Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Never been on a date with a guy!

• 15-05-2010 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

Was just thinking through my recent experiences with guys and have just come to a realisation that I have never actually been on a bonafide date with a guy. Granted I'm only out a few months but still! I'm starting to think maybe its me, that I'm doing something wrong. I've been told on numerous occassions that I tend to stand in a way that makes people think I'm not approachable. When I was acting straight I had no problem getting with girls but now that I'm out , I just find that I'm never approached by any guys. Ahhh I dunno what I'm expecting to hear back from this, I guess its just a way to vent my frustrations ha ha. Anybody else find themselves in the same kind of predicament?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭zacseph

I really wouldn't worry about it, JN!! I'm 25, in a relationship... heck i'm even engaged... and still i've never really had an official date - i've gone to the cinema with guys, or somethin, but never to dinner or anythin...
    and far as talkin to guys goes, the best advise i can give is just be yourself, throw yourself out there... if you see a guy youlike the look of, go for it (don't expect him to) and just enjoy yourself... too many people stress about meeting the perfect guy/girl and don't realise their lives are passin them by!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Are you in Dublin? they do flirting workshops in outhouse usually in the summer

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Dwn Wth Vwls

I don't think dating is a particularly Irish thing, people are far more likely to take a more casual approach to things. I wouldn't take a date as being some sort of gold standard to aspire to. If you get fixated on it, you may find yourself pursuing "the date" instead of just getting to know people you like.

As for not being approachable, the easiest solution is to approach people instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

zacseph wrote: »
    too many people stress about meeting the perfect guy/girl and don't realise their lives are passin them by!! :cool:
    too true!

Do you actually want to go on dates OP?

IMO, they're lame. The standard "dinner and Q&A session" ones are boring to me.

Go the cinema. Go for a game of pool, or get coffee and go for a walk in a park

I think dinner is the only place you'd be stuck if ye's dont click at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Jimmynala

I dunno now what I want. I think I'm just feeling sorry for myself ha ha :) I should focus on meeting genuine people to see how we get on rather than a big romantic date ha ha :) I'm a bit shy though so don;t know if I could approach someone. Would ruin my night if they turned me down and I'm the kind of person who would let it get to me for a long while. But I may just have to start throwing myself out there and seeing how I get on. I'm from Offaly by the way so can't really meet too many people as we have no scene ha ha. Only rarely in Dublin these days :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I've never even kissed a guy. :/

Don't worry about it - You're still a teenager - I hadn't kissed a guy until I was 22

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    Don't worry about it - You're still a teenager - I hadn't kissed a guy until I was 22

Ditto, and I'm really freakin good looking with really low standards!!!

Errr past tense on the low stardards, now that I've got some self confidence things have changed ;P

azezil wrote: »

Errr past tense on the low stardards, now that I've got some self confidence things have changed ;P

You're very modest as well ;)

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭esposito

Also never kissed a guy. Hopefully that will change soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

You're very modest as well ;)

What post were you reading, I'm clearly an arrogant cúnt ;)

I'm clearly an arrogant cúnt ;)

Oh I know that ;)

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Durty slag.

I <3 Az. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Heebie

Are you in Dublin? they do flirting workshops in outhouse usually in the summer

Now that I could really use!

What is the outhouse?

Heebie wrote: »
    Now that I could really use!

What is the outhouse?
    Its an LGBT community centre at 105 Capel St in Dublin

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Jimmynala wrote: »
    I'm from Offaly by the way so can't really meet too many people as we have no scene ha ha. Only rarely in Dublin these days :(

Ditto keep your eyes peeled it is there its just hiding :P

Don't worry about dates they're something thats just not in the Irish psyche, that doesn't mean theres no romance though so don't worry about that either!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Bougeoir

Well I've had two terrible relationships one in which I got cheated on. I'm in your boat when it comes to guys. I just feel most aren't interested in me. I rarely have even sexual encounters and sex. I just get rejected and I'm not bad looking. I find a lot of gay people I've met (not speaking for all personally of course) seem to have a perfect prince charming in their head. Now I just don't bother anymore. I couldn't be arsed wasting my time. Sorry for being so pessimistic by the way, just a bit down at the mo. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 sugajay

I agree with previous posters, Irish guys don't tend to go on 'dates' Going to the cinema, meeting for drinks in a pub/club etc would count as dates. If you meet someone on a night out and click with them do you really need to deal with the formality of a date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

I've never been on a date either. I could also count on one hand the number of guys I have snogged and I'm quite inexperienced sexually. Not bad for a soon to be 26 year old, eh? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Jimmynala

I've never been on a date either. I could also count on one hand the number of guys I have snogged and I'm quite inexperienced sexually. Not bad for a soon to be 26 year old, eh? ;)

Jaysus been an agi since I've been on this. Well I've been on a few 'dates' since I last posted. Not as exciting as I had expected. Anyway feck it, I'm young, gonna just enjoy myself for a bit! Cheers for all the comments lads :)