Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pimp your porridge

• 18-05-2010 8:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All;

Up to start of May i was having porridge for last six months, switch back to cornflakes now as smething different.

While its not the healthiness option whats good alternatives to porridge for summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

I wouldn't be a fan of porridge. But I love granola bars (nature valley). I don't know if they are healthiest, but it did me for an 11 mile run last Suaturday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

How about muesli?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Natural yoghurt (full fat), berries, toasted flakes or granola with chopped nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Jambo221

Whenever I'm not in the mood for porridge, I generally go for Bran Flakes, mixed with some muesli and a glass of orange juice, apparently orange juice goes really well with iron-rich cereal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

Muesli with low-fat milk. Yum!

Make sure to get the "No added salt and sugar" version. I've just tried the Tesco muesli and it's absolutely fine and cheaper than the branded products. Lidl also carry a (non-Lidl branded) line of muesli which, again, is fine.

If you so desire, you can also get a bag of bran and top up the fibre content of the muesli.

Or you can make your own muesli. I made a couple of batches last year and they were very nice but, frankly, I can't be bothered putting the time into it when there are perfectly fine products in the shops.

Hi All;

Up to start of May i was having porridge for last six months, switch back to cornflakes now as smething different.

While its not the healthiness option whats good alternatives to porridge for summer?

liamo wrote: »
    Lidl also carry a (non-Lidl branded) line of muesli which, again, is fine.

The bags of muesli from Lidl (or is it Aldi? I can never remember) are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭OI

I find the lidl muesli very sweet. The tesco version in a kind of bluey browny bag is the nicest i've tasted. Not too much sugar - lovely. For some reason I haven't seen this one on the shelves for a while. Hence I've been eating flahvins high 8, it's really nice aswell, nice crunch to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭foleyalan

Hi All;

Im a big fan of weetabix in the morning. Always have 4 before a race, never have any problems. I love the porridge too, maybe add stuff to your porridge? Honey, fruit ??? What about readybrek?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

+1 on Granola and Yog.
    Alternative but not an everydayer is lentils, the OH makes a big pot of dahl and keeps the spicy stuff on the side mike with tomatoes and onion. But the dahl on it's own, with some light flavours is great for breakfast and slow release energy.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    +1 on Granola and Yog.
    Alternative but not an everydayer is lentils, the OH makes a big pot of dahl and keeps the spicy stuff on the side mike with tomatoes and onion. But the dahl on it's own, with some light flavours is great for breakfast and slow release energy.
    I like the sounds of that. Do you have a recipe?

Perhaps not a runners breakfast but eggs are fantastic first meal of the day. For a runner they would be a good alternative on non running days or low mileage days.

I alternate between a 2 egg omelette or yoghurt, berries, nuts and one boiled egg most days.

I can't eat any of those muesli or granola things as they're too sugary and it drives my blood sugar levels crazy so low gi is best for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

Hi All;

i recently switched to cardboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

What you need to do is pimp your porridge!

Includes recipes from such luminaries as Krusty_clown. These days I have my porridge with banana, seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, etc.) and a small bit of Nutella. Yum. Don't need to eat afterwards for a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

try adding stone pebbles or beach sand to your porridge and get ready for the taste explosion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

Actually can we make a sticky with title

"PIMP YOUR PORRIDGE

We could then all include our recipes for spicing up what lets face it can be a quite dull breakfast.

My favorite at the moment is apple and cinnamon, but i always come back to the classic honey....

Krusty; I'll try your banana and seeds when all my apples are gone...

EDIT: Sorry I didn't realise that was a link... cool website, forget the sticky idea!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I like the sounds of that. Do you have a recipe?

Below gives you a rough idea - but to coin a phrase - you can pimp your lentils anyway you want.

Lentils
    1 ltr water
    1 larger white onion chopped
    1 cube of Ginger peeled and finley chopped
    1 teaspoon of tumeric
    1 teaspoon of cumin seeds (crushed)
    1/2 a tin of tomatoes
    300gms of red lentils
    salt and pepper to flavor

Put verything into the water except the lentils and bring to the boil, add the lentils and cook for 30mins - longer if you like them softer and add some additional water to play with the consistency.

