Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baz's Extreme Worlds

• 17-05-2010 10:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭

Didn't see a thread so thought I would pop one up. :)

Wasn't intending on watching this but glad I did.

Tonights epsiode had Baz in a maximum security interviewing various inmates who were taking part in a prison rodeo!

Anyone else see it? Not sure what is next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭jordata

Saw it too and was very surprised how much i enjoyed it as i'm no Baz fan. Parts were very funny. Some great one-liners from Baz that seemed to go over the American's heads. Quiet bizzare but fun. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Yeah! Esp when the rodeo producer was on about how the bulls and the "queering" and Baz mentions how the prisoners would need his help!!

Then they looked in every direction but each other HA!! Awkward :D

Well least one other person in Ireland watched it :pac:

Plus the look of fear in his eyes alot of the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

and i watched it, think baz is good at what he does, it was funny, as one poster said 'when they had to seperate one bull from the other and baz asked him why ''so funny i spilt my coffee i laughed so much,. i'll be watching again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

i only saw the ad for this but when i saw it (especially the prison visit) i instantly thought "Louis Theroux's Weird Weekends"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Flash86

grimm2005 wrote: »
    i only saw the ad for this but when i saw it (especially the prison visit) i instantly thought "Louis Theroux's Weird Weekends"

Baz is no Louis Theroux.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

This guys were convicted criminals and Baz was licking ass and trying to be cool and liked by them. Juvenile stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Darlughda wrote: »
    This guys were convicted criminals and Baz was licking ass and trying to be cool and liked by them. Juvenile stuff.

should he have done the opposite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Flash86 wrote: »
    Baz is no Louis Theroux.

aye, just saying it looked like a complete rip off

Darlughda wrote: »

He was not trying to be cool. He was making sure he wouldn't get killed by a psycho! :pac:

Esp that last dude he spoke to who had been moved to the maximum security prison due to a riot. Then Baz asked what started it and the prisoner just looked at him and said "Racial". The look in Baz' eyes man!

Besides you have to be careful what you say to dudes like that in prison, isn't like a normal interview.

EDIT: Next week he is out with the dudes fishing out in the middle of the ocean, which is one hell of a dangerous job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Wasn't a bad show. He's a likeable enough bloke and the subject matter was pretty interesting.

The guys on the rodeo team seemed to comprise mainly of drug dealers and white collar criminals so easy for Baz to relax more around them...don't think he was trying to be cool or impress them as such.

The interviews with the guy on death row and the white supremacist were reasonably well done, and Baz looked genuinely (and understandably) freaked out the first time he wandered thru the prison with the guard

Seeing the bull flippin some of the prisoners about the place was mental too!
    Plus the Rex dude(young dude with beardy thing) I thought he got hit in the eye with all the blood running down his face :eek: but was just a nasty wound above his eye.

I guess for normal rodeos they televise it over in the US? Must try and check some more out. Bloody mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,011 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Did Baz get a ride?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Did Baz get a ride?

On a bull? Hell no. His insurance would never have covered that as it is an extreme...sport I suppose. So if he suffered an injury over there and needed medical attention he would be coughing up some serious money to get fixed.

On a lady? He better not have otherwise his other half would kick his arse :pac:

Let Baz and his fishing adventure commence!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Have to say the show last night was excellent your man Jimmy is gas I am sure he keeps all their spirits up, my God but its a tough life and Baz looked to be totally knackered. Well done to the crew

Flash86 wrote: »
    Baz is no Louis Theroux.

Louis Theroux is incredible. Anyone see that episode in Philadelphia where he walks up to the guy that is supposedly running the drugs ring and asks him straight out if he is.

That's the link.

I don't know who this Baz character is but I guess it's safe to assume he'd never do that.

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Have to say the show last night was excellent your man Jimmy is gas I am sure he keeps all their spirits up, my God but its a tough life and Baz looked to be totally knackered. Well done to the crew

Yeah the Jimmy lad was lovely :D
    My mate use to work out on those boats and some of the stories he told me esp what it was like during stormy weather-insane!

Louis Theroux is incredible. Anyone see that episode in Philadelphia where he walks up to the guy that is supposedly running the drugs ring and asks him straight out if he is.
    That's the link.

I don't know who this Baz character is but I guess it's safe to assume he'd never do that.

