Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Moderators

• 18-05-2010 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭

Both Woddle and donothoponpop have agreed to join hunnymonster & Rineanna as moderators of A/R/T.

Welcome on board!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

$hite, does this mean I have to be civil to woddle now ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Excellent choices!

Well done to the lads and I for one welcome our new alien overlords ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

congrats guys. welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Well done lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

$hite, does this mean I have to be civil to woddle now ? :)

smiley face definitely needed, I tried to have a conversation with you on Sunday morning, the fact it was in the middle of a race is neither here nor there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Sounds like a good blend of good cop / bad cop - welcome, sure we'll go easy on ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Great to have you on board guys. A particular welcome to my nearby agitator moderator :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭OI

I want loads of special treatment lads, woddle - you can start by buying me a pint in Cork ;)

OI wrote: »
    I want loads of special treatment lads, woddle - you can start by buying me a pint in Cork ;)
    all pints money in Cork will have to go towards the woddle-speeding-fine-fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

What's the A/R/T equivalent of coke & hookers?

Oh, was I not supposed to let the non-mods know about that?! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

They now sit in a darkened room, hour after hour, on front of their computer screens waiting for someone to ask for medicial advice. The power is all consuming, dreaming of the day the world will be all theirs.

medical advice and selling race numbers.... it's a tough life you know!

^^ lol (can't thank on iPhone)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

OI wrote: »
    ^^ lol (can't thank on iPhone)

I thanked it for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Thanks for all the good wishes. In reality, this forum pretty much regulates itself, and always has a good vibe to it, so I'll have little to do except sit back and wait for the weekly Boards.ie paychecks to come through the door;)

One area I canvassed to be active in, however, is in the Event forum. There's hundreds of well run club races throughout the year, which don't cost an arm and a leg, and give something back to their local athletics community, and I feel these are the sort of races which deserve to get championed on Boards.

That being said, there's obviously a market for the growing number of commercial races, and lots of good discussions and threads on same. While it's existing policy anyway for RD's to approach the mods before broadcasting their wares, I would like to see a few more safeguards. For instance, "charity" is being abused left right and centre as a word to justify entry fees- if a race wants to declare itself charitable, it needs to be more specific on what that means- are all funds raised being handed over, or is their a vague intention to pass a bucket around for some worthy cause at race end?

Likewise for things like permits, course measurement, chip timing, facilities: if you want to have your race discussed, be prepared to have some information on these items. Plenty of recent races have been less than honest about measurement, (for instance), and its the runners who suffer.

Lest I sound too cranky, the intention is to help foster a better race environment, and get more people active and participating, and above all, to have an enjoyable, challenging, and fun time, whether you're a 30min or 90min 10k runner, or whatever. I'll update the race charter in a while: in the meantime, any suggestions on what could be done to make the Events section better, I'd be happy to hear, either on a thread or by PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Great choices, will have to make sure you guys get only the finest coke and hookers ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Great choices, will have to make sure you guys get only the finest coke and hookers ;)
    Diet and Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

gerard65 wrote: »
    Diet and Galway?

Quite possibly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Best of luck lads. Hopefully you will have little to do.

One area I canvassed to be active in, however, is in the Event forum. There's hundreds of well run club races throughout the year, which don't cost an arm and a leg, and give something back to their local athletics community, and I feel these are the sort of races which deserve to get championed on Boards.

Excellent idea Donothoponpop. Gets my vote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Nice one fellas. Two finer megalomaniacs you couldn't find if you scoured the length and breath of the country. :)

On a related note, I have a spare entry for Wicklow half marathon this weekend, which I can't run, as I've twisted my ankle (do you think it might be broken?), so would anyone be interested in swapping it for some human growth hormone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

uberwolf wrote: »
    Both Woddle and donothoponpop have agreed to join hunnymonster & Rineanna as moderators of A/R/T.

Welcome on board!

Great stuff lads. Congrats.

Does that mean you'll both be wearing the fully branded Boards.ie tech tshirts at all times now? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Congrats Woddle and donothoponpop. G'luck with the modding and keeping the hordes in order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Excellent, keep them honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Sounds like a good blend of good cop / bad cop

There's no doubt in anybody's mind which is which, right? Note to self, use a lot more smileys, and quit posting when drunk...:D
    On a related note, I have a spare entry for Wicklow half marathon this weekend, which I can't run, as I've twisted my ankle (do you think it might be broken?), so would anyone be interested in swapping it for some human growth hormone?

Had to be you! One of these day's, Krusty, one of these days...;)
    RedB wrote: »

Does that mean you'll both be wearing the fully branded Boards.ie tech tshirts at all times now? ;)

Woddle PM'd me last night to say it was ironic two who voted against the Boards.ie tech top were chosen as mods! Boards.ie, promoting free-thinkers everywhere, now there's a company I'd be proud to wear on my sleeve... oh, wait... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

A big welcome to both of ye. Ye're part of the furniture around here anyway so moderatorship was the next natural step. ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

good to see more people willing to put the time in to help out the forum, best of luck with it guys..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Welcome to the new insect overlords!

So I can ask for medical advice in here? Good.

Chin Sprints: how many should I do?
    Iliotibial band: good to play on my i-Pod while running?
    Stress fractures: I've been telling the wife how stressed I am, but still no fractures.
    Compartment syndrome: actually, this one's ok, as I live in a house.
    Plantar fasciitis: the fascist wife of mine tells me I need to keep planting stuff (lupins, mostly).

So, grab a chair (and some coke and hookers) and welcome to the loony bin.

plantar fa-SHEEEITE-us (sheeite pronounced in a crude Liam Gallagher singing voice, arms held behind back) -always wanted to do that but never had cause (touch wood)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

medical advice and selling race numbers.... it's a tough life you know!

I've a mysterious pain in my leg...what is it?
    So sore, that I'll flog my W200 entry to the highest bidder...

Is that;
    a) 1 yellow
    b) 2 yellows & ultimate red
    or
    c) straight red

Welcome, guys...:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I nearly missed this, so just want to add my congrats to our new overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Two posters whose posting history would show a genuine enthusiasm for fairness, community involvement, and both with interest in real-life Boards running (AC/IMRA, pacing, etc.)
    Congrats on the status upgrade, guys. And thanks for taking on the drudgery of keeping this place running smoothly. Please don't let your moderator hats hold back your involvement in the various discussions, and stick to the low-key moderation we're used to.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

gerard65 wrote: »
    Diet and Galway?

picture.php?albumid=299&pictureid=6318

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

uberwolf wrote: »
    Both Woddle and donothoponpop have agreed to join as moderators of A/R/T.

An Bord Snip Nua ;)