Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Didnt see a thread for this yesterday....

• 16-05-2010 9:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭

but missing Daniel McAnaspie was found yesterday, stabbed at least six times. The poor bloke was only 17, it really makes you wonder what the arguement he was involved in before his disappearance was about for it to have such a devestating result :(

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0515/mcanaspied.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Terribly sad that a 17 year old kid can die like this. Thankfully his body has been found and his family can have some closure , hopefully his remains will give up some evidence as to who carried out this atrocious act.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

It is scary that the animals that did this are wandering around like nothing has happened. I hopr they are caught quickly before they do this again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

so sad, you never know what people are capable of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The Scumbags in our society have no fear of punishment and whenever caught, get better treatment than their victim's and their families.

It's almost like a reward for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Cook!eMonster

very very scary. and being from the blancardstown area myself, it terrifies me that i may know these people. I hope they are caught, even if it was my best friend, I'd hope he served his time and sufered!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

The Gardai believe he was beaten up twice before he disappeared, I mean was that not enough for the thugs. Why did they have to go the whole way.

17 jaysus....just a kid :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

Didnt see a thread for this yesterday....

Does it need a thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Aids By Google

Who ever did this dastardly deed should be hung.

If they are later found innocent, then unhung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Does it need a thread?

Yes.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Does it need a thread?

Can you explain why you wouldn't deem it worthy of discussion?

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    The Gardai believe he was beaten up twice before he disappeared, I mean was that not enough for the thugs. Why did they have to go the whole way.

17 jaysus....just a kid :(

twice? :eek:
    thats awful!!! I've heard rumours flying around that the guards wanted to talk to a guy I'm familiar with but that was ages ago, so I don't know if they have any idea who did it. But, someone has to know, aside from the killers themselves, how can they live with themselves knowing someone can be brought to justice for commiting a crime that really neednt have been commited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

twice? :eek:
    thats awful!!!

I clicked on a related article under your link and got this, it's in the last sentence.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0316/mcanaspied.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭ruthies

I was going to open this as well.

Very sad poor young man :(
    Condolences to his family and friends:(

Where he was seen last and found would suggest he was traveling in a car with someone,I hope they get the scum and string them up :mad:

R.I.P :(

Hmm myabe he wasnt alive in the car? Like maybe he was killed then shoved in the car and then dumped. either way, not right and he didnt deserve it :(

xzanti wrote: »
    Can you explain why you wouldn't deem it worthy of discussion?

I'm not saying that knife crime isn't worthy of discussion but it seems to be an unwritten rule that every time someone in the country gets killed someone on boards feels the need to post it on After Hours so everyone can follow it up with variations of "ah, that's awful". It's like Liveline. And no, I don't think there is a need for a thread of this nature in a forum like this.

No disrespect to the guy who died but surely there's a more appropriate place to discuss this and leave your condolences than After Hours?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

And no, I don't think there is a need for a thread of this nature in a forum like this.

No disrespect to the guy who died but surely there's a more appropriate place to discuss this and leave your condolences than After Hours?

So where would you have put it?

I'm not saying that knife crime isn't worthy of discussion but it seems to be an unwritten rule that every time someone in the country gets killed someone on boards feels the need to post it on After Hours so everyone can follow it up with variations of "ah, that's awful". It's like Liveline. And no, I don't think there is a need for a thread in a forum like this.

This would be one of the parts of boards that would be frequented on a higher level than others.
    So i disagree with you on your comment.
    And people should get behind and rally and show their condolences and disgust in respect for a young Irish lad :(.

Did you make a comment such as this on toyosi ****ta-bey thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Travel is good

Has he been definitely identified? That is so sad. I suppose the reason I'd been following this case is because he was so young, and like some other youngsters he just disappeared. I was hoping he'd be found alive and well. I think you're right, we should be able to offer our condolences on this forum

Yes they identified the poor kid with dna :(

The family have set up a paypal account for donations to help them with expenses just so you all know incase anybody wants to donate.

xzanti wrote: »
    So where would you have put it?

Start a forum for this kind thread because it seems to be quite common on AH. Otherwise, don't post it at all.

To post it in a forum that is known for it's light-hearted nature, the occasional smart-ass comment and edginess makes no sense. And the argument that "there's nowhere else to put it" makes even less sense.
    ruthies wrote: »
    This would be one of the parts of boards that would be frequented on a higher level than others.

So? If the photography forum was the most popular forum on boards would you post it there?
    And people should get behind and rally and show their condolences and disgust in respect for a young Irish lad :(.

I never said they shouldn't.
    Did you make a comment such as this on toyosi ****ta-bey thread?

No, but I certainly saw the thread and thought exactly what I'm thinking now.

Well then don't say it here send a message to admin and ask them to make a special part of boards for that,or not to be rude just don't add anything on the ones that do pop up ;)

p.s Thought it but didnt say anything but have to when it is this young lad?

Start a forum for this kind thread because it seems to be quite common on AH. Otherwise, don't post it at all.

To post it in a forum that is known for it's light-hearted nature, the occasional smart-ass comment and edginess makes no sense. And the argument that "there's nowhere else to put it" makes even less sense.

After Hours is known for it's light-hearted nature but there are plenty serious threads on here. Once the first few joking comments are out of the way people do get into proper full on discussion on the matter.

Would it be better suited in your opinion to the Meath forum/Dublin forum as that's where he was found/lived?

The family have set up a paypal account for donations to help them with expenses just so you all know incase anybody wants to donate.

Really that is so sad poor family :(

Was there a thread set up in After Hours/Boards about his disappearance?

If so, then this thread is of course relevant!!

Well then don't say it here send a message to admin and ask them to make a special part of boards for that,or not to be rude just don't add anything on the ones that do pop up ;)

I'm not being rude I'm merely stating my opinion.
    p.s Thought it but didnt say anything but have to when it is this young lad?

I can go and dig up that thread and repost my comment there too if you like?
    ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Would it be better suited in your opinion to the Meath forum/Dublin forum as that's where he was found/lived?

Not ideal, but it would be more suitable than AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Spudmonkey, my advice would be if it annoys you so much contact a mod and discuss the relevance of this thread with him instead of annoyingly back seat modding - nobody but a mod can answer the Q's you're asking imo

I'm not being rude I'm merely stating my opinion.

I can go and dig up that thread and repost my comment there too if you like?

No i was refering to myself not to be rude to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

Terrible news. RIP.

The fact that the gardai reckoned he was beaten up twice before his disapperance means they must know something, however little it may be.

Jail isn't good enough for these type of people who murder!

well that came out that they thought he ws beaten up before they discovered his body so that was probably the people who he was with last saying that. Also, it was known he got into an arguement before he went missing so i tink the family were clinging to the hope that he had maybe got himself into a bit of trouble and was on the run, either way, terrible thing to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭alibaba12

RIP - its terrible that young lad or anyone for that matter can be killed in such a horrible way - honestly what the hell are we rearing in this country.

I live in the area and have heard (none of this is verified so take it as a rumour) the poor kid was stabbed in whitestown, they took a motorbike cover from another garden wrapped his body in it & put him in a wheelie bin, they stashed the wheelie bin & later dumped this poor boys body.

Anyways the hows and whys of how he was murdered are really irrelvant to anyone but the guards who I hope get this scum of our streets but chances are they wont get caught or will get a light sentance in court cause of their sob stories!

Just on another point this story deserves as much coverage as it can get, we shouldnt be immune to a murder. There was uproar over anothef stabbing in the area not so long ago - I dont see the same happening for this stabbing. both are as bad as each other and we should make it known that we wont stand for this crap anymore not let the scum away with it. The family deserve this support at least to know that the community is behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Sharlovesjohn

Poor lad and to think his family thought they were doing the best thing for him by putting him in to HSE care poor lad never wish it on anyone

RIP X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

Cook!eMonster,

thank you for opening this thread as I for one would like to acknowledge the death of Daniel Mc Anaspie. I think this case is tragic, not just because of his young age and absolutely horrific death but also for the sad life he lived in that short time.
    Daniel was put into care at the age of ten and being orphaned a few years later. He was apparantly shifted from home to home, when, according to his sister, all he wanted was a normal family life.
    Given the unstability of his life, it's a wonder he didn't go off the rails, yet he was never in trouble with the Gardai.
    To my mind this is a heartbreaking case which should be given the recognition it deserves.
    My thoughts and prayers are with Daniel's family and friends... RIP Daniel...

Splendour wrote: »
    Cook!eMonster,

thank you for opening this thread as I for one would like to acknowledge the death of Daniel Mc Anaspie. I think this case is tragic, not just because of his young age and absolutely horrific death but also for the sad life he lived in that short time.
    Daniel was put into care at the age of ten and being orphaned a few years later. He was apparantly shifted from home to home, when, according to his sister, all he wanted was a normal family life.
    Given the unstability of his life, it's a wonder he didn't go off the rails, yet he was never in trouble with the Gardai.
    To my mind this is a heartbreaking case which should be given the recognition it deserves.
    My thoughts and prayers are with Daniel's family and friends... RIP Daniel...

I seen that news report, absolutley broke my heart. I hope the truth of what happened to him that night comes out evantually, and I honestly wish his family the very best, no one deserves to be murdered, but IMO this case was exceptionally bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Rest in peace.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

A few nonsense and trolling posts deleted there and some quoting those posts.
    Folks please report posts and let us deal with them. Some posters sailing close to the wind there with personal abuse. If you've reported a post give us a chance to action it. Otherwise you're just feeding trolls.
    Sherdydan banned.