and no over-draft option and give them all them details and then see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Ironically enough even though these scam emails go around all the time...theres guys out there that have offered a friend of mine a significant amount of cash to put through his successful online business...money launndering on the web is a huge huge business...

Dodgy? Fook yes!!!!

Scam? Not all the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

SugarHigh wrote: »

Is it really a scam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I actually know someone caled pedro lopez . . .:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Bazzy wrote: »
    Is it really a scam?
    That's like asking if Anglo Irish is the pinnacle of banking success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bazzy wrote: »
    Is it really a scam?
    If someone offer you money it's a scam.
    If someone mails you without you requesting it it's a scam.
    If someone offers you anything via mail it's a scam.
    If someone wants any kind of personal details it's a scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

If it's this Pedro Lopez, you'd better tread carefully, OP.

biko wrote: »
    If someone offer you money it's a scam.
    If someone mails you without you requesting it it's a scam.
    If someone offers you anything via mail it's a scam.
    If someone wants any kind of personal details it's a scam.

I think people may have totally missed my sarcastic question :D:cool: