Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old tax book

• 17-05-2010 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭

I have a car with an old tax book, a brown thing that was stamped by the Garda back them.
    I am wondering if I will go and ask to but the car at my name if they will keep the tax book and give me a new one or not?

I rather keep the old one.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

If there is space on the book for your name in the next owner slot you should be grand,provided that it isnt in very bad shape.Also its the motor tax office that stamp it not the guards though. Has the car been off the road a long time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭superfly35

There is one spot left, the car has been off the road since 1987 I think.
    Basically it is a Porsche 924 which has been victim of a transformation to diesel. :cool:
    so I would love to keep the log book!!
    Do you know where should I go to get my name on the log book ?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

Ah, Superfly's infamous Mitsubishi diesel engine Porsche 924 ;) Good luck gettin her sorted mate

Eheh, I know porsche diesel is a bit like dream :)
    I should get her sorted in about 1 year if I m lucky.
    Hopefully she ll become my master piece !!!

Bump,
    Sorry lads but if anyone no where I should go to get a logbook changes from my porsche 1977.

The only thing I know is for the new one it has to be send by post, it is a bit light....

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

They still issue old style brown logbooks for vehicles.
    Got a replacement logbook for a 73 Lambretta scooter last week(as there wasn't one with the bike when I bought it)
    Got it at the local tax office, and got a pleasant surprise when she started filling out an old style logbook.
    The logbook is an updated version of the old type, ie. All the old £ signs are replaced with € signs, but that is the only difference.
    So in answer to your question, from my experience, you will get one at your local tax office

mamakevf wrote: »
    They still issue old style brown logbooks for vehicles.
    Got it at the local tax office, and got a pleasant surprise when she started filling out an old style logbook.
    The logbook is an updated version of the old type, ie. All the old £ signs are replaced with € signs, but that is the only difference.
    So in answer to your question, from my experience, you will get one at your local tax office
    If its a replacement book,you will be the first owner on it,they wont put any previous owners in there.

Lets have some pics of this Diesel Porsche!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

Lets have some pics of this Diesel Porsche!!

Ditto!!!

The picture are not great but that is all I have for the moment
    http://s744.photobucket.com/albums/xx81/agaudin/Bertha%20924%201977%20diesel%20engine/

Btw, if someone can tell what the engine model and make in this car, I will greatfull.

I only now it is a turbo diesel engine 2.8 I think. It has been setup in the car late 80's as far as I know.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

If its a replacement book,you will be the first owner on it,they wont put any previous owners in there.
    That is true, there are no previous owners on the logbook, but she did give me the printout of the vehicle particulars and the previous owner and address is on that.
    She had rolled it up and was going to throw it in the bin, but I asked her for it, and she gave it to me.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

superfly35 wrote: »
    Eheh, I know porsche diesel is a bit like dream :)........
    Hopefully she ll become my master piece !!!

oooh, tell us more........I've often thought of doing that, or a 1.8t conversion........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I don't have much more to tell, i didn't make the convertion I bought like that.
    However, I will probably doing the convertion back in petrol.

One day when all the other project will be finish 2012 probably!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Just to let yous know...

I done an engine conversion in my Micra K10 a few weeks back, and I sent the log book (brown one) off so they could change the engine number and so on in it. They sent me back a new brown one, with none of the details of the previous owners in it. Shame really.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    I done an engine conversion in my Micra K10 a few weeks back, and I sent the log book (brown one) off so they could change the engine number and so on in it. They sent me back a new brown one, with none of the details of the previous owners in it. Shame really.
    Really??
    Thats a pisser!:mad:
    Iv an engine conversion to do this week,but i have a newstyle sheet,so it makes no difference.

Really??
    Thats a pisser!:mad:
    Iv an engine conversion to do this week,but i have a newstyle sheet,so it makes no difference.

Yeah, I should have scanned the old one.

Only 3 previous owners before me, including Nissan Ireland and my uncle who I bought the car off.

Why did they change the book i wonder? There should have been a space in the book for a replacement engine number,although looking through some i have here,it seems they deleted that section around 1990. Stupid. I guess they thought modern cars dont need replacement engines!

There was indeed a replacement engine section on the book. Maybe it's their policy now to issue new books. Who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭ikb

Btw, if someone can tell what the engine model and make in this car, I will greatfull.

I only now it is a turbo diesel engine 2.8 I think. It has been setup in the car late 80's as far as I know.

Cheers[/QUOTE]

That Motor looks remarkably like the lump in my L200 (which was 2.5).
    I think the older Pajero used a 2.8, Not sure what year the EGR system was added, this may help you to date the engine.:)

superfly35 wrote: »
    The picture are not great but that is all I have for the moment
    http://s744.photobucket.com/albums/xx81/agaudin/Bertha%20924%201977%20diesel%20engine/

Cheers

It's a Nissan engine, most likely out of a Patrol or a Urvan.

Thanks a million lads. :D
    I know now what engine is in my lovely car :)