Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good car for less than a grand?

• 18-05-2010 1:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭

Hi guys

Trying to decide what to do here.

I'm over in the UK here as a student. I bought myself a nice car thinking all would be well with regards to VRT when I got back but it turns out as I'm a student I'll still need to pay it even if I'm only back for a few days. (should have read the legislation properly:o )

Now I'm coming back for the summer to work and I'm going to need a car.

My UK car cost about £800 and the VRT is e720. I know in my heart that if the car broke down tomorrow and it was going to cost 720 quid to fix I'd be getting rid of it.
    So I'm kinda stuck at the moment. I reckon if I sold the car it would only get about £500 which I don't think is going to get me a car anywhere near as good in Ireland.

So what would you do? I already have one car, I really don't feel like ending up with two (I know from past experiences that I tend to 'collect' fecking cars)

If I do sell the UK car to get a car in Ireland its going to need to be good for long distances and have a fair bit of space.

Any advice lads? Ye're always nice and helpful so I thought I'd ask.

If you're shrewd and patient you'll get a great car for a grand over here, by mean great I mean it will do the job fine, not great as in an M5 or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭tc2010

Id try pick up a 98 or there abouts Audi a4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

As a student for the summer I'd pick up a old, high mileage car that takes me from A to B for 4 months, then sell or bring it over to Britain.
    Mind, the bigger the engine the more tax and fuel costs.
    Look at donedeal and adverts.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Here are some examples.

Toyota Corolla:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201002196550377
    - Long NCT which will make it easy to sell on in a few months time and a good reputation for reliability so it should not rob your wallet.

Mazda 323:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201016197733360
    - Similar to the Corolla, very little goes wrong with them and you shouldn't loose too much on it when you go to sell it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

+1 on the Mazda. The missus had one, albeit a 1994 one, that was passed from her brother. It went on and on and on, without an smidgen of trouble until it was stolen and wrote off in 2004. The scrap dealer took possession of it as it ticked over 160,000 miles