Louis is pretty cool but this thread is about a show on RTE and maybe you should try watching Baz and see for yourself instead of assuming things....just a thought! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭TheBastard

Didnt see last weeks episode but watched last nights as it was right after lost. Really Enjoyed it, never had a problem with Baz but i didnt like the show he did with the two other lads, although now i think of it i watched a few of the earlier editions of how low can you go and liked it. I dont like the show Anonymous but my fave one was when Baz did it, he's a likeble guy.
    Back to last nights show- was very good. Tough lads to go out on boats to make a living- €340 euro for all that work is a slap in the face though. Baz looked in bits on the last day and the rest of the lads still looked fresh. I think Baz was luck Jimmy was on the boat as he kept them all going. anyone know what next week is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Baz's Extreme Worlds
    Baz's Extreme Worlds see Baz Ashmawy immerse himself in very different but extreme and tough worlds. In Programme One, Baz travels to one of America's highest security prisons in the town of McAlester. In other shows, Baz spends time with the New York Fire Brigade, goes on board a fishing boat to experience life as an Irish fisherman, delves into the world of cage fighting in the north of Ireland, lives with a survivalist in the snow deserts of the north of Sweden, and travels with the Irish army to Chad.

The programme next week

Programme 3
    New York city is home to almost 9 million people. It has over 5,000 skyscrapers and high rise apartment blocks. It has 11,000 of the most aggressive firefighters in the world. For a week, Baz was given access all areas to some of the busiest stations in New York.
    Squad 41 is one of the elite stations. They specialise in extreme situations like chemical fires subway crashes and terrorist attcks. They train Baz into the world of fire fighting by bringing him to the FDNY training academy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

watched it as far as him opening up the fish for the second time , Baz is good doing stuff on his own, not like with the other two lads didnt like it at all but now with him gone fishing on the high seas. i try,d to stay awake but it was on a bit late for me getting up at 4am to bring hubbie to work.

Cheers Storm 10 :)

I'm really looking forward to the Firefighter episode. Watch that on Monday and then by Thursday I'll be in the very same city!
    Will be good to get a look inside and see all they do up close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dodgydes

Anyone know what the music is when the fishing boat leaves the harbour, soundmaven doesn't recognise it and it's bugging me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Not a great adventurer. Great opportunities in the scenarios he comes across are constantly missed. Might work if he was a 'wing man' to somebody interesting. Always looks banjaxed.

Effectively, he's RTE's answer to Charlie Boorman.

dodgydes wrote: »
    Anyone know what the music is when the fishing boat leaves the harbour, soundmaven doesn't recognise it and it's bugging me

Will check it out again on RTE player and see if I recognise it, can't think of it right now.
    Not a great adventurer. Great opportunities in the scenarios he comes across are constantly missed.

Examples of what you mean? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Rud

does anybody know the song on Bazs' programme tonight (31st of May),kind of half way through the programme.it was a mashup of an acapella of the Muse track "Supermassive Black Hole" with what i think was Booker Ts "Green Onions".i have looked around for the track but to no avail.does anybody no the proper title of the track or is it on youtube?

oh and please don't move this to the whats that song?thread as i have also asked there!

cheers!
    Rud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Bit of an odd show last night - an interesting subject that's been covered many many times before. Baz really didn't throw any new light on any aspect on the FDNY.

Last week's episode was ten times better. Anyone know what's on next week's show??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

dodgydes wrote: »
    Rud wrote: »
    does anybody know the song on Bazs' programme tonight (31st of May),kind of half way through the programme.it was a mashup of an acapella of the Muse track "Supermassive Black Hole" with what i think was Booker Ts "Green Onions".i have looked around for the track but to no avail.does anybody no the proper title of the track or is it on youtube?

Email RTE - they'll pass the query on to the production company. Might be worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Baz really didn't throw any new light on any aspect
    I would have ventured this opinion before the series started and it'll probably hold through at the very end also. The guy isn't clever enough to offer anything insightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Watched the 1st half of last night's Ep - the other half is on pause.

Baz spends time with MMA Fighter prior to the biggest fight of his life.

He really asks some akward questions i.e. to the young lad's fiance 'How do you feel being second to his career' (paraphrase).

I don't know whether his interview style is good or bad, half the time he was talking to the subject I got the feeling that he was trying to talk the guy out of cage fighting altogether?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Lillylilly

I really like the fact that Baz isn't a trained interviewer- he just seems like a normal bloke. I haven't seen the fighter episode but loved all the other ones!