For the spicy bit - don't reco for breakfast
    2 whites onions peeled and sliced
    1 crushed clove of garlic
    1 teasppon of cumin seeds (crushed)
    1/2 teaspoon of dried crushed chilli
    pinch of tumeric

fry off the onions and chuck everything else in for a few mins - add this to the lentils before serving

for the side
    150gms of natural yoghurt and some fresh corriander to garnish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

Lidl strawberry crunch are the man! then a banana after and Im flyin.. Then for my 11 am breakfast 2 i go for a cereal bar and a scone with jam! Keeps me goin til lunch. Any suggestions for something to eat between dinner and lunch? Have been eating a bar at 4 but that cant be good(wow i eat a hell of a lot :eek:)

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Lidl strawberry crunch are the man! then a banana after and Im flyin.. Then for my 11 am breakfast 2 i go for a cereal bar and a scone with jam! Keeps me goin til lunch. Any suggestions for something to eat between dinner and lunch? Have been eating a bar at 4 but that cant be good(wow i eat a hell of a lot :eek:)
    A handful or two or three of nuts/ Lidl do a good pack for less than €1 with hazelnuts, walnuts, brazil and cashnew with raisins.

Beepbeep67, thanks a mil for that. I'll give it a go later this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Have been thinking of this for some time as I really don't like porridge but there's very few other alternatives. Also, I want something I can eat on the hoof. I'd prefer another twenty minutes in bed than getting up to cook.

I thought that a frittata would be a good alternative.

There's some nice looking recipes on the bord bia website.. You could probably make one up and have it cold/reheated for the next two or three days. Plus you could vary the filling sufficiently not to be bored of it after a fortnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

A handful or two or three of nuts/ Lidl do a good pack for less than €1 with hazelnuts, walnuts, brazil and cashnew with raisins.

Tesco also do a cheap, grand big bag (500g) of mixed nuts and raisins that I graze on. Its a pink bag usually beside the crisps. They have 1kg bags at Xmas also that I try to stock up on if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

n-dawg wrote: »
    Actually can we make a sticky with title

"PIMP YOUR PORRIDGE

We could then all include our recipes for spicing up what lets face it can be a quite dull breakfast.

My favorite at the moment is apple and cinnamon, but i always come back to the classic honey....

Krusty; I'll try your banana and seeds when all my apples are gone...

EDIT: Sorry I didn't realise that was a link... cool website, forget the sticky idea!!!

+1 on apple and cinnamon its delicious, this is what I would have at home although I steep the oats over night with some sultanas thrown in too and add the thinly cliced apple and cinnamon the next morning while cooking, Yum!

Or try a dollop of strawberry jam if you are in a hurry. Yum

Most days I have porridge I just chop a banana in.

Alpen, Bran Flakes and Cornflakes are my quick fix cereals. I always throw fruit in though. Usually banana with the cornflakes or Alpen but freshly chopped strawberries are best with Bran Flakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Scrambled Tofu or Muesli are my poisons of choice when I get fed up of porridge which isn't very often. Normally have raisins in the porridge which I make with soya milk instead of water or milk. Another option recently discovered is a homemade high protein tofu/soya/banana smoothie - great for after a long run. Other than that you could have a look at the Rocky movie to make up the concoction that Balboa drank before he went for his run:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

With krusty on the pimpin. for summer when you don't want a hot brekkie - get oats and soak them in milk or rice milk in the fridge overnight. its mouse like in the morning. then lidl do a 1kg tub of pure greek yogurt - i add a spoon or too, some nuts, maybe a drop of almond essence. nyom

ULstudent wrote: »
    its mouse like in the morning
    I'm no vegetarian, but I draw the line at eating anything that's mouse-like, particularly for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

mouse desert like not moose animal like

Squeaky and dry? You'd have to be really sick of porridge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭plodder

RayCun wrote: »
    Squeaky and dry? You'd have to be really sick of porridge...
    Could be nice and crunchy though. Don't knock it till you try it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭leopardus

Man Museli
    Soak your oats overnight (in the fridge) in the freshly squeezed juice of one or two oranges. A spoonfull of cinnamon powder is optional.
    • Add sliced berries; strawberry, rasperries, blueberries. (frozen blueberries and raspberries are tasty and cheaper). Or whatever fruit is favoured and in season.
    • Add nuts; Almond are a favourite. toasted lightly and kept in a jam jar for extra flavour.
    • Add seeds; pumpkin. or a spoonful of the ground seed mix that you can get in health food shops
    • A spoonful of yogurt; Glenisk full fat. No other brand comes close.
    Muscle Porridge
    Place your oats in a saucepan (I would use about half as much oats for this recipe), add milk and break in an egg/ egg white and wisk until slightly frothy. Put on a medium heat until simmering, whisking regularly. Add a spoonfull of favoured nut butter (almond and hazlenut are my favourite) and whisk in. Serve with syrup (date or maple) and a sliced banana.

Chocolate Pancake
    Because, as everyone knows, chocolate is a vital component of a balanced diet.
    • Mix one cup of sifted flour with a teaspoon of baking powder and three tablespoons of good quality cocoa.
    • Add a thrid of a cup of milk (almond, soy or cow!) and a cup of water.
    • Add three tablespoons of syrup (maple, agave or date) or honey.
    • Add a third to a half cup of chocolate chips (70%), or roughly chopped dark chocolate.
    • Add some rougly chopped pecan nuts.
    • Add a tablespoon of fat, coconut oil (melted), butter (melted) or sunflower oil
    • Serve with strawberries and blueberries and maple syrup.
    This is a bit of an indulgent breakfast and maybe a weekend treat but it's very quick to do and would have less sugar than a lot of the processed bars/ cereals. They are the most chocolately thing you will ever have for breakfast.

You obviously have Almond issues.They feature in all of your recipes! Thanks for the tips. Will give them a try at some stage. Is the Man muesli not very acidic? Sounds like it would be a tough one for me to digest early in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭fungirl1

+1 for the weetabix...with berries....yummy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

OI wrote: »
    I find the lidl muesli very sweet. The tesco version in a kind of bluey browny bag is the nicest i've tasted. Not too much sugar - lovely. For some reason I haven't seen this one on the shelves for a while. Hence I've been eating flahvins high 8, it's really nice aswell, nice crunch to it.

+1 for Flahavans High 8 - it rocks! I always add raisins to mine and have it with skimmed milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭earnyourturns

Wholemeal toast with peanut butter, honey and sliced banana. Mmmm :)

or peanut butter, cheese, gherkins, mayo and honey mmm mmm mmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

or peanut butter, cheese, gherkins, mayo and honey mmm mmm mmm

For your breakfast? Sick!:D Don't run behind him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Macanri wrote: »
    Thats just sick full stop. Morning, noon or night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭boccy23

Just straight up bananas and honey for me. Yum!!!:D

Macanri wrote: »
    nomadic wrote: »
    Thats just sick full stop. Morning, noon or night.

:D oh lads thanks for that, I needed a laugh today. I was taking the p!ss with that concoction but I have tears in my eyes from laughing at your responses :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

RayCun wrote: »
    The bags of muesli from Lidl (or is it Aldi? I can never remember) are great.

It's Lidl darling husband, the luxury on in the blue bag, €1.79

I like Aldi/Lidl special k or the like with some fresh fruit (blueberries, rasberries or banana) with skim milk

I also do stewed fruit (bag of mixed dried fruit from Lidl stewed in apple juice & water with cloves, cardamom, and cinnamon) served with low fat natural or vanilla yoghurt topped with toasted almond or seeds. But this makes one quite farty I find....maybe good for clearing walkers out of your way at races?

It's Lidl darling husband, the luxury one in the blue bag, €1.79
    My favourite post of the week! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Antigrav

These have got me through many a long run in the mountains. Easy to eat in the car on the way there too!

2/3 cup porridge oats
    2/3 cup milk
    1 egg
    2 Tbsp sugar
    1/2 cup plain flour
    2 tsp baking powder
    25g butter
    1 tsp salt

chuck all ingredients in a bowl, mix well, put dob of butter in pan, away ye go!

make a sandwich out of two of these with bacon and maple syrup - yum :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭thepassanger

cinnamon and raisins with your porridge, or simply raisins yoghurt and cinnamon by themselves, just make sure you use cinnamon then i will be happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭shanagarry

I'm trying to stick to a low GL diet to keep my blood sugar stable, so at the moment it's low GL granola, low fat plain (unsweetened) yoghurt, a spoon of seeds (flax/pumpkin/sesame) and raspberries.

A good mid-afternoon snack (also low GL) is 2 Nairns oatcakes with peanut butter.