Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HIT & RUN ATHBOY, CO. MEATH Sat 15th May

• 15-05-2010 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

As the title says I was in a hit and run in Athboy today at 4pm.
    It happened at the carpark the church down by Waxies.
    The car that hit me was a white Toyota Celica 93 97 model. It was a male driver, he hit my car doing damage to the front and passenger side of his car and drove out the Graveyard road.
    I'm told it's a local car, i'm wondering does anyone know the reg of this car or have seen it parked up/abandoned anywhere.

Any info greatly appreciated,

The car looks like this (Bonnet & wheels may be different)f_567480_2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

Any chance the carpark has CCTV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 g123456

PM sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

betafrog wrote: »
    Too many white celicas around Athboy to be honest.. The place is pikey central.

Pish, I live near there, its as stuck in the mud backwater as you can get, but the total opposite to "pikey central". :rolleyes: I hope your attempts at invented stereotyping dont affect our forthcoming Blue Jean Country Queen festival!
    I remember when I first moved into the area and read the local paper, had an article about a car being burnt out. 3rd one apparently. I thought, not a good sign... till I read further and realised they meant 3rd one, ever, not in the last month, year, decade....

Ive never seen that gen Celica around either, nor many white ones, nor really many Celicas.. so I think it will be easy enough to find if it is indeed local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

a_v525 wrote: »
    Any chance the carpark has CCTV?

Afraid not, went into the 2 pubs that are close, there camers dont see that far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Try ringing a couple of local bodyshops on Monday; the car may well end up in one (if it's not already fixed).

Watch Pistonheads, the Toyota fan forums, and cruiseireland for people looking for parts, too (as well as the modified section here).

The culprit has been found. His father turned him in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Seanieke wrote: »
    Nice! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Maybe he saw this and knew someone was looking for him..
    Glad he was caught;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

betafrog wrote: »
    Too many white celicas around Athboy to be honest.. The place is pikey central.

Yes... them pikeys couldn't bear the guilt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

Excellent result, pity the driver wasn't half the man his father obviously is.
    How did the father find out? Saw sons car with damage and got the truth out of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

nice result great to hear some good news

skibum wrote: »
    Excellent result, pity the driver wasn't half the man his father obviously is.
    How did the father find out? Saw sons car with damage and got the truth out of him?

Pretty much. He drove straight to his fathers, hid the car there for a day & sunday evening his father brought him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

fair play ... Thought he did realised, that his son will be in bigger trouble anyway. White Celica is not your average corrola, would be hard to slip unnoticed.

so how will that play out in the end? Is he paying for damage, or insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

fair play ... Thought he did realised, that his son will be in bigger trouble anyway. White Celica is not your average corrola, would be hard to slip unnoticed.

OT but I love your sig Shadow, and I'm gonna 'borrow' it if ya don't mind!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    OT but I love your sig Shadow, and I'm gonna 'borrow' it if ya don't mind!

hehe, do it m8, i dont mind :D i am glad you like it ;) . i hope its not too racist thought :D

He has no insurance. Lucky my own insurance will pay out without raising the premium as we know who he is, and that he is not insured etc. I'm just annoyed now, i hadn't had the car that long... it was lovely black, unmodified celica. And it's written off because of some fella who couldn't give a s**t!
    However he's lucky he didn't hurt anyone as i was parked next to a school when he hit me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

He has no insurance. Lucky my own insurance will pay out without raising the premium as we know who he is, and that he is not insured etc. I'm just annoyed now, i hadn't had the car that long... it was lovely black, unmodified celica. And it's written off because of some fella who couldn't give a s**t!
    However he's lucky he didn't hurt anyone as i was parked next to a school when he hit me...

I hope he's been reported to the Gardai for driving without insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

He has no insurance. Lucky my own insurance will pay out without raising the premium as we know who he is, and that he is not insured etc.
    Wow when did insurance companies become so nice!
    I would recheck the fact especially regarding you NCB before committing to anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

draffodx wrote: »

And for being a useless W@nker with nuts like raisins :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

ARGINITE wrote: »
    I would recheck the fact especially regarding you NCB before committing to anything.

they didn't, we all pay for it

draffodx wrote: »

No insurance, no licence. he's off to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Exactly. The insurance company 'deals' with it, indirectly, but they don't pay for it.

The insurance company will liaise with the MIBI, who'll do most of the ground work, on getting a payout out of the 'uninsured drivers fund' that we all pay a small percentage into every year out of our own insurance policies.

Well now for the big question... he is off to court. He is claiming to have no money, therefor cannot pay out on any damage done to the car. He has a driving ban... and he broke it. Surely he should have his car taken off him or impounded by the guards... no need for a car when you have no license. Also as little damage was done to his car and it is the same make, model and value of my own... This may sound insane.. but I should get his car to replace my own one. He claims to have no money, but that car is sitting outside his house.... The guards dont seem much help when it comes to claiming back money off him, they laugh and say ask him yourself! This seems harsh as he is getting away lightly for disregarding the law and causing a lot of damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,136 ✭✭✭✭L1011

ARGINITE wrote: »

They didn't.

