Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Obesity

• 17-05-2010 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭

Instead of posting this in a general area such as AH I said I would post it here and perhaps the gents club as well and get some opinions from people.

Ireland is getting worse and worse for obesity and over 50% of the population is overweight. We are doing zero about it as Ireland is now one of the top contenders in the world for obese kids to be seen. What is worse only 1 in 4 parents realise that their kids are overweight/obese. It is the same with ourselves as majority of females feel that a size 16 is acceptable (99% of the time it is not) and they feel life is too short to worry. Guys think a beer gut is an achievement. Sounds a bit Gerry Ryan-esque as he simply has left his family without a father due to his lifestyle - **** food that he called good, an alcoholic and a double chin that screamed warnings. It's harsh but it is a reality.

Being overweight is severely related to so many different diseases and health issues that I will not even start to go into and everyone knows too well about already. It costs our health system millions every year due to people being to lazy to do anything about it. Sure you have your own rights to do what you want but when it effects so many others then its ridiculous and unacceptable.

Now the point I am getting at is what can you do as an individual to help? Can you look at yourself and say you are setting a good example to everyone around you? Setting a good example to your children/nephews/nieces?
    A great example is g'em who has tried to help so many on boards to choose a better lifestyle, she is a great inspiration to all, even to so many males and of course females
    I know this post might seem harsh and it might create a bit of drama but I am practically sick to bone of seeing our country turn into this fat slob of a nation. It's disgusting and it's nothing worse than seeing a five year old with a pot belly thinking it's alright coz every adult has one. It is harassment towards the kid.

What can we do about it?

PS On a sidenote I am a personal trainer who works tiredlessly with people of all ages trying to educate them on how important it is to be healthy and in shape. It's a huge passion of mine and all I want is improvement in this country towards the most important thing in life; health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

What are the actual percentage values of people who are obsese in Ireland? A lot of people may seem fat but are actually quite healthy. It is not unreasonable for people to go through different stages in their lives where their weight fluctautes. I don't see too many obese children these days or at least not obvious to me. My nephew had a birthday party a few months back where a lot of his class mates attended. Not one of them struck me as being fat , never mind obese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Yeah does the OP have any sourced statistics? Would be handy to see the extent of the problem. I'm honestly surprised by the idea that more than half of all Irish people are overweight, not saying it's not true of course just that I've never noticed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

I'm in decent shape and eat well 90% of the time. Anyone I know just isn't arsed - some of them make a short attempt to get healthier but then give it up after a few weeks.

Tbh I don't share the same passion you do to help people (though I admire it) so I just look out for myself. I'd gladly help someone else out if they asked for advice but I don't interfere with the lifestyle choices they make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

"We're doing nothing about it." Eh? I'm sick of TV shows about it and hearing about it left, right and centre. What else can "we" do? I'm fat because I don't care, and 99% of fat people are fat because they don't care enough to do something about it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

OP, nothing has been shown to have definitively caused Gerry Ryan's death, one can speculate that his lifestyle contributed, but it's not been shown as the cause.

Irish Heart Foundation Obesity Statistics

Some stats from the above link:
    Irish Adults (18 years and over)
    • Two out of five Irish adults - 39% (45% of men; 33% of women) are overweight6.
    • One in four - 25% (24% of men; 26% of women) is obese6.
    • The trend towards obesity in Ireland is increasing. Between 1990 and 2000 the
    prevalence of obesity increased by 67% overall, up 1.25 fold in women (from 13%) and
    up 2.5 fold in men (from 8%)7.
    • Ireland has the fourth highest prevalence of overweight and obesity in men in the EU
    and the seventh highest prevalence among women2.
    Irish Children (5-12 years)
    • Overweight and obesity is now the most common childhood disorder in Europe5.
    • One in ten 5-12 year olds is overweight and a further one in ten is obese. In total, 22%
    of 5-12 year olds are overweight or obese8.
    Irish Teenagers (13-17 years)
    • One in five teenagers is overweight or obese (11% overweight and 8% obese) 9.
    • There has been a significant increase in teenage obesity since 1990 with an 8-fold
    increase in males (1% to 8%) and a 2-fold increase in females (3% to 6%)9.
    Economic Burden
    • Costs for treating obesity in Ireland is estimated at €0.4 billion. The number of
    premature deaths annually attributable to obesity currently approximates to 2,0004.

nouggatti wrote: »
    OP, nothing has been shown to have definitively caused Gerry Ryan's death, one can speculate that his lifestyle contributed, but it's not been shown as the cause.

