Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Banking Security Question....

• 17-05-2010 7:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭

Hi there...

...as part of my budding business, i recently sent off some samples to a European customer.

They paid with PayPal into my PayPal account.

However, thanks to an oversight at my end, they were grossly undercharged on postage and packaging, by €30.

The packet was sent on Thursday and arrived into their possession, today. Which is very fast.

The buyer now wants to pay me back the difference, and have requested my IBAN and bank account number.

I am a little taken aback, as they could just as easy use paypal, as they did when paying for the goods.

What is the likelihood of some fraud being perpetrated on myself if I give out my name, Bank A/C number, sort code, IBAN etc?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

It would be fairly standard to give out Bank AC Number, Sort Code & IBAN for processing international payments. Especially if it is business to business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭I Drink It Up!

BnB wrote: »
    It would be fairly standard to give out Bank AC Number, Sort Code & IBAN for processing international payments. Especially if it is business to business

At the moment it is just person to person.

He is in Switzerland, I am here in Ireland.

Thanks for your reply!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

Yeah, you need an IBAN number for international transfers. Should be fine.

I understand that. But what about giving out my own account number and the sort code. He already knows my name because I sent him the stuff! Is that not a possible security risk, having the name and the account number? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭pat58

In my opinion i would say you are safe enougn , True my buisness i have dealt with people in europe and further a field and gave them details and never had any problems, well that is my 2c cents worth,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I understand that. But what about giving out my own account number and the sort code. He already knows my name because I sent him the stuff! Is that not a possible security risk, having the name and the account number? Thanks.

Have you ever paid someone by check? That would have all those details on it. Charities routinely give their account details over the radio etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

The only problem I see here is the charge the bank applies. My bro used to use international transfers and was being charged up to €25 a time. (Can't remember if they were incoming or outgoing)

edit: OK, it seems these were outgoing and were usually express payments, which carries a heavier fine ... eh ... charge.

eoin wrote: »
    Have you ever paid someone by check? That would have all those details on it. Charities routinely give their account details over the radio etc.

Hi eoin.....I have to ask then, what is the big beef/worry about my bank details being found in the bin?? If giving out your name and bank details is not such a big deal in the first place......:cool: thanks.

DubTony wrote: »
    The only problem I see here is the charge the bank applies. My bro used to use international transfers and was being charged up to €25 a time. (Can't remember if they were incoming or outgoing)

edit: OK, it seems these were outgoing and were usually express payments, which carries a heavier fine ... eh ... charge.

Hi DubTony...it was €15 for me to send $300+ from an AIB "Kiosk" {little machine inside the bank} to China.

It costs nothing to send money from my account to Paypals Irish account when I want to top up my Paypal account, done as it is from my own computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Hi eoin.....I have to ask then, what is the big beef/worry about my bank details being found in the bin?? If giving out your name and bank details is not such a big deal in the first place......:cool: thanks.

Its not so much your bank details as the statement itself/utility bill/etc. These are required for opening accounts, loan applications, credit card applications, video shop memberships, etc,etc as proof of address. Other documents, such as a false driving licence, etc, can easily be created in conjunction with these for identity theft.

wyndham wrote: »
    Its not so much your bank details as the statement itself/utility bill/etc. These are required for opening accounts, loan applications, credit card applications, video shop memberships, etc,etc as proof of address. Other documents, such as a false driving licence, etc, can easily be created in conjunction with these for identity theft.

Ah, grand so, I see where ye are coming from now. Thanks for that Wyndham.