If you're hit by an identified uninsured driver, the MIBI will (eventually!) pay for the claim. Your insurer can pay it and reclaim from the MIBI (which they're a contributing member of) to make it easier for you.

The MIBI can then attempt to recover the claim value from the uninsured muppet through the courts.

The MIBI is funded by the insurers in proportion to their market share, so it is one direct cause of the premium prices in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

If its AXA they will still load you for a claim without removing your NCB. Be very careful of this bunch.

Jumpy wrote: »
    If its AXA they will still load you for a claim without removing your NCB. Be very careful of this bunch.

was thinking same, so many horros stories, when they say: " we wount touch you NCB" etc, and on renewel you get a big smely surprise!

I liked your idea of taking his car... talk to him about it! Tell it to father, it will be easyer way for bouth of you! He wount be anal probed ( again), and you wount be stuck withouth car for xxx years!

Haha i like it to. Only problem is this guy isn't one to mess with. If I was to do it I would need the guards to support me in the decision... i.e do it through the courts...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Seanieke would it be possible for you to have a chat with his father? He at least seems to have a good head on his shoulders as he turned his son in. Maybe show him the damage done etc. The father might make him give you his car or pay to have your car fixed / replaced. Just because the son says he has no money, doesn't mean he's telling the truth. After all he did run away after hitting the car in the first place.

Have a chat with the son & father and try to appeal to the good inside. Very long shot but might be worth it. Other than that I think you'll just recieve a sum from the insurance company but I doubt that will replace your car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Bah I was beaten to it. That's what I get for leaving the tab open, going for a poo then not refreshing when I come back. Don't worry tho I freshened up after the poo before I came back :D

Yawns wrote: »
    Bah I was beaten to it. That's what I get for leaving the tab open, going for a poo then not refreshing when I come back. Don't worry tho I freshened up after the poo before I came back :D
    eh?

I like your method around the Swear filter! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

He is claiming to have no money, therefor cannot pay out on any damage done to the car. He has a driving ban... and he broke it. Surely he should have his car taken off him or impounded by the guards...

The guards dont seem much help when it comes to claiming back money off him, they laugh and say ask him yourself! This seems harsh as he is getting away lightly for disregarding the law and causing a lot of damage.

The guards have nothing to do with you getting money off him nor can they. The guards cant seize the car either if it is parked on private property. If he drives again and is caught then the car can be seized.

If this fella already has a driving ban then he will be looking at a very lenghty ban possibly in the region of 7-9 yrs. If he has extensive traffic convictions he may be looking at a prison term.

Well now for the big question... he is off to court. He is claiming to have no money, therefor cannot pay out on any damage done to the car. He has a driving ban... and he broke it. Surely he should have his car taken off him or impounded by the guards... no need for a car when you have no license. Also as little damage was done to his car and it is the same make, model and value of my own... This may sound insane.. but I should get his car to replace my own one. He claims to have no money, but that car is sitting outside his house.... The guards dont seem much help when it comes to claiming back money off him, they laugh and say ask him yourself! This seems harsh as he is getting away lightly for disregarding the law and causing a lot of damage.

What age is this person? Any idea on the cause of the ban?
    A car outside his house isnt much good to him at the moment anyhow (ie cant drive.. legally or physically, may not get insured for a long time etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Matt Simis wrote: »
    A car outside his house isnt much good to him at the moment anyhow (ie cant drive.. legally or physically, may not get insured for a long time etc).

well the ban he already has didn't seem to bother him too much. i'm sure it'll be the same case next time too, so the car probably would be of use to him :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

well the ban he already has didn't seem to bother him too much. i'm sure it'll be the same case next time too, so the car probably would be of use to him :mad:

If he was driving on a disqualified licence Judge Fitzpatrick might give a prison sentence. That would wake him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

TheNog wrote: »
    The guards have nothing to do with you getting money off him nor can they.

Actually, they can. A year ago a lad reversed into the front of my car and made sh!t of the front grille with a hitch. the garda that came to the scene followed up on your man giving me the money to repair it. He called to this lad's house several times on his own and again with a rep from this lad's insurance company.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Actually, they can. A year ago a lad reversed into the front of my car and made sh!t of the front grille with a hitch. the garda that came to the scene followed up on your man giving me the money to repair it. He called to this lad's house several times on his own and again with a rep from this lad's insurance company.

I'd say the Garda in that case was just a decent skin, they don't officially have to do that AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

KamiKazi wrote: »
    I'd say the Garda in that case was just a decent skin, they don't officially have to do that AFAIK.

Very true. It is up to the Insurance company or the owner of the damaged car to recover any costs. Gardai can only enforce traffic legislation.

Matt Simis wrote: »

He is 21, cause of ban was the fact that he done the same thing to a row of about 10 parked cars as he did to mine a couple of years ago.
    The only reason they caught him was he broke his arm!
    He doesn't care. Simple as.
    It's just a bad system when someone can repeat offences like that.
    Hopefully he is facing jail time, maybe then he'll cop on. I just don't want him getting a slap on the wrist and told not to do it again.