Irish Heart Foundation Obesity Statistics

Some stats from the above link:

Those stats do not paint the whole picture either and can be misleading. Taken from the reference where these stats were obtained from
    More than one-third of respondents (36%) reported themselves as being overweight
    and 14% reported being obese, according to the body mass index (BMI). Men were more
    likely to report being overweight (43%) or obese (16%) than women (28% overweight and
    13% obese).

There are many problems with using BMI. I think the amount of obesity is over estimated in many cases and I think anecdotal evidence seems to back that up.
    [SIZE=-1][/SIZE]
    A Semiparametric Analysis of the Relationship of Body Mass Index to Mortality Jerome Timothy Gronniger, MPP, MHSA

[SIZE=-1] The author is with the Congressional Budget Office, Washington, DC. [/SIZE]
    [SIZE=-1]Correspondence: Requests for reprints should be sent to Jerome Timothy Gronniger, MPP, MHSA, Ford House Office Building, 2nd and D Sts, SW, Washington, DC 20515 (e-mail: tim. gronniger@cbo.gov).[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=-1][/SIZE]

Objectives. I used a semi-parametric analysis of the relationship between body mass index (BMI) and mortality to assess the adequacy of conventional BMI categories for planning public health programs to reduce mortality.

Methods. I linked supplements from the 1987 and 1989 versions of the National Health Interview Survey to the 1995 Multiple Cause of Death File to obtain mortality information. I constructed nonlinear estimates of the association between BMI and mortality using a semiparametric regression technique.

Results. The mortality risk among "normal" weight men (i.e., those in the BMI range of 20 to 25 kg/m2) was as high as that among men in the mild obesity category (BMIs of 30–35 kg/m2), with a minimum risk observed at a BMI of approximately 26 kg/m2. Among women, the mortality risk was smallest at approximately 23 to 24 kg/m2, with the risk increasing steadily with BMIs above 27 kg/m2. In each specification, the slope of the line was small and volatile through the BMI range of 20 to 35 kg/m2, suggesting negligible risk differences with minor differences in weight for much of the population.
    Conclusions. Traditional BMI categories do not conform well to the complexities of the BMI–mortality relationship. In concurrence with conclusions from previous literature, I found that the current definitions of obesity and overweight are imprecise predictors of mortality risk.

http://ajph.aphapublications.org/cgi/content/abstract/96/1/173

I'm a fat bastard. Probably Obese... hmm...

Anyway, I'm on/off trying to sort it out. Just not the most motivated person in the world, you know. Put it on the long finger a lot. Bit of a depressive/reclusive person myself.

I'd say if some scumbag gave me a slap I wouldn't be too long about catching him, so I'd say, despite my weight, I'd be fit enough. I wouldn't out-run a marathon sprinter, but for my own needs, I'm covered.

Never been to hospital, never smoked. Drank three times in my life (I'm almost 22). Have been to my doctor twice in the last two years. Dentist for a check up about 5 months ago. Haven't been to my GP or Dentist for about a year or two prior to those.

I don't think I'm harming anyone really. Not costing anyone anything either. I'd say a majority are like me.

I think the only people whose life I make harder are those who want to run to a computer to judge me. They'll probably end up in hospital with stress issues before my heart explodes anyway. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

d-gal wrote: »
    What can we do about it?

What can we do about it? It's not your problem, it has nothing to do with you. Your attitude has nothing to do with a genuine concern for people's healthy and everything to do with not wanting to see fat people on the street.

If people are unhappy with their weight then it's up to them to sort it out. All the patronising in the world is not going to make them change. I think a lot of the problem comes down to people feeling like **** all of the time. Ironically, your attitude of treating these people like second rate citizens is the last thing that is going to improve their self confidence and belief in themselves to change.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

We're heading towards an obesity timebomb. So many people do little or no exercise.

And dont get me started about the people (men and women) who go to the gym a few times per week and spend about 2 minutes on each machine :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

This whole topic and the role of the media in this topic drives me insane. If someone is overweight they are targeted as being chubby and unattractive, if someone is underweight they are targeted as being anorexic. It's a catch 22.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Those stats do not paint the whole picture either and can be misleading. Taken from the reference where these stats were obtained from

There are many problems with using BMI. I think the amount of obesity is over estimated in many cases and I think anecdotal evidence seems to back that up.

Whoops, sorry about that, just heard an article on the news today quoting the IHA and looked them up, should have read a bit more before posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Sounds a bit Gerry Ryan-esque as he simply has left his family without a father due to his lifestyle - **** food that he called good, an alcoholic and a double chin that screamed warnings. It's harsh but it is a reality.

oh really?

so, you've seen the post mortem results that have not yet been released even to his family?

because, if you havent, then the above is not "reality", as you claim, but rather it is speculation.

nouggatti wrote: »
    Whoops, sorry about that, just heard an article on the news today quoting the IHA and looked them up, should have read a bit more before posting.

No worries, it wasn't a criticism of you or what you were posting:). I think we just need a better metric of how we classify people as obese or overweight. I know it is just anecdotal but I know of quite a few people who would be quite alot heavier than me but would be in much better health. They would be classified as obese when in reality they should not be. In any case I think our reponsibility should be towards child hood obesity. I think we do a half decent job of doing this. Kids today are involved in quite a lot of sporting activities. They have alot of sedantry activities also but things are improving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

the most important thing in life; health.
    Wrong.

The most important thing in life is happiness/pleasure.

I fúcking abhor health Nazis. If staying fit, exercising constantly, eating healthily etc. is your bag, then that's great, fair play to you. However, as far as I'm concerned, no one has the right to lecture me about my health.

If I want to go out and drink and smoke every weekend, and if I want to eat less than healthy food, then that's my damn decision. Why do some people insist on telling others what to do to their own bodies?

As it turns out, I'm a little out of shape right now and I don't like it. I intend to begin exercising a little more. But you know what? I'm doing that because I want to do it, not to appease any holier than thou health freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Wrong.

The most important thing in life is happiness/pleasure.
    As it turns out, I'm a little out of shape right now and I don't like it.

Significance is significant.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Significance is significant.
    Not in the slightest. I didn't think my post was that hard to understand.

Very significant actually.

Or maybe its just a coincidence that every time I hear someone reacting to matters of health with such vitirol they are usually unhappy with their health or body shape....

My post had nothing to do with health, but rather people telling others what to do and looking down on them.

Health is often a part of someone's happiness. However, for most it is not the most important factor in what makes them happy at all.

It's not the most important thing in life by a long shot.

Very significant actually.

Or maybe its just a coincidence that every time I hear someone reacting to matters of health with such vitirol they are usually unhappy with their health or body shape....

And maybe it's a coincidence that every time I hear someone reacting to people who are fat with such arrogance they are usually someone with a massive chip on their shoulder.

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    And maybe it's a coincidence that every time I hear someone reacting to people who are fat with such arrogance they are usually someone with a massive chip on their shoulder.

Probably.
    I know a few people who think that obesity is horrible and don't have a chip on their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I was a fat obese mofo around 7 years ago. I chose to be fat because I liked skulling pints and eating junk.
    I then chose to invest time, effort and money into educating my fat ass, in a variety of areas from cooking to fitness instruction and it paid off.
    My point here is the use of the word choice. There are very few people who are the bodyshape they are against their choice.
    If you are fat mofo and like pizza fire away. If you are healthy shape fair play.

You are the shape you are because you choose to be that shape whether subconsciously or not. There are only a few legitimate medical exceptions to this.

My post had nothing to do with health, but rather people telling others what to do and looking down on them.

I don't think anyone was telling anybody what to do.
    But you certainly seem to perceive that to be happening.

Are you saying you don't look down on anybody?
    What about all that "Exercising constantly" and "Health Nazi" malarky?
    Sounds a bit elevated to me.

Sigh.

Not getting sucked into shít trolling.

Sigh.

Not getting sucked into shít trolling.

Brilliant.

"You DISAGREE with ME?, you must be a troll."

Don't worry buddy, I just lost the desire to acknowledge anything more you have to say.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

People who are fit through the pursuit of their hobbies are generally cool. Often very interesting indeed. Mad cycling fiends, runners, weightlifters, swimmers, bodybuilders(big subject that one), yoga/pilates types etc. Like meeting anyone with a passion, if they can transmit that passion I find it interesting and very often enlightening and admirable too.

I have to say though, some of the most monumental bores I've ever met are fitness for fitness sake types. They were also the most likely to look down on others and the most likely to look upon the world through blinkered eyes. Now you can get that from others. IE cyclists saying grrrr to cars, but they're much rarer(and they have more reason TBH).

You want to get people fitter and make better lifestyle choices? Look at the world through eyes other than your own. Make it interesting. Dont make it an end in itself, make it a means to an end. Living longer isnt an end BTW. That's always in the distance for people. Getting people hiking across the nice countryside we have is a far better bet than sticking them in a gym on a sweaty mat attempting one more stomach crunch or sitting on a stationary bike spinning. Emotionally, mentally and a good start physically healthier too. That's provable science BTW. Plus people will more likely continue with that.

With food, dont just give them the old story of this carb and the other protein. And give up on the calories BS. It's about as useful as BMI as a guide. It has its place but.. IMHO most of the info is dubious anyway. You will regularly hear "experts" inform people that alcohol is high in calories. Well duh. It burns easily. But it cant be used by the body, its broken down and excreted(with a small side order of acetone released which the body might use in extremis). Coal has a high calorific count but you wont put on a single gram of fat by eating it. Its the sugars in the drink that do it. Its the coke not the vodka. Get people involved in cookery classes where they can learn to make good healthy food with nice flavours that often turn out cheaper too. This is fun. You know that thing people like doing? It has a purpose, both socially and mentally. Result.

I've been (very) fit at times and Ive been (very) unfit. Ive always been skinny so didnt get the snide comments, because I didnt look unfit, but where happiness was concerned? Little correlation with me anyway. Then again I never got that "buzz" people describe while exercising hard so maybe thats why.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    People who are fit through the pursuit of their hobbies are generally cool. Often very interesting indeed. Mad cycling fiends, runners, weightlifters, swimmers, bodybuilders(big subject that one), yoga/pilates types etc. Like meeting anyone with a passion, if they can transmit that passion I find it interesting and very often enlightening and admirable too.

I have to say though, some of the most monumental bores I've ever met are fitness for fitness sake types.

And what do they do?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

People, usually but not always men of the entirely focused on gym work types. Not the focused weightlifters/self defence people as a general thing. Gym bunnies basically. Instructors were pretty consistently like this IME. Through a few exes who were big into fitness and gyms I've had occasion to meet quite a few. Well over 30 plus over the years and quite honestly I can only think of one chap among the men who wasnt either Mr Chip on shoulders man or severely beige in interests. The women didnt seem to suffer from this nearly so much. I found the male instructor types to be far more judgemental and downright bitchy about gym goers physiques than the women instructors. Kinda the opposite of the rest of the world. They seemed to have few interests outside of that world too. Comparing them to cyclists, runners, etc I've known it stood out for me anyway.

Obviously this is all just my experience and defo cant be taken as an overall take, but as I say it has been my experience.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Obviously this is all just my experience and defo cant be taken as an overall take,

I would hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

LZ5by5 wrote: »

Please explain further what u mean by massive chip on their shoulder? One of my main points was kids and it is a disgrace that parents would let their kids be obese, its a huge health threat to them. You might as well blow smoke from a cigarette in their face while your at it. Its a form of harassment. Thats not arrogance, thats being concerned about the poor kid who doesn't have a choice in the matter
    I don't think anyone was telling anybody what to do.
    But you certainly seem to perceive that to be happening.

Are you saying you don't look down on anybody?
    What about all that "Exercising constantly" and "Health Nazi" malarky?
    Sounds a bit elevated to me.

+100...insulting people is not going to help their case. I find a lot of fitness people get insulted more than the average person coz unfortunately they stand out from the crowd. Girls say look at that skinny b*tch just as much as look at that sl*t. Guys say look at that guy with all his muscles, he must be on steroids, he must love himself
    bodybuilders(big subject that one),

You want to get people fitter and make better lifestyle choices? Look at the world through eyes other than your own. Make it interesting. Dont make it an end in itself, make it a means to an end. Living longer isnt an end BTW. That's always in the distance for people. Getting people hiking across the nice countryside we have is a far better bet than sticking them in a gym on a sweaty mat attempting one more stomach crunch or sitting on a stationary bike spinning. Emotionally, mentally and a good start physically healthier too. That's provable science BTW. Plus people will more likely continue with that.

Could u explain further on the bodybuilding thing? Genuinely interested coz I train with quite a few and I could honestly say it's probably the hardest sport mentally, ridiculous what they go thru. Not having a go or anything, just interested on why it's a big one
    Making it interesting is different strokes for different folks. A lot of people hate the outdoors and think they would be seen...and the sh*t weather doesn't help either! Some people love the gym coz they like the atmosphere of it, some people hate it coz they don't want to be seen, that's where private studios come in. Everyone is different, but your right in saying it should be interesting for everyone.
    I get really pissed off when instructors that are supposed to help people give out a stupid boring program that the person will never do, your job as a trainer is to help them reach their goals whichever way possible. You should always have a passion to do well in your job, especially in a sector as important as health.

Please explain further what u mean by massive chip on their shoulder? One of my main points was kids and it is a disgrace that parents would let their kids be obese, its a huge health threat to them. You might as well blow smoke from a cigarette in their face while your at it. Its a form of harassment. Thats not arrogance, thats being concerned about the poor kid who doesn't have a choice in the matter
    Fine but ike the anti smoking brigade the element of arrogance and holier than thou guff tends to be strong.

+100...insulting people is not going to help their case. I find a lot of fitness people get insulted more than the average person coz unfortunately they stand out from the crowd. Girls say look at that skinny b*tch just as much as look at that sl*t. Guys say look at that guy with all his muscles, he must be on steroids, he must love himself
    Yes there can be an element of that, but IME its far less of an issue than with obviously overweight people. Naturally your own subjective take is going to overpower reality somewhat. Like hearing your name at a loud party, you're going to pick out the reference. Fat people hear it a lot more. Plus they've got their own inner voice usually backing it up. That's less in people that approach the society ideal. Even there that's complex. Like I said I've a few exes that were big into fitness and would have had the "perfect body" going on and they were just as neurotic if not more so than overweight women I've known(and all but one ended up underweight. Properly underweight too. I like skinny women but...). Actually I'd say moreso.

One woman could not go more than a day without a gym visit or strenuous exercise. She would get quite down about it. Fit yes, healthy no. She's not that unusual either. Gyms are full of those types of people. Like I say I've been the outsider looking in over the years. OTT focus on anything is bad. Balance is everything. Plus overly strenuous exercise compromises the immune system, can lead to muscle and skeletal damage(all of those women had dicky knees, backs, shoulders which required treatment. all were under 30). Strenuous levels can be reached pretty easily too. Especially for women.
    Could u explain further on the bodybuilding thing? Genuinely interested coz I train with quite a few and I could honestly say it's probably the hardest sport mentally, ridiculous what they go thru. Not having a go or anything, just interested on why it's a big one
    Oh no, I meant they're usually not the monumental bores and I agree its seriously hard going and requires a lot of dedication, even if they're juicing. I mention the latter as all too often outsiders reckon 'sure all they have to do to get that big is take steroids" Ehhhh nope.
    Making it interesting is different strokes for different folks. A lot of people hate the outdoors and think they would be seen...and the sh*t weather doesn't help either! Some people love the gym coz they like the atmosphere of it, some people hate it coz they don't want to be seen, that's where private studios come in. Everyone is different, but your right in saying it should be interesting for everyone.
    Oh I agree, it needs to be tailored to the individual. Overall though outdoors in a group is better on so many levels. The weather except at its worst is a bit of a cop out I reckon.
    I get really pissed off when instructors that are supposed to help people give out a stupid boring program that the person will never do, your job as a trainer is to help them reach their goals whichever way possible. You should always have a passion to do well in your job, especially in a sector as important as health.
    Agreed.

Fine but ike the anti smoking brigade the element of arrogance and holier than thou guff tends to be strong.

Thats more of it.
    I have a huge problem with this attitude.
    I don't like smoke, I don't like being around people who are smoking, it smells.
    Yet I constantly get people frickin judging me "oooh he is all arrogant, thinks he is better than me cos he doesn't smoke"

Despite the fact that I don't complain. On the rare occasion when I do I get stick. Ask me, its the smokers acting all put upon, does my frickin nut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It's all about giving your body what it needs.
    Mother Nature is a hard bitch and doesn't give a ****.

Eat what you're designed to eat (We are mammals after all). Move like you're designed to move (We stand upright for a reason)
    If we do this then we get rewarded with healthy bodies and healthier minds.

I don't mean to come across as a fitness nazi, I'm nothing of the sort but I make sure I at least try to eat healthily as often as I can and as hard as that is with our 'fast' food culture. I also walk as much as I can. Helps when you don't drive ;)

I am 6 feet tall and 12 stone. Ideal for me. I used to weigh 15 stone 2lbs 7 years ago.
    I lift weights not because I want to bulk up or any of that stuff but rather it releases endorphins and made you feel great. Giving your body what it needs.

If you don't do that or at least try, then nature gives a bitchslap of diabetes, cancer or obesity.

The point I'm trying to make is that society suffers from an inherent lack of discipline (not the discipline of punishment but of personal development). The simplest solution to weight loss is to get yourself a pedometer and make sure you do 10,000 steps a day and eat a diet of fruit, veg, dairy, wholemeal grains and nuts. The weight will come off.

Just as you didn't wake up overweight one day doesn't mean you'll be lean tomorrow morning. Instant results are demanded by people who simply decide it's not working and relapse into old habits.

Can't do the 10k steps a day because it's raining outside? Turn off the TV and stick on some music and dance the 10k!!!!!

However, people don't have the motivation to do that I'm afraid.
    Both my brothers and my parents are overweight, yet I'm seen as the odd one out :confused:
    It's just socially acceptable to be overweight these days and instead of adopting a KISS solution to the problem, people are bombarded with nonsense diets and 'secret' weight loss tips which all come at a €€€.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I would rather spend my entire life fat than one day being miserable because I *have to* diet and exercise.

You're passionate about health and fitness? Good for you. I'm not. I'm passionate about family, friends, sex, love and enjoying every minute of my life that I can. As far as I'm concerned, life's too short to fret about every morsel that passes my lips or if I "should" be exercising instead of doing something I actually like.

My health is fine. I have a doctor, she agrees. If and when I need to do something about my weight, I will. But until then I won't be guilt tripped about the "strain on the health system" (when, last I checked, you have to pay for medical treatment in this country) and "won't somebody please think of the children".

People come in different sizes and different levels of fitness. You wouldn't even turn your head to sneer at an unfit person if they were thin -- how would you even know? -- but god forbid they LOOK unfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I was 21st stone only two years ago decided to loose weight for many reasons mainly worried about issues in long run when I got older. Now im down to just under 16st.

On my BMI i am still overweight but I have Doctor who says different. I jog twice a week about 10k (7-8k without stopping at present) each night but I also do lot weights felt it helped me tone down luckily I play rugby and I enjoy it something I have got into but I do it as hobby to be its bit like guy playing computer game trying see how far they can get or good they get, I take it that way, not serious but just see can I go step further from time to time.

Thing is I do it for me to help me feel good. It does make me feel good thats where I get my kicks. I aint vein god I dont have six pack far from it actually but I do feel healthy I think I look best I have maybe ever and thats what makes me feel confident I am broad lets say so that helps and lucky im on tall side. But i dont let it take over my life. God I can still eat my fair amount when I want too. I like to eat my takeaways as much as anybody and it wont stop either.

But everyone is different. So many people like different things in life and I would never judge person by weight (why should I when I was over weight maybe still am to some) or anything everyone is different thats what makes the world an interesting place. One my best friends has very little interests in what i like and vice versa but we get along because he great friend and i like think i am great friend to him.

The thing is that person you see on street looking huge may in a years time turn out be as fit as hell. Life is too short to worry about small things you need to be happy in yourself and happy about your family and friends thats the most improtant thing really and basically do what you want to do because it whats makes you happy or for best interests of somebody you care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Toes

Heres my take on it;

Food manufacturers have an awful lot to answer for. Everything these days is sugar loaded to the last and theres no need for it. Theres an overabundance of rubbish food and just food in general. Ireland is heading down the completely wrong path, i absolutely guarantee that in ten yrs time it'll be difficult to buy vegetables in a supermarket.

shellyboo wrote: »
    I would rather spend my entire life fat than one day being miserable because I *have to* diet and exercise.

The funny thing about this type of statement, is that they are so unbelievably condescending and yet, nobody ever has a problem with them.

It makes me cross. I was talking about what great shape someone was in the other day with a few friends. One of them goes "thats cos he has no life, these people have no life", it was retarded.

You know what, shelly? There are people who are passionate about Family, friends, sex, love and enjoying life who also are fit and eat well. These people usually enjoy exercise and exercise in ways they enjoy.

They eat well without fretting about the food they eat, you know a lot of people enjoy eating real food. Often enough these people don't need a doctor to tell them they are healthy.

Put simply, you seem to have a problem with some of the themes in this thread, but talking down about people who are fit and healthy is just as bad as talking down on people who are unfit and sick. Maybe worse actually.

I think shelly was only specifically referring to her own situation, I don't think she was suggesting that everyone who diets and who exercises regularly are miserable.

Why, was someone lecturing her specifically?

Cause it looked pretty general to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭HicksLennon

Instead of posting this in a general area such as AH I said I would post it here and perhaps the gents club as well and get some opinions from people.

Ireland is getting worse and worse for obesity and over 50% of the population is overweight. We are doing zero about it as Ireland is now one of the top contenders in the world for obese kids to be seen. What is worse only 1 in 4 parents realise that their kids are overweight/obese. It is the same with ourselves as majority of females feel that a size 16 is acceptable (99% of the time it is not) and they feel life is too short to worry. Guys think a beer gut is an achievement. Sounds a bit Gerry Ryan-esque as he simply has left his family without a father due to his lifestyle - **** food that he called good, an alcoholic and a double chin that screamed warnings. It's harsh but it is a reality.

Being overweight is severely related to so many different diseases and health issues that I will not even start to go into and everyone knows too well about already. It costs our health system millions every year due to people being to lazy to do anything about it. Sure you have your own rights to do what you want but when it effects so many others then its ridiculous and unacceptable.

Now the point I am getting at is what can you do as an individual to help? Can you look at yourself and say you are setting a good example to everyone around you? Setting a good example to your children/nephews/nieces?
    A great example is g'em who has tried to help so many on boards to choose a better lifestyle, she is a great inspiration to all, even to so many males and of course females
    I know this post might seem harsh and it might create a bit of drama but I am practically sick to bone of seeing our country turn into this fat slob of a nation. It's disgusting and it's nothing worse than seeing a five year old with a pot belly thinking it's alright coz every adult has one. It is harassment towards the kid.

What can we do about it?

PS On a sidenote I am a personal trainer who works tiredlessly with people of all ages trying to educate them on how important it is to be healthy and in shape. It's a huge passion of mine and all I want is improvement in this country towards the most important thing in life; health.
    IMO... Discounting any medical reason for obesity, People over eat when they are unhappy. Comfort eating is rampant, I still do it myself but not to the point of making me obese anymore... Some of the time obese people aren't even aware that there are underlying issues at play, they see it as a surface issue citing lazyness or they just don't care. It's obvious that there are issues at play when people don't care about their health. I was 18 stone when I was 22. I was eating crap all the time because I didn't care, I wasn't happy and I didn't respect myself, had no self esteem. I lost it by working out my own problems more so than just correcting the symptom of my problem I.e overeating. I'm not suggesting that Im fixed, I'm still f***ed up like everyone else!.... life by its very nature is tough and there is always the temptation to overeat/drink/gamble/smoke/be passive aggressive/take it out on someone else/become obsessive about something... The list of symptoms are endless... But its better for us and everyone else around us if we try and face up to our problems instead of doing dysfunctional things to try and distract ourselves from them. Peace and love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Interesting topic... but it's a year old!!!

Yea anyway I swim a lot cause it helps me de-stress and gets me out of my regular glum moods so I suppose fitness is just a lucky resultant by-product.

Ever been to eastern Europe?... no fatties at all! It's nuts, you just don't see them in the street like you do here. It's so acceptable here now to be bulging and pouring out of your clothes it has become the norm.

I personally don't give a fk what people choose to do to themselves to be honest but it sure ain't nice to look at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

19 month old thread folks.